Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 273 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 684 reviews
on April 17, 2016
I received this item quickly and it was packaged well with no damage to it or the container.
I'm a huge, huge, huge Buffy the Vampire Slayer fan. As in, when I'm not feeling good or down in the dumps, my husband knows to just put Buffy on and leave me to wallow. I'll eventually emerge feeling much better.
I'm not sure what happened to the VHS tapes I used to have, but they've managed to go missing long ago. Not that it would matter, since they're obsolete. I had always diverted back to Netflix whenever I wanted to watch my favorite show. However, Netflix has a nasty habit of just randomly dropping a title. Because of this, I'm slowly collecting the DVD sets.
I'll eventually buy one of the special edition box sets, but, for now, I'm enjoying these slim sets that I'm slowly picking up season by season. I like them because they take up little room and fit nicely on my shelf with our other movies and games.
Disclaimer: This should be an Amazon verified purchase. I paid full listing price and NOT receive this product free or deeply discounted. However, my review is still honest and unbiased. If you found this review to be helpful, I'd appreciate if you would mark it as such. Thanks!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2013
Sarah Michelle Gellar is one of my favorite actresses because of how well she pulls of Buffy Summers. You can actually see what she is going through, and she usually does what is best for everyone else even though it isn't what is best for her. Buffy the Vampire Slayer is not your typical Vampire, Love Struck series, but has it the old fashioned way: have to be asked to come in, burn alive in sunlight, crosses, holy water, stake to the heart, etc. THIS is another reason why it is so great, because it isn't the glittery vampire crap everyone is into today. You will never guess the outcome of this season, because you can't guess what is going to happen. Joss Whedon likes to kill off your favorite characters is all I am going to say....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
As Always Love this season! It captures the real essence of Buffy,When Faith Arrives she finds her while fighting with a vampire not knowing that she is a slayer to,then the tension between faith and buffy keeps growing...until faith discover the passion of being evil and kill people and gets carried away by evil altough angel try to convice her to repair at her mistakes.
altought he dos not make it faith goes to the mayor and tightens an allience with him and with his help to steal angel soul.
my opinion is that when I first saw this season I didn't know what brought Angel back in heart and I'm still confused on''The claddagh ring or the first evil''?! whatever they did not explain very well but I think that that the power of love is very intense and it can lead to positive conseguenses.
The connection between Faith and the Mayor is the knife that he gives at her ike a gratitude sign for the job done I think he truly care about faith but we all know that even if we care about someone altough we try to hide it because sometimes it hurts and I addmited I have done mistakes in my life but We can all make amends for that like Angel like Faith like Darla...we only should know ur personalities better and discovered our hearts.
At least I'm covering for the third time this season..simply beautiful like the one the two the four the five the six and the seven!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2010
Season Two of Buffy the Vampire Slayer left off with everything going wrong for Buffy, to the point where she's not only kicked out of school, but out of her own home. She's just sent the love of her life to hell (literally), and every single one of her friends was hurt in some way, shape or form, if not dead. What's a girl to do when her entire world comes crashing down around her ears, and she feels she is the cause? Leave Sunnydale, of course. So when season three kicks off, Buffy is struggling to deny who she is, as she attempts to make it all on her own. And for a girl who's still in high school, I admit she wasn't doing too shabby. But you can't deny who or what you are, and Buffy's gift is needed right in the town she has escaped to. Realizing that she needs to, and wants to, go back where she belongs, Buffy heads home to the relief of everyone who loves her. And so the Sunnydale Vampire Slayer continues to solve crisis after crisis with the help of her friends, her mom, her watcher, her love (that's right, Angel's back!), and another new slayer.

Every episode is filled with new witty banter, demon-slayage, and heartfelt moments if not hysterical laughter. Joss Whedon has a gift of ensuring that serious moments do not last long, there is always something to perk you up and laugh at just around the corner.

I am currently on disc five of six, and am ecstatically awaiting to finish the series (if only there were more hours in the day!). Fans who adored season one and two of Buffy will not be disappointed with season three. It is completely worth the addition to the collection, and Amazon had it arrive speedily and wrapped so that it was unharmed, so that I might view it as soon as possible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2004
Couples are central to BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER throughout its seven-year run, so how might one pair the seasons themselves?
If Seasons One and Two of BUFFY are Origin Years-- establishing the show's mythos in Season One, then stretching and deepening them in year Two-- then Seasons Three and Four are definitely Years of Consolidation, playing with, clarifying and reorganizing the show's fictional universe and strengthening the bond between show and viewer before diving into the darker, riskier events of Seasons Five and Six (which we might call Years of Daring and Yearning). (What about Season Seven, you ask? Well, let's just leave it standing alone in the corner, looking at its shoes and crying because no one wants to hang with it (and can you blame them?).
