Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now FFII_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 101 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 192 reviews
on April 9, 2017
One of my favorites since I was kid! Good movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
Perfect! Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2017
Loved this movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2016
This is a movie that I watch pretty much every single time it's on TV. Just can't pass it up. Never gets old!

The acting is superb and the plot is realistic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2013
This is an old movie that I saw years and years ago after it had already made it to tv. I liked it at the time and, over the years, wanted to see it again but could never remember the name of it. So thanks to IMDB, I was able to do a search and found it. I ordered it just to have available and be able to see it again. Truth is that I haven't yet watched it again yet but it was a fairly good price - probably a little higher than it should have been for an old movie - but still okay so I ordered it. The shipping was also very timely on it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2001
The premise of 'Brokedown Palace' is one that instantly uneases its audience - incarcaration in a foreign jail. Although this issue has been depicted before, this is the first film of its kind to have two female leads as its main focus.
Claire Danes and Kate Beckinsale star as two close friends who travel to Thailand in search of adventure, fun and most of all freedom. Along the way they fall for the same mysterious stranger and throw caution to the wind in competing for his affections. After a few days in his company the girls are invited on a trip to Hong Kong so that they can accompany him on a business trip. Trusting his seemingly honest motives, the girls agree and arrange to meet him out there once his work is completed. Once they arrive at the airport they are searched by Thai officials and are found with large quantities of narcotics. Arrested by an army of officers and escorted to a disgustingly dirty holding cell, they are left with nothing except each other, a few hundred cockroaches and a language barrier. It is here that the drama unfolds and the provocative nature of 'Brokedown Palace' emerges.
The main question raised by the film is of the girls innocence, but the interesting part is that it is never really answered. After fruitless attempts of trying to clear their names ( with the help of expatriate lawyer Bill Pullman ) self - sacrifice becomes the last resort. Here is the films strength - usually tales like this have a black or white ending, but 'Brokedown Palace' delivers a thought-provoking finale that is highly original in it's field.
The only criticisms that I would make about it relate more to location and post - production, than casting or performances. For a start the prison itself is far too tame to create sufficient tension for the audience. Alice ( Danes ) receives a beating from a guard that resembles more of a smack on the legs, and the scariest inmate seems to be a trouble-making adolescent. More time should have been shifted away from the focus of Pullman's character and placed on a much more valuable aspect of the film - the bond between the girls. Neither seem to be bothered by the 33-year prison sentence, nor the mandatory prison haircuts they are forced to have. Not the best idea when trying to capture the horrific conditions and prospects the characters both face.
Claire Danes and Kate Beckinsale excell in their respective roles, as do most of the other actors. But over-editing of decent 'gritty' scenes in the prison create its downfall. Overall 'Brokedown Palace' is a good film with excellent performances by it's leading ladies, but unfortunately a rather lightweight and lacklustre final edit rob it of its potential.
The trailer for 'Brokedown Palace' is literally more scary than the actual film, but other factors such as the love-triangle that emerges, and the strained relationships that surface between the girls and their parents help make it a decent film with pockets of credibility.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2015
Two girls get framed for cocaine smuggling in Thailand. Had trouble believing they didn't know it was in their backpack, but the story is more about their struggle to get out of prison. Danes and Beckinsale make it worth a rental.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2016
Powerful performances and a cautionary tale about being very careful when traveling in another country and putting your trust in strangers too easily. Great soundtrack too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2016
Great Great Great Movie of Awareness of other Cultures Legal Systems. A must see if you have teens who want to travel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2014
Roger Ebert highly recommended this. When I started watching it I thought it was going to be a cute movie about privileged young American women frolicking in Thailand, but I was wrong. It's wrenching and heartbreaking and the political and black-market issues are undoubtedly based on real situations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse