Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 36 reviews
on November 22, 2016
Tarrant has taken a very "difficult" subject, even intimidating, and made it easy to follow and to learn and to enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
I am new to Koans, and found this to be a wonderful introduction - easy to understand yet challenging enough to keep me interested and now, wanting to know more. John Tarrant is an excellent teacher and writer. I strongly recommend this book to any student of Zen Koans and life in general. This is a guide to come back to often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
Zen koans are difficult to grasp in many cases, and this book tries to explain the purpose behind them, which is not an easy task. Still, the author does move most readers forward in their comprehension. This is a book that needs to be read in several sessions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2017
take your time reading it.
Beautiful, reflective
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2016
Charming, interesting and offering personal interface & way with working with Zen Koans - GREAT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
I LOVED this book. I am not much for Koans but found the author's humor and insight so useful and refreshing. You don't have to like Koans to be entertained and enlightened by the ideas presented.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2009
HAND ME THE RHINOCEROS is a brilliant little book on Koan practice in Zen. Koans are little riddles ("What is the sound of one hand clapping?") the contemplation of which can cause an enlightenment experience.

Tarrant illustrates a number of Koans with a series of chatty personal tales. There's nothing of the esoteric in Tarrant's writing. These obscure epigrams are attacked in a straight-ahead manner that both illuminates the nature of Koan study and (less importantly) provides some guidance to the answer.

Whether the reader is an experienced Zen student used to working with Koans or the rankest newcomer to the cushion doesn't matter. BRING ME THE RHINOCEROS will bring you to a clearer understanding of the Great Matter.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2011
Generally koan study to me has been one area I had lost interest in ibut thanks to this excellent book the practice is made tangible and more relevant to someone not just into that discipline and I see how it can be useful in a more general sense.

I was very impressed with the presentation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2016
Wonderfully insightful on working with koans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2012
John Tarrant's Bring Me the Rhinoceros is a very compelling introduction to koans and other aspects of zen buddhism
for seekers, thinkers, and those who love puzzles ... like life!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse