Kindle Price: $0.99

Save $18.01 (95%)

kindle unlimited logo
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time. Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The Brendan Voyage by [Severin, Tim]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Brendan Voyage Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 123 customer reviews

See all 29 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$0.99

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 292 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Holiday Sneak Peek
Get a sneak peek into Holiday deals on the Amazon App. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Enthralling!"--The Guardian

"An extraordinary explorer." --The Independent

From the Inside Flap

Could an Irish monk in the sixth century really have sailed all the way across the Atlantic in a small open boat, thus beating Columbus to the New World by almost a thousand years? Relying on the medieval text of St. Brendan, award-winning adventure writer Tim Severin painstakingly researched and built a boat identical to the leather curragh that carried Brendan on his epic voyage. He found a centuries-old, family-run tannery to prepare the ox hides in the medieval way; he undertook an exhaustive search for skilled harness makers (the only people who would know how to stitch the three-quarter-inch-thick hides together); he located one of the last pieces of Irish-grown timber tall enough to make the mainmast. But his courage and resourcefulness were truly tested on the open seas, including one heart-pounding episode when he and his crew repaired a dangerous tear in the leather hull by hanging over the side--their heads sometimes submerged under the freezing waves--to restitch the leather. A modern classic in the tradition of Kon-Tiki, The Brendan Voyage seamlessly blends high adventure and historical relevance. It has been translated into twenty-seven languages since its original publication in 1978.

With a new Introduction by Malachy McCourt, author of A Monk Swimming

Product details

  • File Size: 3281 KB
  • Print Length: 292 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Media (January 22, 2013)
  • Publication Date: January 22, 2013
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00B4XLT4I
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #68,392 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


123 customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-6 of 123 reviews

November 7, 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
21 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
August 19, 2016
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
review imagereview image
11 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
March 20, 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
August 1, 2016
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
August 16, 2013
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
March 18, 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Brendan Voyage
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Brendan Voyage