Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Fergie GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 44 reviews
on October 4, 2006
There are several books out about Hurricane Katrina and the response, but none of them have the tremendously powerful "you are there" feeling of this book. Jed Horne writes the facts from the ground, detailing people who were there and how they survived.

Horne details expertly how people reacted as their neighborhoods started flooding, how they managed (or did not manage) to get to the Superdome, what went wrong there, how the response was mismanaged, and gives excellent insights into what went wrong and what should happen next. The chapter detailing how the interns at Charity Hospital survived and cared for their patients during the power outages and flooding is particularly powerful.

As I said in my title, the book reads like a thriller. There are some portions where he describes the power of the floods, people dying, and the terrible response and you think that this would make a terrific fictional movie. It's hard to believe it happened, and Horne's book is a stirring account of the hurricane and its aftermath. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
My interest in this book was because I lived through the heartbreak of Katrina. I wanted to understand why it happened and why the response to the flooding was so slow and in many ways misguided. I found this book honest and direct in dealing with this complex story. Jed Horne humanized a complex story by weaving the experiences of several actual New Orleaneans throughout the book. I found the book bogged down during the reporting of the recovery efforts, much like what happened in reality! The toxic mix of a hurricane and New Orleans produced a tragedy that changed lives forever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2015
This is quite a revealing book. For those who adore politicians and the business elite, I hope a lesson is learned. I have met many a displaced peron from New Orleans, some good people and some not so great. I hope the city comes back as a better place to live for all concerned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2017
Sad story. But great history of the Katrina story. Just returned from New Orleans. Glad I read the book before the trip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2006
"Breach of Faith", Jed Horne's breathtaking account of Hurricane Katrina, not only relates the story of this great disaster as we have come to know it, but goes well beyond that...Horne peels away the layers to give readers an inside look at the storm, the affected population, the politicians, the scientists and much more. The scope of this book is immense but what makes "Breach of Faith" such a wonder is the narrative itself. Horne is a born writer and it shows on every page.

There are heroes and villains in "Breach of Faith" and Horne is particularly willing to include Mayor Ray Nagin in the latter category. FEMA and the Army Corps of Engineers get their collective comeuppance as playing major roles in the disaster...FEMA for its almost non-existent help after the hurricane and the Army Corps for allowing major errors to occur in the building of the levees, themselves. The levees, by the way, are of chief concern in "Breach of Faith" and Horne masterfully instructs the reader on how and why they failed. Aside from the personal chronicles mentioned before, this is the most fascinating part of the book. It is where the author really shines as a writer and teacher. I highly recommend "Breach of Faith"... it is told with great care and insight.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2007
As a displaced resident of lower Plaquemines Parish and a guardsman mobilized for aid, I have seen and heard a lot about Hurricane Katrina and its aftermath. This book was great to finally put to rest so many rumors (some of which I believed two years later) and bring light to facts that were buried under sensationalism. The only problem I had with this book is that it jumps around too much. However, with the wealth of information and the thousands of people involved the author did an outstanding job tying as much as he could together, but there were just some frayed ends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
You wouldn't expect anything less from a Times-Picayune reporter and Jeb Horne does not disappoint. The individual stories in the book, although short, are indicative of the pain and hardship felt by the victims of this tragedy. The reader comes away with a sense of despair and shame, that a country looked away when one of its children needed her most. A must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2013
Awesome book. It had heartfelt stories of these people's tragedy plus facts on the bungling of so many agencies involved. So many people seemed to not care about what was happening in NOLA because it didn't involve them or their loved ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2016
Excellent account!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2016
Enjoying the read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse