Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services billions billions billions  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 42 reviews
on May 18, 2013
I read Dr. Glasser's 365 days when it first became available. He is a capable author and very knowledgeable physician. I am pleased he wrote this book because so much of what he wrote needs to be said, repeatedly. But, especially among those in power, is any one listening? I have my doubts. As Philip Caputo wrote in his exceptionally articulate prologue to A Rumor of War (1977) that "...this book ought not to regarded as a protest. It might, perhaps, prevent the next generation from being crucified in the next war. But I don't think so."
My problem with the book is that I can only echo what is contained the reviews Trust but Verify, Stop Rewriting History, Medicine Yes, Weapons, No and Dr. Glasser Should Stick With What He Knows: Medicine. I found the number of factual and numerical errors very distracting, and destructive to my confidence in much of what he wrote in this book. For example he refers to the Marines at Khe Sanh as being in the Central Highlands! The Marines served almost exclusively in First (I) Corps and Khe Sanh was in NORTHERN I Corps, near the DMZ and Laotian border.
The Cen. Highlands were in II and III Corps. In addition, while the Marines were not well dug in at the Khe Sanh base during what is known as The Hill Fights of early '67 (Hills 881N, 881S and 861), they were definitely dug in during the '67-'68 "Tet" siege. They would never have survived had they not been.
Also, the good doctor implies casualties in Nam were primarily of the gunshot variety. Even a brief review of any publication by those who served on the ground makes clear booby traps (IEDs?), grenades, mortars, rockets and large caliber artillery and satchel charges were a substantial cause of casualties in Nam. Finally, there are the laughable errors that a minimal pre-publication review should have caught.
For example, he states that journalist Bob Woodward was severely injured by an IED explosion in 2005. That was Bob Woodruff! Bob Woodward, of Woodward-Bernstein (All The President's Men) fame is just fine. Dr. Glasser could learn much from Woodward when it comes to editing and proofreading prior to publication. He also states Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords was shot in the head with a .22 caliber pistol, thus allowing her to survive. In fact her assailant used a Glock 9mm (Approx. .35 caliber). This fact was repeatedly stated from the very first news broadcast. How are glaring errors like this missed? By the time I finished the book, I almost regretted the purchase.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2015
This book reads more like a series of unconnected essays than a book with a central thesis. The author jumps all over the place, talking about the treatment of traumatic wounds, the merits and disadvantages of a volunteer military, the role of women in combat, and the scandal of the US's involvement in Iraq and Afghanistan.

The author writes with passion, and a lot of what he writes is truly riveting. Unfortunately, the book is riddled with factual errors about history (e.g., he makes a reference to the "1967 Yom Kippur war" in the East, which took place in 1973) and weaponry. This book cries out for an editor.

Still, it was worth reading simply to give us non-combatants some idea of the huge human cost of entering into a war, and to give us pause before we support such a move again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2012
This book really brings to the forefront the medical treatment -and/or lack there of - of the Veterans... the changes in the types of fighting from one war to another -the vast differences in the types of injuries that are incurred and the new technologies used in treatment...
Having and still suffering from PTSD- it also shows the LACK of help and compassion from others -professionals, organizations, governmental financial and treatment aid and others who are supposed to be there to help -is really incomprehensible -particularly the lost Warriors of the Viet Nam War(many of whom are still living on the streets) and also the new sufferers from recent conflicts... JUST BECAUSE YOU CAN'T SEE THE BROKEN PARTS DOESN'T MEAN THEY'RE NOT THERE... hopefully those who read this book will pass it along to others who need to know what's really happening to the brave Warriors -away fighting, but especially those who are at home and still fighting for their lives- to return to something that is remotely normal...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2011
I really enjoyed how Dr. Glasser started his book backwards, covering his experience from entering the Army as a Physician and taking in Iraq and Afghanistan. The book is very enlightening as to how we have advanced in Combat Medicine and the horror of the fact that we are experiencing amputations numbers experienced since the Cival War. Being a former Fleet Marine Corp Corpsman in Vietnam I could easily identify with what is taking place in our present time on the battle field. Patrick ( Doc ) Ferguson
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2011
Obviously, Ron is an exceptionally experienced doctor who knows of what he speaks. He was alarmed at the evolving medical problems created from modern warfare, and addressed them in his usual well informed manner. During his work, he repeatedly came upon those who asked him to address the problems they experienced with long rang engagements and their 556 caliber rifles. He promised to do so, even though he is not a ballistician. In the last of his book, he held to his promise, and did so. He is a doctor who had addressed a recurrent problem in Afghanistan/Iraq related to him by soldiers. There is no point in dwelling on his understanding of the minutia the ballistics to which he did his best to address; it is the message which is the truth and point of his treatise.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2013
Ron Glasser, M.D. has written a book that goes back to his experience as a doc in the Vietnam War and comes for the present conflicts our troops are deployed. He gives a good view of combat medicine, the many advances that keep our troops alive. He also delves into the ways warfare has changed to inflict the awful price the troops and their families pay with mind and body and death. IED doesn't sound like much when you hear it on a newscast but the IED can be composed of a 500lb. bomb; plastic explosives and TNT. The blast wave alone does incredible harm.
You may get very angry when you read how unprepared some of our troops are for what they are up against in the field and when they return home to try to get the care they need.
Enough from this review: get the book, read the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2013
I have always been a Veterans advocate, being one myself. This book has helped me understand more about PTSD and related brain injuries that plague our soldiers. I'm flabbergasted at the lack of support agencies for those women that are now coming home with injuries that will cripple them for life just like the men. A soldier signs on to give the US a blank check up to and including their lives but they expected to come home WHOLE "IF" they survived the fighting. Now it looks like that's not going to happen and it's NOT FAIR!!! Great Book easy read very hard to put down!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2016
This book is quite different from Dr. Glasser's first book "365 Days", so be prepared if you have read that one. It is not so much stories about soldiers and their injuries and experiences, but a real discussion of the policies. It should be required reading for any young person thinking of enlisting in the armed services, including the reserves or national guard, and also for every person involved in making policy. Don't miss this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2011
In blunt, sobering, compelling language, Dr. Glasser opens our eyes to the true costs of our wars. Costs, that most of us, including myself are blind to.
Honors those who serve. Seethes against a mindset that needlessly turns young men and woman into cannon fodder over and over again.
Herein: a plan for saving lives by increasing our fighting forces ability to take more lives.
Unsparing. Simple. Devastating.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2013
This was a very moving book that illustrated the changing face of war. Yes our military in Irag and Afghanistan wear body armor, but the enemy has learned to shoot around. Military personnel are being shot in the groin, the head, the arms and legs.
There are also blown up by IEDs which cause horrific injuries. This book educated me about this. It also traces the history of "PTSD" from "shell shock" to the present. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to know more about the toll these prolonged military commitments are taking on young soldiers and their families.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.07

Need customer service? Click here