Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18_gno



on April 23, 2010
People tend to attribute Buffett's success to a lots of different things. Starting from being plain lucky to being born with the gift to pick stocks. In this book Prem Jain explains that neither of these things are true by digging deep into each of Buffett's investments to look at what motivated him to make that particular investment. Prem Jain essentially breaks down Buffett's style to some core principles that Buffett repeatedly uses and sticks to irrespective of the temptation to do otherwise. When others jumped into Dotcom and Technology, Buffett stayed on the sidelines saying that he doesn't understand it. Likewise, emphasis on management quality and more importantly something that people often don't associate with Buffett being a growth investor.

This book is not an eulogy to Buffett. Instead it is a well written, easy to understand and more importantly tells what you need to look at while making an investment. After reading this book, you don't need to listen to an analyst to see what he or she thinks about a particular stock. Instead you can go to a website like Wall Street Journal or Yahoo finance site to see how that particular stock fits into these core principle/framework that Buffett employs.

This book will not make you rich overnight. Instead, I strongly feel, no matter whether you are new to investing or a seasoned veteran, by reading this book it opens your mind to a whole new way of looking at investments and hopefully leads to a successful track record.

Remember some of the principles in this book don't just apply to investing. They apply to real life as well.

Get the book and enjoy the ride...It is worth it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 5, 2010
As a small business owner, I do not have a lot of time to investigate many companies. However, this book has given me some ideas. Even though some other writers have been encouraging people like me to invest in index funds, this book makes that point clear in a few pages. The first chapter and the chapter of tax deferment show that an investor like me is much better off if the investments are made in an index fund. This is very powerful. And, then, it becomes clear to me why Buffett's company Berkshire Hathaway has beaten the S&P 500 index over a long period of time, including the latest 10-year period. Most people did not earn anything over the past 10-year period but Berkshire has given a decent return of about 5% to 6% a year, depending on your starting point. So, beyond S&P 500 index (say Vanguard 500 index), one should also invest with Buffett some by buying shares in Berkshire. After the recent stock split, it is now easy to buy Berkshire shares. The author (Prem Jain) thinks that Berkshire shares are cheap for a long term investor. Finally, he makes it clear and explains why it is important for a person like me to stay in my circle of competence which is the travel industry. I should try to find some good companies in the travel industry. While airlines seem to be a difficult proposition, there are other companies in this industry. For example, there are hotel companies, cruise companies and lest I forget, there is American Express and similar companies worldwide. So, I hope to spend some time on that. I recommend this book to all those who have some background in finance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 1, 2010
When I learnt that there was another book on Warren Buffett, whose life and investment philosophy has been an open book for decades, I wondered! But, after reading Professor Jain's book I realized that this is different from other books. Professor Jain has been able to go beyond the common knowledge of Warren Buffett's value investment philosophy. The book extracts much of Buffett's thinking from his famous Annual Reports of Berkshire Hathaway,Inc. In this book, Professor Jain has been able to provided a balance discussion of Buffett's investment philosophy, sound academic principles, successful as well as not so successful case histories, and, glimpses of Buffett's personal life stories. The book justifies author's hypothesis that Buffett weighs growth as much as value in his investment approach.

The lessons drawn in the second chapter from Berkshire's history are useful for new investors. I was particularly impressed with the discussion in Part Six in which professor Jain discusses concepts of market efficiency, arbitrage, and hedge funds. Prof. Jain has simplified these difficult concepts for a lay investor. I recommend this book highly for investors and I believe professionals can also benefit form it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 21, 2010
This book emphasizes that there is more to Buffett than value investing. In this book, Prem Jain starts with discussing many of the important events in Buffett's company, Berkshire Hathaway, and what we can learn from those events. I really liked this overview. I realize that Buffett is successful because he thinks about all aspects of investing, not just simple P/E ratios or other metrics. Beyond the topics on insurance, value investing, etc., I also like the following few sentences from the book: "Buffett engages in arbitrage investing, investing in silver futures, betting on oil, forward trading in foreign currencies, managing a large number of wholly owned subsidiaries, and writing derivative contracts. He frequently narrates investment-relevant stories from other fields such as psychology, sports, country music, and life in general. Given his broad knowledge and his deep understanding of almost all investment-related topics, I prefer to call him a renaissance investor rather than attempting to pin him down under more limiting monikers." The author explains why intrinsic value is important and how to compute it. Overall, there is plenty of new material in this book and I recommend it to anyone who is interested in investing in the stock market.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 18, 2010
I bought this book due to the fact that I share the same last name with the author and that I also have interests in stocks and Mr. Buffett himself.

Unlike the other books on Buffett, this book talks about the investing principles of Buffett and not just the man himself. It is amazing how Prem Jain has researched the Berkshire Hathway annual reports to find out the events and it is all the more amazing how he has been able to link that as a Lesson for each of the investors. On reading this book, i realised what an investor should be looking while investing in stocks. The Graham's principles has been memorised by me due to the constant references in the book which is so true in the real world.

One more important thing which I like about the book is the language used by Prem. It is very plain, simple and easy to understand. The author has made sure that you do not need to be a regular reader to read this book. Not once I came across a very tough word used in the Finance world.

I would recommend this book to all the investors, practitoners, researchers and students.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 15, 2011
Using many examples from Buffett's investments, this book gives you a good sense of how Buffett most probably thinks about investing. The book also explains why Buffett's company Berkshire Hathaway's stock has been a great buy over the years and why it continues to be a great buy with high intrinsic value. The two chapters on psychology are also a breath of fresh air. They are easy to read and cover unique material that is usually not covered in most investment books. Overall, the most important lesson from Mr. Buffett seems to be that an investor should always think about investing for the long term, never for the next month or even the next year. Most of Buffett's investments have been for ten years or longer. The author also suggests that an investor should pay very little attention to `talking heads' on business news channels. This is a sane advice for sure. I recommend the book highly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 8, 2010
Prem Jain's book is not just another one in the series of many others on Buffett. It goes well beyond that! Using Buffett's investment philosophy as a backdrop, Jain introduces the reader to the art and science of investing in the financial markets. The book is written in an easy-to-read style that should appeal to a broad spectrum of readers. As you start reading the book, it becomes clear very quickly that this is the work of a serious academic and a long time student of the financial markets. The most striking feature of the book is that it shows that sound investment practices, such as those of Buffett, are consistent with sound economic principles. I think any reader of this book would earn a fantastic return on investment on the time and money invested!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 17, 2012
In order to be comfortable with your investments, you need to learn what investment style fits you best. This book reveals the investment style of one of the greatest investors we have ever known. And guess what? Buffett's style does not fit into any of these three categories! He is not a pure value investor, nor a pure growth investor, nor a simple blend of the two. He combines these styles with his understanding of marketing and branding, and looks for companies with "timeless" products and intense customer loyalty. In addition to either knowing or learning about the management team. A great book, sometimes a bit pedantic in style, but well worth the time to read thoroughly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 18, 2010
Prem Jain's work provides invaluable lessons on Buffett's investing strategies. Most of the recent writing on Buffett have focused on his personal life, so it was definitely helpful to see a book that focused more on Buffett's investments. For those who haven't read much on Buffett, this book absolutely a great starting point. Jain's approachable style of writing captures Buffett's strategies with relevant stories, making the ideas easily applicable to beginners to value investing. For others who already have some knowledge of Buffett, Jain's book is still compelling because of the way he clearly synthesizes lessons gleaned from Buffett's shareholder letters. This is a must read for anyone who is interested in Buffett, investing or business.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 25, 2010
Since I just wrote a bad review on another book I thought I better write a good one as well - Karma and all. This book is well written, easy to follow and as someone that has read much of what has been written about Buffett I think Prem Jain has done a really good job of pulling the salient points together. This book is a nice overview of the necessary ingredients that need to be employed if you are going to follow this method of investing. Buffett's success seems to be linked to a clear understanding of what he is investing in and using market psychology to determine when a buying opportunity exists and Jain leads you down the road showing how many of these investments were made. A worthwhile read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse