Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
27
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 27 reviews
on March 5, 2014
John has always been a fine songwriter, but his albums have been inconsistent sometimes. He had a tendency to overproduce and over orchestrate his music, especially the bass and vocal tracks.

The Bright Side of Down is excellent. The vocals are clear, the production spot on and crisp, and the music kept simple, yet full.

This is a refined collection of songs; musical, thoughtful, gentle but strong.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
Gorka's 12th CD proves why he has staying power over decades in the competitive music industry. His songs speak the truth, touch your sole and make you think. His sense of humor and talent spill out into this CD, leaving the listener with a warm sense of calm (except when he takes us driving through a snow storm in "Hold Up in Mason City"). Thank you Gorka
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
This album opens with a song about being stranded in Iowa before what turned out to be an unusually harsh winter. Sound familiar? But despite the apparently pessimistic beginning, this album is actually positive (hence the title "Bright Side of Down") and hopeful. It features a number of notable folkies including Eliza Gilkyson, Michael Johnson, Lucy Kaplansky, etc. and some of his best writing since "Out of the Valley. Most of the political commentary is indirect but still gets the point across. Among my favorite lines: "There are more wrong ways than right, there are more right ways than one," and "Don't put off till tomorrow what you can fail to do today." If you don't know John Gorka, this isn't a bad place to start. Recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
Warm, intelligent songwriting, Veteran performance. This one ranks among John's best. Once again, music that is both familiar and personable and, thankfully, not overproduced.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2014
I have been listening to John since I first found his music in 1990. For two dozen years his songs have been a soundtrack for my life. This album, his 12th studio album, did not disappoint. His rich baritone voice continues to make me incredibly jealous. His quirky insight into life and people is what makes the songs stick with me. I love the old stuff ("Temporary Road" and "Land of the Bottom Line" are probably still my favorites) but musically he likely has never been better than this album. If you like insightful acoustic music, this album us for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2014
In today's world it's sometimes hard to find a good CD that doesn't try to "hit you over the head", but is so good it just grows on you over time. This is that kind of CD. I have always loved John's music and this CD is another reason to keep on doing so. Great songwriting and wonderful musicianship!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2016
I am a John Gorka fan and bought this CD for my husband, Larry, for father's day and he loved it too.. It is one of the best cd's that he has ever written and he has written lots of them.. You can't go wrong with this purchase..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2016
Not the same quality of voice as his original recordings. I gave this CD to our daughter - we didn't care for this one....but LOVED his album "I KNOW"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
I have never gotten a John Gorka album that wasn't great. I never even care if it has songs on it that I already have. And this one is as good as they get.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
If you are a die-hard Gorka fan or if this is the first Gorka music you have experienced, you will not be disappointed. It is simply a great collection of music from a very gifted singer/songwriter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here