Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$15.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 84 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 101 reviews
on June 20, 2014
I still think about this movie every now and then and it's almost been a year since I have watched it. It makes you think hard about human nature vs. nurture, fate, and consequences of actions we might not intend but happen as a result of our mistakes or character flaws. This movie beautifully focuses on an innocent and kind young girl who has a very loving father and has known nothing but compassionate people in her life so she, in turn, treats others with compassion. What happens when a sensitive child witnesses a barbaric and violent incident? This movie explores that.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2017
Very well made movie. Except for the last 5 minutes(which, I did like in closing a movie/story), this movie is life itself, portrayed as realistically as possible about this tween-ager.
Teaches us about situations that go wrong, and end up defining people, esp Archie. The first 5 minutes, set the stage and has a domino effect on Archie. It is extremely sad/unfortunate, that this divide between a parent and child builds up. And throw in a incident like this, everything falls apart. I am a parent. And gosh, is parenting difficult.
If you go thru the closing credits(for some reason, I ended up sitting thru), the director has put a lot into this movie, even lyrics for the songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2016
This story is intricately woven and so well told. How one single event can cause this chain reaction. Amazing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2013
In a broken and dysfunctional world lives a young girl whose innocence and child-like wonder are besieged on every side by violence, desire and a multitude of human frailties.

In a very strange way "Broken" reminds me of another sort of coming of age film wherein the central character is both a young girl and the witness to tragedy; i.e. "To Kill a Mockingbird". Both Skunk and Scout (looking quite alike in appearance now that I think about it) are self-reliant and optimistic, both are being raised by single fathers (also lawyers) aided by live-in housekeepers but Gregory Peck was a paragon of wisdom and virtue, typically having a positive effect on tough situations whereas Tim Roth is just struggling to hold onto sanity and his family's safety which is his primary motivation for trying to maintain some peace in his neighborhood. I suspect that director Rufus Norris in bringing a story about hope in the midst of despair to the Cannes Film Festival unwittingly created a disturbing glimpse into a society where adults find goodness only in the fragile hearts of children.

While Broken is both a well-acted and riveting drama, it descends maybe a bit too much into social degradation to be very inspiring and although it has some touching moments I can't say this is a film I'd care to watch a second time. :o)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2016
I thought it was very good movie. The young lady in the lead role was amazing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
So, many dynamics and how one event can be the catalyst of destruction and triumphs. The acting was wonderful all around. It's one of those hard core reality films. We know things like this happen but would rather not. The movie shows how misunderstandings and not having tolerance for people who are different from us can lead to tragedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2014
Broken places the viewer directly in the middle of a broken, small, but deeply dramatic slice of life. In this small world, everyone's brokeness bleeds into the everyone elses life. The beauty of the story culminates in all this brokeness pouring into the life of one little girl who almost is destroyed under its weight, yet she returns and by some measure overcomes it. It's not a happy story, nor is it fully redemptive, but it is a true story enlivened with an almost transcedent picture of beauty in the midst of the broken.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2013
This is a brilliant film about life: its highs and lows. It's about birth and death, happiness and sadness, mostly told through the eyes of a young girl. The lead actress is amazing and I hope to see more of her in future films. Solid supporting cast, including Cillian Murphy and Tim Roth, both playing against their usual typecastings.

This is one of those rare gems that are so hard to find. Don't miss it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
A rather honest coming of age story.

Life is not pretty nor is it fair. This film lays it out as it is. Every little neighborhood has it's secrets.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
A story unfolds on a cul de sac neighborhood in England and all the human conflicts unfold there. It's different, fresh, and provocative. Tim Roth is a character who surprises you by his tenderness. Bullying is captured in its rawness. This is not a fluff piece or action thriller. It's a beautiful film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.25

Need customer service? Click here