Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on May 9, 2013
I think Buddy Miller is one of the most talented musician/songwriters living today. I've got bunches of his albums and his wife's albums, so I had high hopes for this album, since Jim Lauderdale is no slouch either, but I thought the overall album was pretty mediocre. That's not to suggest it's bad or not worth having, but it's disappointing in the context of what I know Buddy Miller is capable of and has done in the past.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 24, 2014
I really like the vocal harmonies here. But harmony is something you'll always find on a Buddy CD. "Forever and a Day" has beautiful vocals mated with a pretty steel guitar melody. The re-worked version of "Looking for a Heartache" from an earlier Buddy CD is actually an improved rendition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 20, 2013
Great Cd--buy a Great pair of Talented guys. They plug their "Sirius"--radio show--with
a sticker on the cd for good reason. Since they don't look cute--etc. (American idol mentallity)
They aren't going to get played. One of these unknown treasures--that everyone should
know about and give a listen too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 20, 2017
I have enjoyed Mr. Lauderdale's music for years. This collaboration with Buddy Miller is excellent! Get it on vinyl, the sound quality is exceptional.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 17, 2014
The older Buddy gets, the better his music becomes. I've been a fan for quite awhile and I think this is his best effort since "United Universal House of Prayer". He and Jim obviously enjoy playing together and it shows. Anyone who enjoys early country, folk, and Americana will appreciate this effort
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 13, 2012
Two guys that obviously enjoy working together. Some new music, and some inspired cover choices (Bobby Charles "Down South in New Orleans" and Joe Tex "I want to do Everything for you" for starters). It's a slim volume (only 34 minutes), but i guess better than the alternative ("i'm bored, i'll hit the button for the next track")

Nothing fancy here, just a couple of guys sitting around and jamming with a tight backup band
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 21, 2015
In my humble opinion, Jim does his best work with his best buddy, Buddy Miller. The energy, the production, the vocals, the guitars... Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 6, 2015
Buddy @ Jim are good writers of great music...

Buddy ,Jim are great writers of country music but this CD was not their best

...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 20, 2013
Great collection of songs from 2 guys who really know their stuff. They are the real deal. Just saw them live.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2013
I love everything Buddy Miller does. This collaboration is a little more back porch folksy than I would have liked but it's what I expected from Jim Lauderdale. Overall a good effort if you don't mind your twang being this simple
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Soul Searching
$16.49
I'm A Song
$8.99
I Feel Like Singing Today
$8.99

Need customer service? Click here