"Consolidation" has a compromised tone to it, but that's not what I mean. Seasons Three and Four are excellent. It's not a question of quality, which on Buffy was almost always high, but tone-- these are more playful seasons than those that precede and follow, and there's a wittiness to the way in which series creator/auteur Joss Whedon puts his characters through their paces. Season Three, in particular-- from "Band Candy" and "Homecoming" through "The Zeppo" and the mayor's speech in "Graduation Day"-- is full of humor.
The brightness extends to the show's look-- Buffy switches from darker 16mm stock to 35mm, giving the show a brighter look. We see more of Sunnydale, here too-- coffee shops, town streets, and the glowing green sign of the Sunnydale cinema. Darkness doesn't disappear-- the show, particularly in the first half of the season, is forced to grapple with the events of the season that preceeded it-- but this is certainly Buffy's most optimistic season, and that optimism may account for its popularity with fans. Season Three was the highest-rated of any Buffy year in the Nielsens, and this year and the next were the height of the show's media buzz.
It speaks volumes about how Buffy juggles tones that I can write the above with absolute conviction and then turn around and tell you that the show grapples, in its first four episodes alone, with teen suicide, homelessness, broken families, the dark underbelly of fundamentalism, the return of a murderer, the arrival of a rival slayer, and a mayor who has cheerfully sold his soul to demonic forces. To say nothing of such Buffy staples as the horror of high school, the mendacity of teenage cliques and the glorious pain of doomed love.
So, ok, "optimism" and "wit" are relative terms. There are moments in Season Three that are heartbreaking, times when characters must grapple with fear, loss, betrayal and disappointment. The genius of Joss Whedon and his writers is that they give the fans exactly what they want...exactly when they *don't* want it. Whedon is not a moralist (a type that almost always comes in for criticism and mockery on his shows), but his work does have an ethics to it-- there are consequences to actions, and every moment, good or bad, always contains an element of its opposite. Ambiguity reigns in the BuffyVerse, and Season Three, for all its humor, contains moments when even the most seemingly "innocent" of Buffy folk are held up for sympathetic scrutiny.
Still, moreso than any other season, Season Three ultimately grants its characters a level of grace and closure unusual for this normally open-ended show. Even the "villains" are more sympathetic than usual, and far more out in the open. It normally takes the show several eps to establish what fans refer to as "the big bad" for the year, but here, in keeping with the lighter, open tone, it's established early on (by the third episode) that the season's uber-villain is the Mayor, a deceptively young-looking family man who was granted eternal life and great power by demonic forces. The mayor is my favorite of all of the program's "big bads," a testament both to the ability of the writers to throw curve-balls at their audience and to the great humor and geniality that Harry Groener brings to the role. Whether he's expounding on the genius of the FAMILY CIRCUS ("That PJ!") or telling hard truths to Buffy and Angel, Groener always makes his villainy charming, almost incidental-- you *like* him, and he, like every one on the show, is granted moments of humanity and understanding rare in television characterizations (incidentally, it's been mentioned in interviews that the Mayor is based on series writer/producer (and later ANGEL co-creator) David Greenwalt, and once you know this, it is impossible to watch one of the many greenwalt interviews on the Buffy/Angel sets without laughing).
I don't want to give away any plot twists, but I do want to make brief mention of: the arrival of Wesley-Windam Price, a character who will become more important in the program's spinoff, ANGEL; the real-world arrival to the show of writer Jane Espenson, who will write more great Buffy eps over the remaining seasons than anyone aside from Joss Whedon; the wonderfully expanded role of Buffy's mom, played by the fabulous Kristine Sutherland, who has more good moments here than in any other year; the rough charm and deep passion Eliza Dushku brings to Faith, the rival vamp slayer; and the usual outstanding work of series regulars Sarah Michelle Gellar, Charisma Carpenter, David Boreanez, Seth Green, Nicholas Brendan, Alyson Hannigan, and the always amazing Anthony Stewart Head.
The other way to divide the history of the show, of course, is between high school and post-high school seasons. Season Three marks the dividing line between these two periods, and had the show ended here, it would have been logical and fulfilling, if also deeply disappointing. The remaining seasons of Buffy find the characters shifting, growing, regressing, and hitting new depths (and the show, new heights). Challenges lay ahead, for both characters and fans, but that was good-- after all, no one wants to be happy *all* the time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2017
Great series. Very happy with this purchase with no complaints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2015
Great Show. In this season, a new slayer named Faith arrives in Sunnydale. Angel comes back.

Includes Episodes:
1)Anne
2)Dead Man's Party
3)Faith, Hope & Trick
4)Beauty and the Beasts
5)Homecoming
6)Band Candy
7)Revelations
8)Lovers Walk
9)The Wish
10)Amends
11)Gingerbread
12)Helpless
13)The Zeppo
14)Bad girls
15)Consequences
16)Doppelgangland
17)Enemies
18)Earshot
19)Choices
20)The Prom
21)Graduation Day Part 1
22)Graduation Day Part 2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2017
Funny show. The Actors must have had a great time on set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2017
Package. arrived on time. Item as described!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon January 1, 2003
Joss Whedon solved a major problem in Season Two of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" in terms of how he resolved the tortured love of Buffy and Angel. Many a good television series went down the tubes because one the sexual tension between the two lovers was consummated, there was nowhere to go but down (classic case in point: Dave and Maddie on "Moonlight"). However, Whedon's masterstroke was that after Angel gave Buffy her birthday present, their relationship went down like no other relationship we had ever seen (not even Sid and Nancy) as Angel turned into Angelus. The season finale, "Becoming: Part II," is still one of the 10 best television episodes I have ever seen. The new problem facing Joss Whedon was: How do you top this in Season Three?
In one sense he does not. "Becoming" remains the Mt. Everest of the series, a height that can never be scaled again, no matter how many times Buffy's gift of "death" plays to her advantage. However, what makes Season Three better than Season Two is not that the top is higher, but rather than this is also true of the bottom. Pick the worst episode from Season Three (my choice is the obvious pick, "Beauty and the Beasts") and it is still better than the worst of the first two seasons (e.g., "Teacher's Pet," "Go Fish"). Look at all 22 episodes and you should end up being convinced that this was clearly the show's best season.
By now there is clearly an extremely effective pattern to a season of "BtVS" as crafted by Whedon. The first episode, "Anne," reminds Buffy of why she is the slayer (i.e., function as a way of getting late comers to the party up to speed on the Slayer). Again the season is divided into two halves, the first focusing on Faith ("Faith, Hope & Trick") and the second on the Mayor's Ascension ("Graduation Day"). Like the previous season, the part of the first half (Spike & Dru) joins the party of the second half (Angelus), just like Faith joins forces with the Mayor. Consequently, a season of "BtVS" has a sense of overall narrative structure more developed than most television dramas. What also matters is that Whedon finds the actors to play the parts. Eliza Dushku makes Faith a ticking time bomb who represents the Dark Side of being a Slayer (not to mention being as far removed from Kendra as possible), while Harry Groener as Mayor Richard Wilkins III takes the traditional politeness of a villain to a new level of giddy charm.
The final element, which best defines the uniqueness of Season Three, is that arguably the very best episodes were actually those that did NOT have to do with the major plot threads. There are two fun return visits as Sunnydale is afflicted by another visit from Ethan Raine in "Band Candy" and comes back to kidnap Willow for some witchy help in winning back Dru's love. Fortunately we did not have to wait for Season Four for a visit to "Doppelgangland" after our first taste of the alternative Buffyverse in "The Wish." I was always surprised Whedon did not release those two on a videotape as an addendum to the Season Three Videotape set (double ditto for "Once More, With Feeling"). However, after the Senior gift given to Buffy at "The Prom," the no holds barred fight between Buffy and Faith in "Graduation Day, Part I" and Buffy letting Angel feed on her in "Graduation Day, Part II," the Mayor's actual Ascension seems rather anti-climatic.
Buffy supporting cast fares very well in Season Three. "Amends," the episode submitted for Emmy consideration, gives Buffy and Angel some of their best final scenes together as star crossed lovers while Xander finally has a moment of glory in "The Zeppo" (I find the background apocalypse scenes hysterical and love the fact the Zeppo reference is never explained in the episode at all). Cordy makes her own case for being a Slayer in "Homecoming," Giles touches on new meanings of his role as Buffy's father-figure in "Band Candy" and "Helpless," and the only thing more fun than watching Alyson Hannigan play Vamp Willow in "The Wish" was watching her play Willow playing Vamp Willow in "Dopplegangland."
"Buffy the Vampire Slayer" received a lot of unwanted publicity during the spring of 1999 when two episodes--"Earshot" and "Graduation Day, Part Two"--were pulled from being aired because of the shootings at Columbine High School. Ultimately, these proved to be overreactions, but certainly Whedon and the show were fortunate that Columbine happened the week before "Earshot" and not the week afterwards, because I really do not know if "BtVS" would have been able to survive that realignment of events. On balance and from the perspective of the middle of Season Seven, I think Season Three will ultimately be considered the best season of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer."
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse