Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Breaking the Cycle of Compulsive Behavior
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 25, 2005
I understand that this book is still being widely sold in LDS and Christian bookstores. The book's point of view is that homosexuality is something that can be overcome.

It's interesting to note that each of the book's co-authors has subsequently come out as gay and lesbian respectively. This makes their theories ring more than a little bit hollow.
44 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 1998
This is the best book I have seen addressing the challenges of those who try repeatedly to break out of compulsive behaviors, but without success. Through real-life case studies of three individuals who successfully overcame compulsive behaviors (an eating disorder, a drug problem, and a pattern of homosexual behavior, respectively), the authors discuss the reasons for people's failures to break addictions, as well as the steps necessary to successfully break out of a compulsive cycle. Although geared specifically toward members of the LDS Church, the book is an invaluable tool for anyone interested in overcoming an addiction or helping someone else do so.
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2015
Fantastic book! Really helped me to understand my own addictions and how I can break out of my personal cycles of compulsive behavior. Would recommend to anyone struggling with an addiction, and every other person on earth as well, so they can better understand those with addictions and what they're going through.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
Compulsive behavior is the great destructive element of our epoch, and some behaviors are only too, too easily acquired and terribly difficult to stop. This book answers many questions sufferers have asked themselves and provides solutions to problems I thought were nonexistent or out of reach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2005
This book describes well the shame cycle that many addicts experience. Those suffering from addiction and those around them should read this book to understand how to get out of this cycle.

It's one huge flaw is its early 90s, Mormon-inspired view of homosexuality as a simple character flaw to be overcome. Martha Beck has since recanted and recognizes that sexual orientation is an inate human trait and not something that can be changed or one should be ashamed of.

Apart from this one chapter, the book is a sensitive, insightful look into addiction.
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2014
I certainly appreciate the insight of the authors. Of course, a book is not a cure. And though it is not a cure, it is a tool in my toolbox for dealing with compulsive behavior.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
not a fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2001
Insightful and encouraging, this book's only flaw was a marketing one. I fear that this book, which explains so well the cycle of sin and how to replace it with joy, will only be looked at by people suffering specific problems. The authors should be commended here, not only for their research and compelling real-life examples, but also for their insight into the gospel, the atonement, and the capacity for human change.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2009
This book has changed thousands of lives for the better. Although a few people may disagree with it premise or be in denial of much of the truth it presents, as a therapist and counselor I have found it to be powerful in helping people put their lives in harmony with their values - ESPECIALLY IN REGARDS TO HOMOSEXUALITY! I have had far more people change predisposition to the same sex and engage in a heathy normal relationship than i have the contrary. Excellent for the true seeker that wants to change an uncontrollable addiction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse