Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by Garth Brooks Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
53
Brute Force (The Criterion Collection)
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$22.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on April 13, 2017
A nice prison flick. Probably a must for collectors of that genre, but if you see it listed as a film noir (as I did) not so much. Hugh Cronyn puts in an excellent performance as a sadistic, spooky chief guard/warden, and Charles Bickford puts in another good performance. As does pretty much the rest of the supporting cast. I've never been much of a fan of Burt Lancaster and while this may be one of his better outings, it didn't convert me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 31, 2014
Twice I watched this movie. A young Burt Lancaster and Hume Cronyn, two very good actors. Lancaster is a leader in prison. Cornyn's character reminds me of guys who were not jocks, got no respect, wasn't part of the cool crowd but now has power. That's a problem with many police officers. This is a good movie. Once you see it I think you will agree with my (street) analysis of Cronyn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 5, 2017
Yes, the performances, action, and personalities exhibited during the write up, the areas explored, and the time frame of this film all point to the to its timelessness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 1, 2014
Very good old Classic movie. They really did a great job back then with lighting, incorporating use of shadows and camera angles to make so much out of black & white film. The actors were just very different back in these days. This seems to be absent in most modern day acting. I recommend this movie for those who seek out and enjoy good quality in old classic movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 7, 2015
Based on the opening scene alone, this movie has some gorgeous camera shots. Made B. Lancaster one of my faces from the moment I saw it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 10, 2017
Not very believable but certainly entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 4, 2013
Wonderful documentary on military photographers known as Combat Cameramen. They risk their lives to show the cost of war. Every time you watch war footage and see photographs you have them to thank for the historical visual record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 16, 2014
I enjoyed seeing the movie again, because the acting and the story was worth hearing and seeing it again. I had seen the movie many times, when a teenager and now an old man.

J.D. White
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 30, 2016
Good old movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 10, 2015
This DVD was a great bargain price wise
And delivered on a few days
A terrific movie that is hard to find
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse