Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Bring It On [Blu-ray]
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$7.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 4, 2001
If you want to laugh and enjoy yourself, I recommend Bring It On. With a superb cast, catchy lines, and a fully developed plot, this movie is great! Kirsten Dunst stars as Torrance Shipman, the ditzy but loveable high school senior who is newly elected team captain of her high school cheerleading team. But when a replacement cheerleader, Missy Pantone, walks in to the Toros' cheerleading squad (hilariously portrayed by Eliza Dushku), she shows Torrance that the team's cheers are ripped off from the East Compton Clovers, and you can believe that the Clovers are fed up with the stealing. Torrance, horrified that her cheerleading career has been a fake, makes an effort to be original, but the result is a humiliating performance at a competition. Torrance is comforted by love interest Cliff Pantone (played by hottie Jesse Bradford), Missy's REALLY cute twin brother, and a romance begins. As the movie leads up to the UCA Nationals competition, the Clovers and Toros fight for the win. Who will it be? Well you better watch it for yourself. Bring It On is a refreshing change from the immature sick sex movies (i.e. American Pie?) and it instead is fresh, bright, witty, and very funny. I recommend Bring It On to anyone. Hey, even my dad enjoyed it!
11 comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2001
This is a GREAT movie, especially for teenagers ~ but I think all ages would enjoy it! It has a little bit of everything; cheerleading, romance, comedy, etc. The story stars the talented Kirsten Dunst as newley crowned captain of the schools cheerleading squad. Everything is cool except she just found out the former captain has been ripping off another school's cheers and passing them off as theirs; and thats just the beginning of her problems!! The DVD is awesome - you can watch it three different ways: 1) regular widescreen 2) with director's commentary 3) widescreen w/trivia about the actresses, cheerleading, and little tidbits about the making of "Bring it on" all through out the movie. On top of that they have tons of deleted AND extended scenes, a never before seen car wash scene w/ Kirsten and the other cheerleaders in bikinis, the music video "As If" from Blaque and some clips of Kirsten and Eliza Dushku from the Wardrobe & Make up tests! If you thought that was a lot, they also threw in a documentary "THE MAKING OF BRING IT ON" w/ exclusive interviews from Kirsten Dunst, Eliza Dushku, Gabrielle Union, Blaque and more! Only thing is I wish there was more of the group BLAQUE in the movie ~ they hardly had any speaking parts! For all you cheerleaders, you'll LOVE the cheers all the different squads perform through out the movie. Lindsay Sloane from the WB's "Grosse Pointe" has a small but great part of the former cheerleading captain who stole all the cheers~!! This is one of the nicest DVD's out there; it'll keep you amused for hours!!! A+++++++++
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2000
Shake that....pom pom! From the opener to the surprise end of Bring It On, you'll be laughing, hard. When I went to see this, I wasn't expecting much...but it's a great movie! Compared to recent teen junk like Boys & Girls, it's like a masterpiece. Go see it, rent it, or buy it! It's definitely worth your dime.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2000
I was surprised that some people criticised this film for not having the most intelligent plot in the history of movie making because I think they've missed the point. This film is supposed to be FUN and in that respect it deserves five stars. As a Brit I can't really imagine what it is like to be a cheerleader but I know that even if I lived in America i could never be a cheerleader but this didn't spoil my enjoyment of a funky, funny, spirited film. The characters were meant to be slightly annoying because they were parodies of American high school culture and it's placing of such importance in cheerleading etc. I thought the characters were entertaining. I was actually inspired to see the film because it had Eliza Dushku in it because I thought she was absolutely fantastic in Buffy and I thought she was just as good in this and is an extremely talented actress with great potential. I knew that Kirsten Dunst was a talented performer and okay, this movie doesn't highlight the range of her talents but it shows how versatile she is an actress as she can pull off teen comedy as well as serious drama and vampire horror. If you like films that are funny and will lift your spirits then watch this. I saw it at the cinema and came out just wanting to dance and wishing that we could have cheerleading teams in England. It's not the best teen comedy but it is still highly enjoyable and worth it if you're a fan of Eliza Dushku or Kirsten Dunst.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 31, 2015
Bring It On is a movie about competitive cheerleading that takes a light-hearted and stereotypical view of the world of competitive cheerleading. It is by far the best of the what feel like five trillion Bring it On movies and had the plot-line that most engaged me with all the fish out of water elements (Missy, Black Cheerleaders) that challenged the stereotypical view of cheerleaders as these perfect white goddesses.

Wrapped inside this is a lot of typical teen romance storylines and drama, but Bring it On is different in that the characters actually evolve without forsaking everything that they have known. There are little kernels of a lesson here, but it is so hidden behind the sweet, candy coating that the viewer does not often understand that such a lesson exists. A cheerleading movie with a human heart.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 5, 2001
A surprise hit whose profit substantially elapsed its $10 million budget, "Bring It On" boasted little and earned a lot. Awash with several unknown faces and a few familiar ones, it attained delighted reviews from critics and audiences alike and already has a Blockbuster Entertainment Award nomination for Best Actress in a Comedy (Kirsten Dunst). Who knew that a story about cheerleading would've produced such fascination among the young American populace?
The bubble-gummy tale starts with the torch being passed from former captain Big Red to squeaky-clean senior Torrance Shipman (Dunst), instating the beginning of her reign as the head of her cheerleading squad at Rancho Carne High School. The very first day she is instructing the Toros, a squad member breaks half the limbs in her body and is off the team. Since she is a woman short of a Toro entourage, Torrance holds auditions to fill the vacancy and it is here that she meets tough-talking gymnast Missy Pantone (Dushku). Despite the discrepancy from fellow Toros Courtney and Whitney (great duo of airheads), Torrance decides to recruit her and tracks Missy down to her residence to convince her that being a cheerleader is a lot more than just screaming at aloof patrons from the sidelines - it's a whole different perspective. Once Missy is drafted, the Toros begin their first practice but they receive a dismayed reaction from their new member. Baffled by why she is so displeased with their routine, Torrance demands answers and Missy shows her the ugly truth - every cheer the Toros have won their championships with is stolen material. The mountain of trophies they possess really belongs to an inner-city squad called the East Compton Clovers and they are one...-off bunch of broads. Many an opportunity to be discovered has been taken from them thanks to Big Red's faithful filching and now the Clovers have a new captain - she's the most intolerant of them all. With the National Championship just around the corner, Torrance is rapt with the task of composing a completely new routine and by her college boyfriend's recommendation hires a patronizing and insulting choreographer named Sparky. Three weeks later, they are humiliated at a competition when they discover Sparky's routine has also been given to six other competing squads. Upon that debasing experience, Torrance is immediately geared for some rigorous labor and the Toros embark on the creation of a cheerleading oeuvre that they can truly call their own.
This is director Peyton Reed's first major directing debut as he has done mostly TV work in his career. His few projects consist of Comedy Central's "Upright Citizens Brigade" and a string of short-lived shows. Reed may be a novice but there is considerable experience in his female-dominated cast. Kirsten Dunst is an actress who has significantly grown over the years, not only physically but also career-wise. She was impressive as the doll-like Claudia in "Interview With The Vampire" and has furthered impressed in recent flicks such as "The Virgin Suicides" and "Drop Dead Gorgeous". She is beautiful and bankable and will be around for a long time. Up and comers include the striking Eliza Dushku (an inductee of E! Online's renowned "Sizzlin' Sixteen" list), her big break as Arnold Schwarzenegger's rebellious daughter in "True Lies" and Gabrielle Union as Isis, the Clover's strong-headed captain. There is a delectable performance from Jesse Bradford as Cliff, Missy's brother and Torrance's love interest. Even Cody McMains is wickedly entertaining as Torrance's obnoxious little brother Justin.
Jessica Bendinger's screenplay is surprisingly clever and mature for a movie about something as trifling as competitive cheerleading and the majority of her characters are witty and engaging. There are a lot of cute quips here and there, a good example being when an opposing team at a late night football game lifts their skirts to reveal the spiteful phrase "You suck" emblazoned on their tushes. Not one to back down, the Toros smartly retort with, "That's all right/that's okay/you're gonna pump our gas someday!" And who can forget the hilarious reference to Wanda Holloway, the Texas cheerleader-murdering mom who was immortalized in a made-for-TV movie starring Holly Hunter.
On the whole, "Bring It On" is a highly enjoyable romp into the superficiality of a high school extramural and it brings out the best in every one of its players. Be prepared to "cheer" for joy on finding such an elusive gem of a film.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2001
"Completly silly" could summarize "Bring it On", but oddly enough, not in a bad way. After seeing the previews on TV I wasn't intrested. But being a Dark Angel and Buffy fan when I discovered Nicole Bilderback (Dark Angel) and Eliza Dushku and Clare Kramer (Buffy) were all in the film, I thought "might as well check it out. Plus, I was a long time fan of Dunst (since Interview with the Vampire) and Gabrielle Union is a nice up and coming talent. When the stupid cheer started at the begining, I thought "stupid as expected", but I found myself amused by the silliness of the film anyway. While making a point about these girls (and guys) being athletes in thier own right and even more accomplished then thier [...] football team, it also pokes fun at itself with "classic cheerleader images". It doesn't take itself to seriously, so you don't have to.
The Only reason I couldn't watch this movie again is because my sisters (who are between 5 and 8) love the movie and have watched it everyday since I purchased it. But if I hear "Brr, it's cold in here" one more time, I might have to burn the tape. But overall, I was amused by this film. I certainly think it's a good rental for a night of entertainment. And, like I said, my little sisters love it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I love Bring It On. I had never gotten around to watching it until I found out Eliza Dushku was in it, and I was thrilled to discover that this film delivers all kinds of great stuff, plays out on a level far above that of most "teen comedies," and (lest we not forget) features a bevy of beauties in cheerleading outfits. Personally, I think every movie should work a few cheerleaders into the script, but until that happens I have Bring It On to make the wait a little easier. I've never really been a big fan of Kirsten Dunst, but now I have figured out why: I really hadn't seen any of her movies. Dunst, as Torrance Shipman, makes a perfect head cheerleader - bright and perky, yet committed to her sport and a great human being. That's why, when she finds out that the cheers that led her Rancho Carne Toro cheerleaders to five consecutive national championships were stolen from the local inner-city East Compton Clovers squad, she is mortified. Having already learned all of their routines, her fellow cheerleaders, with the exception of the new girl in town, Missy Pantone (Eliza Dushku) don't seem to care - not until the Clovers show up at a Rancho Carne football game (if you can call what the incompetent team does out on the field football) and basically calls them out. Torrance goes to great lengths to reinvent her squad, yet her plans blow up in her face at the regional competition. Granted a spot in the nationals thanks to their previous championship, the team has three weeks to come together and "bring it" for a national championship face-off with the Clover squad.
Naturally, there is a romantic component to the film, which plays out quite well in a subtle and oftentimes comical sort of way, but the biggest impression conveyed by the film is the commitment, hard work, and dedication required to be a competitive cheerleader. Ah, who am I kidding? The biggest impression is that of Eliza Dushku absolutely burning up the screen in one of the sexiest performances of all time, but the whole "cheerleading is hard work" theme comes in second. Wait, actually the minor yet crucial role played by Wonder Years alum Lindsay Sloane (who has grown up "real good," let me tell you) is second - then it's the hard work thing. Okay - wait, Kirsten Dunst's energetic and adorable performance comes in third. But, believe me, that hard work thing does come across, though. Bring It On qualifies as a classic in my mind, and it certainly breaks new ground in terms of portraying cheerleaders in a serious and respectful fashion.
This movie doesn't even wait for the credits to roll before giving you your money's worth, as the initial scene reaches out and grabs you immediately. The movie never really slows down from there, avoiding the sort of lull that has doomed many a teen comedy in the past. Even the closing credits are great fun to watch. The DVD only adds to the bounty, featuring all kinds of special features: deleted and extended scenes, a behind-the-scenes featurette, home movies of the memorable car wash scene, wardrobe and makeup tests with Dunst and Dushku, the music video for the song As If from Blaque (whose members make up part of the Clovers squad in the movie), a director's commentary, and more. Everybody associated with this film did indeed bring it, and it shows.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2013
This is a Teen movie. I'm NOT a teen. It's almost a chick flick. I'm NOT a chick. The story line is so simple you always know whats going to happen next and next all the way to then end of the movie. Truth is, its obvious the cast had fun making it and that feeling of fun makes the movie not only watchable but worth revisiting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2015
I love this movie. The other "Bring it on . . . again . . . once more . . . eternally" movies that tried to cash in on the quality of this movie are all terrible. The original is funny, fresh, well acted with a sharp, intelligent dialog. The Cheerleading is also some of the best you'll see anywhere. Some of it done with camera magic no doubt, but if it was done, it was done well. They all definitely have their tongues in their cheeks, (The high school's name translates to Ranch Meat) but they played it well. A great cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse