Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 54 reviews
on November 29, 2013
This show is just terrific (but aren't all Setzer's shows terrific?!?!) The clarity of the video and sound is top shelf, and the energy of the show is unbeatable. Whenever I attend one of his shows I am almost out of breath at the end, and this DVD radiates that energy. I gave a copy of this to my best friend for a gift and when he played it during a New Year's Eve party he was having, his guests went crazy over how much they loved watching and listening to it. Don't waste your time thinking about it, just buy it and play it, and then you'll want to play it again right away (if you're not out of breath)!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2014
Well, this was a surprise. The best concert I have seen. Brian Setzer in Montreal. He said there was supposed to be three or four hundred people there. It turned out to be 150,000 for the outdoor concert. It is long, it is good, and no other person on the road can top this. The whole group is so good and it was discovered in 1995. The whole band is outstanding and the crowd wouldn't let him go. He and the band are the best entertainment on the road around the world. If you miss buying this DVD...you are sick. I don't understand how they can be so good for so long on the stage. Any other group would be worn out. I like them better than THE ROLLING STONES who are finally burned out and too old, to rock with anything new. Brian plays all kinds, country western, jazz, rock & roll of course, and has even added an orchestra behind them. And it worked. PERFECT CONCERT
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2010
I remember the Stray Cats and always REALLY liked them and thought they were good, but who ever would have expected then that Brian Setzer would go on to become one of the greatest guitarists that ever walked the earth?

Expecting to see just that, this show will not let you down. I have a lot of the Orchestra albums from the early days, 90's etc., and it seems he has continued to grow and gain strength as a bandleader. I really enjoyed the interplay of the guitar and the band, and loved to see the guitar in charge and how Brian had them following and anticipating his changes, solos, breaks, all of it. He's not a bad singer either.

The press conference was great to watch also. Makes me feel like saying, "Next time you're in Chicago, let's hit a few clubs and check out some music." I'm sure he would appreciate our home-grown blues music here in Chicago.

Anyways, thanks, Brian, all the orchestra, those singing/dancing chicks, and everyone who made this one possible. If you only buy one DVD of Brian Setzer and his Orchestra, this would be an excellent choice.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 3, 2011
So...this doesn't have the "state of the art" sound....its still sounds great and the picture quality is fabulous and OH lets not forget in all the technical crying and whining....Brian and his group tore that stage apart with about 2 hours of fabulous music! I can't even PARK at a concert for the price of this Blu-Ray and this is a fabulous show...unless you are a tech nerd who cares more for their speaker system than the music itself you will be delighted with this show. By the way...its NOT horrible sound or awful sound...its just not the maximum the format can provide....

It is nearly a 2 hour show...filmed well, played well...the big band is terrific, Brian breaks down the show part way to go to bass drums guitar lineup ala Stray Cats for several songs so the dynamics are fun...and the hits are well spaced to really add drama to the show. The bonus 20 minute press conference is also a fun bonus feature.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2014
Fantastic concert! Great video and sound quality! I don't no what other people are talking about it having bad sound? Maybe they have bad surround sound systems or something. I get plenty of bass on my 12" Polk sub and trumpets coming through on my full size towers. I didn't have to change any settings on my surround sound and I'm very picky when it comes to video and sound quality. Everything sounds nicely blended. Yes there doesn't seem to be a center channel but my towers do a great job! Also concerts truly are meant to be watched in 2.0 (if you have full range towers) or 2.1 with a good sub blended in. You don't have a band playing beside you and behind you when you go to a concert.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2015
This is a great rock and roll DVD. Brian is a great musician and singer and surrounds himself with equal quality. I really enjoyed this DVD. If you like high energy rock and blues, you will like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2010
Ok so this is the first blu-ray for Brian Setzer. They made a huge mistake by not including high resolution audio. Yes I was disappointed like the other two reviewers here but there is NO WAY you can say this one sucks or is terrible or dont buy. The concert was incredible and the sound is by no means terrible. Next time Brian- HIGH RESOLUTION AUDIO --DTS HD Master Audio PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE!!!!!
44 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2017
Happiness
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2014
Brian Setzer is a guitar virtuoso who has revolutionised the Big Band sound with his writing and playing. This performance should have been an easy 5/5, however the sound of the Bass Guitar is virtually non existent. A huge disappointment. I tried reconfiguring my Audio setup in many ways but alas - NO BASS GUITAR!!
An amazing performance from Brian Setzer made me at least salute and enjoy his performance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
Excellent concert with the big band & BS tearing it up on guitar. Great set list & great interaction between BS & the band members & singers He gives space for them to perform solos etc but the whole group still swing together as a unit. Good audio & video I thought. Very good overall. Now checking out Tray a at gods based on this strong performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse