Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

British Light Music Classics 3 Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, March 14, 2000
"Please retry"
$19.99 $3.98

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Montmartre
  2. Melody on the move, for orchestra
  3. In Party Mood
  4. The Girl from Corsica
  5. Soldiers in the Park, march
  6. Valse Septembre
  7. Miss Melanie
  8. Pink Lady (My Beautiful Lady), waltz
  9. Portrait of a Flirt for orchestra
  10. Siciliano, for orchestra
  11. In a Persian Market, intermezzo-scene for chorus & orchestra
  12. Theatreland
  13. Songe d'automne, for orchestra
  14. Alpine Pastures, for orchestra
  15. Little Serenade
  16. Woodland Revel, for orchestra
  17. Lady of Spain (Linda española)
  18. Smiles, then Kisses
  19. On a Spring Note
  20. Music Everywhere (Rediffusion March)

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 14, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B00004RJVA
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #315,192 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
The "Light Music Classics" series on Hyperion, one of the highest-quality classical music labels around, has been a very pleasant surprise for me. Let's face it: some days you're just not up to the challenge of listening to Beethoven or Bruckner -- you're just looking for some light, fun, but intelligent music to enrich your day. That's where this excellent and highly popular series comes in.
Twenty compositions are featured on Vol. 3, written by various British masters of light orchestral music including Eric Coates, Ernest Tomlinson, and Haydn Wood. All of the pieces are six minutes or under; all are skillfully composed and well-played by Ronald Corp and his orchestra, who know how to give this undemanding but highly entertaining music just the right touch -- not too heavy, not too frivolous. Plus, the disc is quite generously filled at 78 minutes and change.
As usual, most of the pieces have tunes you'll be humming after you first hear them -- many have been used as signature pieces on British radio and television shows over the years. While I don't feel this volume has as many winning tunes as Vol. 1 or Vol. 2, it's still highly entertaining and an excellent value. This has turned into one of Hyperion's most popular series and it's not hard to understand why: it fills a niche for intelligent light music.
Look for Volumes 1 and 2, as well as "European Light Music Classics" and "American Light Music Classics" -- all on the same label and just as excellently played by the same conductor and orchestra.
Comment 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
This disc, well recorded in 1999, follows the pattern of the previous two volumes in the series. On this occasion there are 20 items chosen all expertly written for the idiom and equally expertly played with evident sympathy.

The music will be familiar to many listeners even if the titles are less familiar. Many have been used as signature tunes for various broadcast programmes in the past. Others, such as Ketelbey's 'In a Persian Market' will be especially familiar in every way. 'Music Everywhere' became the signature tune of Rediffusion. 'In Party Mood' likewise introduced 'Housewives Choice.' 'In Town Tonight'was introduced by 'Portrait of a Flirt' and 'Melody on the Move' introduced a programme of the same name. 'Alpine Pastures' introduced 'My Word' and 'on a Spring Note' was used by Pathe News.

With the exception of 'Soldiers in the Park' by Monckton (1898), the remainder of the music dates from the early to the mid 1900's fairly evenly spread across that period.

This is another successful disc in the series and as such is self recommending for anyone interested in music of this genre and from this period.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?