Industrial Deals HPC Magazine Deals Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on March 13, 2016
Will be trying this out on an international flight in a few months, will update if needed.

UPDATE POST INTERNATIONAL TRAVEL:
-TSA was able to unlock and lock my luggage for inspection
-Locks are small enough not to get caught on conveyor belts during transit baggage handling--saved me from dealing with broken zippers--where you position on the closed double zipper plays a key roll: stick it where it will most likely not get snagged.

Pros:
-It'll allow me to travel and secure my luggage
-Small size, probably won't dangle too much and get caught on conveyor belts or anything else for that matter
-Price was adequate for the size and security these locks provide
-TSA markings on the bottom to ensure it's an approved lock
-Loop is small and will fit through any standard zipper pull tabs
-Lifetime warranty
-4 identical keys, got spares if you lose one!
-Brass color makes it easy to spot

Cons:
-Cancer warning (recognized carcinogens in California) on the box that was not included in the original product description on Amazon...WASH YOUR HANDS AFTER EACH USE!
-It's a small, low security lock...so if someone really wants to get into your luggage they will
-TSA sticker logos will probably fall off
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 28, 2014
These little locks worked well on a recent International Flight making me feel that my "stuff" was safe during baggage handling. I also used them in the hotel room so I knew my souvenirs were not going to disappear while we were out. All four keys are the same so we don't have to worry about losing the key.
33 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 18, 2017
Perfect for a Pelican.

I have used a few locks on my pelican cases and most are broken by the rough handling at the airport. That why we own a pelican case, to withstand the rough treatment.

These lack many features like notification for entry and key retention until re-locked but they're rugged for their size, They took a lot of abuse and showed a few scars from handling but havn't broken or bent.

The loop is just barely large enough to click locked and small enough to prevent a case from coming open if improperly latched.

Just a tip, if you want an 'opened' notification, add a zip tie in parallel to your lock, TSA will cut the zip tie and you'll know if your luggage was opened.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 15, 2018
Just got them today and gave them a general tug and pull testing. They will probably hold up as baggage locks short of having sharp or heavy impacts directly focused on them. There's a warning on the back of the package that warns the product contains one or more chemicals known to the State of California that can cause cancer, birth defects, and reproductive issues and to wash your hands after touching the product.

I tried looking around for what it could be and stumbled on a Reddit thread about how it's lead mixed with the brass. Not entirely sure how accurate that is, or if there is enough lead mixed with the brass to be worrisome. I wish i knew about this before purchasing however. Being an online sale you are only privy to what is shared by the seller on the listing, as opposed to being in a store and being able to see that warning before purchasing. And if the idea is that something like this might affect a sale (which is why it is printed on the back) then this should also be revealed on the listing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 22, 2014
Traveling overseas can be challenging to keep everything in its place and organized. Luggage locks are needed since the disparity between the Haves and Have-nots are larger in some countries and the theft from unlocked baggage is simply too tempting. So these will not keep out the determined thief just the opportunistic thief. So finding the keys to all of the locks can be a challenge in itself. Having all 4 locks keyed to the same key was a solution. My wife did lose a key but I could open her locks, so all was fine.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 7, 2014
Used these on a recent trip to secure luggage zippers while traveling or when leaving the bags in the hotel rooms. I know they are not
"pick proof" but I felt that these locks were sufficient in deterring the casual curious.
Great feature having them keyed alike.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 3, 2015
Standard TSA approved luggage locks made by brinks. They all share the same key, so you dont have to carry a bunch of different keys when you travel. I purchased a 4 pack for an extended overseas vacation trip (3 checked bags and one carry-on) and so far they have functioned as expected. The quality seems solid (brass) and they will fit most luggage locking mechanisms. These do offer peace of mind (somewhat) when luggage is checked or left at the hotel that at-least you locked it :)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 23, 2015
I decided to use these locks for a year or so before reviewing. They have been on a few plane flights now since purchase.

First off, yes, the TSA went through our bags several times so they did unlock them with their key vs cutting off. No issues there whatsoever.

The locks look a little flimsy at first but the body of the locks do have some durability to them.

The locking mechanism feels slightly clunky like there are some poorly cast parts inside but the action is functional and has survived several uses. They have also survived life on the airport conveyor belts as is evident from the scuff marks on a couple of them.

The main thing to remember here is value. These aren't top of the line but they are inexpensive and likely they best you are going to find at a reasonable, budget-minded price.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 29, 2017
I bought this because I was going to travel to another country. These are great locks because these are TSA approved so if ever TSA opened your luggage, they don't need to destroy the lock because they have keys for it to open it and lock it again. When I opened my luggage, I was shocked that I found a piece of paper inside of it (indicating that they were inspected by TSA) without them destroying the locks. Very helpful for travelers!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 8, 2017
These were primarily good for making sure zippers on duffel bags and luggage didn't fail and spill contents. Check YouTube: there are so many ways for determined thieves to pilfer things, and not even be detected (ball point pen used to separate zippers, then putting zipper right again---just one method). I sort of doubt people are often bold enough to swipe things from bags stowed in the the upper luggage racks on the plane, but...if so, this would at least slow 'em down momentarily.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse