Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Enlightenment Now Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18SW_gno



on July 30, 2017
I don't normally rate films this high, but I am a huge film buff and have watched it all from silents to the Marx Brothers, etc. This film really was thought through and, although involving gangsters, it didn't hype that up as much as it could (which was great). I first saw this film on some cable station when I was a kid. Then I fell in love with the way the production played out; the gangsters, the cars, the historic scenes; but as an adult I appreciate its philosophical musings as well.

This is a tale of a young man growing up with de facto two fathers. One is a struggling middle class bus driver, the other is convict and mafia boss, Sonny.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 7, 2017
one of my favorite movies!!!!!. This was Robert De Niros' directional debut back in 1993, and also stars Chazz Palminteri as a feared local mob boss, sonny. one day, little Calogero witnesses sonny murder a guy in front of his doorstep outside, the police and detectives come knocking on Robert De Niros' door, and ask if they have seen anything, so they brought the father(De Niro) and son(Calogero) outside to identify the killer. Calogero does not give up sonny. then, sonny really takes a liking to him and as little Calogero grows up, because of his name being long and hard to say for most, sonny makes his name "c" for short. overall one of the best movies ever made for a directional debut.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 1, 2013
I lived in the bronx on Arthur Ave there were italian restaurants,pizza stores and such guys on corners singing those great songs that are now oldies.This movie brings back so many memories some brings smiles other memories just wish it was not like that.
When your watching this movie you are drawn into it and when it ends you can't wait to see it again and again because it is so true to life,details, the way so many of us grew up,and of course when you come from New York and grow up in the Bronx,and are Italian you have a very distant accent... like me... if you don't have this movie you need to buy it..
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 20, 2016
Just attended the play in NYC this week and I rated the play "A Bronx Tale" at the Longacre Theater a 10 (10/10). Watched the movie at home last night as a follow up and give the movie also a 10 (10/10). Great acting, cast, story, era (60's), this is how it was growing up in the Bronx for some, so just another Bronx Tale !!! Go see it !!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2017
I bought this for my cousin because she absolutely loves this movie. I purchased it from Memories Media L.L.C and I have to say, I'm very dissatisfied. It's obviously a bootleg. The writing on the cover is very blurry and the color is off. It's been very obviously rewrapped and there's no security tape. I feel ripped off. $20 for a bootleg movie...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 12, 2018
This movie explores what it means to be a good / strong person. This is the first mafia movie I have seen that explicitly challenges the morality and culture of the mafia without merely glorifying it.

Robert Deniro’s performance is outstanding as an honest law abiding citizen living in a mob infested neighborhood as he struggles to keep his son on the right path. It was very interesting to see Deniro play a moral protagonist instead of a mafia badass in this context. Those who grew up in a blue collar household with a hardworking and and tough loving father will likely relate to this classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 11, 2008
Based on Chazz Paliminteri's autobiographical one-man play, "A Bronx Tale" is an impressive coming-of-age story about a young man, Calogero, or "C," as he is called, growing up in an Italian neighborhood in the Bronx during the racially turbulent Sixties. The boy is torn between the ethical standards set by his scrupulously honest bus driver father, Lorenzo, and the flashy appeal of "Sonny," the charismatic local crime boss. When Calogero, as a mere child, witnesses Sonny shoot and kill a man in a street dispute and refuses to pick him out of a hastily organized lineup moments later, Sonny takes the boy under his wing, much to the displeasure of his father. In his own way, Sonny is looking out for the young man's best interests. He is both paternal and protective, urging C to stop hanging out with his troublemaking friends, and emphasizing the importance of a good education. He also tutors young Calogero in the ways of the street. "That way," says C, "I'll be twice as smart as everyone else." Eventually there is a heated confrontation between the boy's father and the gangster, but the lure of Sonny's lifestyle - a flashy red Cadillac, women, nice clothes, "respect" - is too strong for the youngster to resist. There is an interesting assortment of supporting characters - Eddie Mush (the unluckiest gambler in the world), Tony Toupee (so called because of his ill-fitting hairpiece), Frankie Coffee Cake (whose acne-scarred face reminded everyone of a Drake's coffee cake) - and a host of others who apparently made an indelible impression on the young Palminteri. There are several memorable scenes - the humorous antics during a basement craps game; the invasion of Sonny's bar by a gang of bikers, to their regret; Sonny's advising his protege on dating etiquette. Robert De Niro, in his directorial debut, plays Lorenzo, but it is Chazz Palminteri's Sonny who dominates the film throughout. The ending is sad, poignant, and touching, but of course I won't go into that here on the assumption that you haven't seen this movie. As a lay person I'm unable to intelligently critique the technical aspects of any film, but I can state in all honesty that this is one movie I thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 29, 2008
Well acted, great local scenes of The Bronx, plausible. Good story. De Niro is fantastic in a different sort of role as a hard working, earnest, honest bus driver just trying to show his son a decent way to live. Parmentieri is fantastic as the local crime boss-very believable.

Deals with good/bad themes, easy money vs.integrity & hard work, racism & racial clashes in the paradigm of The Bronx.

Great musical score.

Note: Lillo Brancato should've stuck to acting. Currently in prison according to a web search.

"In December 2005, he was arrested and hospitalized after he and a friend, Steven Armento, were shot by an off-duty police officer Daniel Enchautegui while the officer was investigating a burglary in New York City. The officer was killed, and Armento got sentenced to life-time prison for murder, while Brancato was only sentenced to ten years for attempted burglary.

In December, 2008, he was cleared of second degree murder in the shooting of police officer Daniel Enchautegui, but was convicted of attempted burglary. Releases in 2008 he stars in the Sopranos.

Sentenced to 10 years in prison on January 9, 2009, for his burglary conviction that led to the the murder of a police officer."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 31, 2017
I like this movie very much I this movie back in the late 1990s on VHS tape and now it's on disk I'm enjoying it. A Italian child growing up in the late 1960s Bronx neighborhood what a movie . It has ganster element, poor people and a racial elements in it as well. What a great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 25, 2013
My family and I love this movie. It is about an Italian family. Robert DeNiro is the dad, and he is trying to raise his son best he can and instill good, moral values in him as he grows up. But when his son witnesses a killing by a mob boss and doesn't snitch, the mob boss takes him under his wing and instills his own street smarts into the kid as he grows up. So the boy sort of gets the best of both worlds even though his dad and the mob boss do not approve of one another's teachings. The boy also falls for a young lady who is of a different race than he is, and conflict arises because of his culture. But you have to watch this in order to see how it all fares out, and you will be surprised at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse