Oil month Automotive Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now SWMTVT18_gno



on September 5, 2013
We are avid BVS fans!! The whole series is riveting and captivating but, Once More, With Feeling takes the cake, at least for us!

The songs, punch lines, choregraphy, story lines are really quite good, especially when you consider what a cheesy episode it was set up to be. Then there was the other side, a very serious side, showing the strained relationships and the cracks in their facades that became bigger than Hellhole itself. It really became evident at the end of the episode, after all their secrets had been exposed, that the series was taking a dramatic change and started a whole new type of BVS.

This soundtrack is very Broadway-esquire at times, very rock n roll-ish at other times; very dramatic then very light hearted. You will find yourself toe tapping along with the music, wanting to get up and dance, then feeling like you are floating through a Willow tree! This soundtrack really covers several different genres.

It was also amazing to hear the voices of some of the actors, impressive!!! The depth, the style, the extreme changes to the tempo really showed off their vocal chops, to say the least! And then there were the very few who really weren't endowed with the ability of singing, it was truly impressive how they dealt with that, but didn't exclude them either.

The smartest part of the soundtrack/episode was the traditional ending when the little hand drawn monster went over the Mutant Enemy logo, after the credits, singing the part of "Grrrrr, Arrrrgh"! It was just so perfect how they arranged for the monster to be a part of the soundtrack, nice job!

If you love the Scoobies, then you will really love this soundtrack!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 23, 2018
A musical resolution to an excellent season of this inventive and stereotype-slaying series. The music and lyrics are catchy, but moreso if you've watched the series up to this point. It is one of the most satisfying musical episodes of a series, not just a one-off musical episode, but a coherent, plot/character-driven climax from everything that had been building to this point. Well done, Joss Whedon and cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 12, 2006
This cd is clearly intended for fans of the tv series, being the soundtrack of what is perhaps the best episode of the whole seven seasons, useful if you want to listen to its music when you cannot watch the dvd.

The episode in question is extremely complex, all the feelings and suffering of the various characters concentrated in so intense a way you really feel you face a work of art; what is perhaps the highest achieving is that its surface is shining, glossy, extremely funny: you laugh helplessly while being aware of the many dark corners.

The soundtrack of this episode, recorded on this cd together with some orchestral music from some other episodes, fits perfectly into the script but I think the best compliment I can write is that this cd can easily stand on its own and give pleasure even to those who have no idea of what is all this sunnydale thing.

I cannot believe Joss Whedon is not an experience musician: he was undoubtedly helped by the producers, but the melodic ideas are his and are beautiful. I have no favourite hit: I just love ALL the pieces from the hilarious "The Parking Ticket" to the rock of "Rest in Peace" through the two lines of "Dawn's Lament".

Astonishing is the quality of the vocals: Hinton Battle is clearly a professional as is the unknown singer of "The Parking Ticket", but I was astonished by Amber Benson and James Marsters who interpret the two most catching hits, the lovely love ballad "Under Your Spell" and the good old rock of "Rest in Peace".

The others are no great singers, but they manage professionally enough, they sing with much feeling and make the WHOLE soundtrack worth listening.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 20, 2012
Let me say, first of all, that if you buy this expecting a broadway quality piece with stunning vocalists and complex orchestral arrangements, you may be disappointed.
However... This album is very worthwhile if you are a big Buffy fan! This contains every song that was in this episode, and overall it is fantastic! I respect joss for doing this episode and putting so much effort into it. Plus... It's fun to sing along ( which Buffy asks you to in something to...)!
I must say that the voices are not amazing... But I really have respect for all the actors for actually singing. Amber benson, Anthony head, and the man who played the demon, however, are exceptions. They all have great voices! Sarah and Emma have alright voices, and so does nick. However, I'm guessing Allyson hannigan asked to not sing much (she has only 3 lines). But overall, the album is great! As I said... Great for Buffy fans!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 20, 2015
The album itself is exactly what you expect. The problem you'll run into is that's hard to find any program that can rip this CD. Since basically no one owns a discman, that means this album isn't as portable as you'd hope. My guess based on when it came out is that this is deliberate; in the days of Napster, the studios were putting DRM on the discs that can cause all sorts of problems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 28, 2013
This episode really proved that musical TV shows can work, and it did it extremely well. I love these songs and like most Buffy fans it's one of my favorite episodes.

However I have to be honest, when just listening to the songs in isolation and not having the images to go with it the singing loses some of its luster. Not all of the cast members have especially strong voices, and that stands out a bit more when just listening to the songs. Also the bonus items of Joss and his wife singing rough versions of the some of the songs is more of an oddity than something you'll ever listen to repeatedly.

These issues don't take away the cleverness and strength of the song and music writing. If you love the episode then there's no reason to not have this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon August 6, 2007
Once More with Feeling was the first "Buffy..." episode I had seen. My daughter forced me to watch it on her computer screen last fall (2006), as I sat uncomfortably on the edge of her bed, waiting to spring up in annoyance at any moment.
When the end credits rolled, I was still singing along. I fell in love with the characters immediately. What I had initially thought of as sophomoric nonsense had actually entertained me...impressed me.
It was not that I was opposed to ridiculous plots and fantastic tales, just that I had not connected to the whole idea of vampire humor. Spending more time with my 19-year-old daughter and her highly emotional girlfriends (who are usually stretched out all over my flat) has allowed me to relax and see the beauty in undead dramedy.
I bought this soundtrack, the whole series box set, and (eventually) the Angel box set as well. After 4 months of Buffy, Angel, Giles, Spike, Cordy, Willow, Anya, Gunn, and Xander each night, I am still in love with the Buffyverse and this soundtrack. It has taken on a life aside from the actual episode from which it sprang.
I recommend this CD to any Buffy fan, musical/rock opera fan, Joss W. fan, or fellow music fan.
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 9, 2003
Everyone else seems to rate it high so why shouldn't I? Honestly though, like most of these reviewers I'm a hardcore Buffy fan and this soundtrack is not to be missed! This episode, with the singing *reminded me of Cop Rock* could have been doomed from the start, but it turned out to be a very entertaining hour and some odd minutes of TV. The songs were well written and *you couldn't expect less from Joss could you?* the songs STICK in your head! I remember shortly after this episode aired I was humming these songs and singing them at work, and it drove me crazy! I supose 'crazy' in a good way though.

Maybe these aren't songs you want to hear constantly running through your brain while doing work you hate but, while you are just sitting around at home they are a lot of fun.
Anyway, there are a lot of extras with this. The demo with Joss & his wife was a great thing to throw in.
The cast itself can sing just fine also...with the exception of poor Willow.

Spike/Giles/Tara/Anya all shine on this soundtrack/episode.
This is truly something that no Buffy fan can be without. With the show being over and everything it's a great thing to hang onto. Us hardcore Buffy freaks need something don't we?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 3, 2010
This CD is the essential musical companion to the classical episode of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Once More With Feeling (Season 6)". Not only are all the songs brilliantly written by Joss Whedon, the tunes are SO catchy, this CD will have you whistling for weeks (believe me, I speak from experience).

MAIN TITLE - For this episode, they fixed the regular rock-out version of the theme by Nerf Herder, into a musical, classical version. Although with no words and only 26 seconds, it is still rather amusing to listen to.

OVERTURE/GOING THROUGH THE MOTIONS - The overture of the CD takes place in the beginning of the episode, and while it has no words, is very soothing and peppy (if a song can be both those things). It leads into Going Through the Motions after roughly a minute and 10 seconds, which is the brilliant Sarah Michelle Gellar singing the first song. Definitely one of my favorite songs.

I'VE GOT A THEORY/BUNNIES/IF WE'RE TOGETHER - This song has many different tunes and portions to it. I've Got a Theory, the first part, is sung by Anthony Head, Alyson Hannigan, Nicholas Brendan, and Emma Caulfield. It soon leads into "Bunnies", sung by Emma Caulfield, which is a rock-version of why she hates bunnies so much. Makes me laugh EVERY TIME! Finally, If We're Together is a very Scooby Gang song, with Buffy telling her friends that they can beat anything. Heartwarming! :)

THE MUSTARD - While only 20 seconds, this song makes me laugh out loud, every time I listen to it. Only 5 lines sung by a big burly man. "They got the mustard OUT!" No more needs to be said.

UNDER YOUR SPELL - Amber Benson's voice is just magic in this song. I have hummed, whistled, and sung the tune for weeks at a time; even learned to play it on the piano and sing along. So powerful and a beautiful love song of Tara and Willow's love. *sigh*. It makes you smile.

I'LL NEVER TELL - Very, VERY 1950s. Upbeat, and the lyrics, GOSH are they funny! Definitely suits Anya and Xander's relationship (who are played and sung by Emma Caulfield and Nicholas Brendan). Just hearing the soft, but upbeat, and extremely mocking lyrics make you laugh while listening. They continuily list their faults in each other. Though I must admit, I can not listen to it constantly like I can do with "Under your Spell". Still love it though!

THE PARKING TICKET - Again, something to make you smile. Although it is 45 seconds, it is much like The Mustard, a look into how the other residents of Sunnydale are dealing with the singing. A woman croons to a police officer about how she doesn't deserve the parking ticket, with lyrics like "There was no parking anywhere," and "I think that hydrent wasn't there". Definitely funny, if not anything else!

REST IN PEACE - Sung by the brilliant, brooding, and completely amazing James Marsters, this song illustrates how Spike loves, but completely HATES Buffy. A rock out, vampiric, absolutely sick and awesome song. There's nothing else to say. Bloody amazing!

DAWN'S LAMENT - It begins with the soft tune of "Under your Spell", but quickly turns into a soft guitar melody of Michelle Trachtenberg singing only 8 words. "Does anyone even notice? Does anybody even care?" Then it cuts off with a large screeching and intense music part, as Dawn is kidnapped. While not one of my favorite songs, and still only a minute and 20 seconds, it is still sweet.

DAWN'S BALLET - This song redeems the last. In the actual episode, Michelle Trachtenberg's dance moves fit in perfectly with this song, swaying with the lyrics. And while it doesn't have any words, is very intense and, eh, orchestraeey? (I doubt that's a word). It's rather hard to explain, but I definitely give this song a thumbs up!

WHAT YOU FEEL - I don't exactly know the name of the actor who played Sweets in this episode, the demon who causes the singing, but he does amazing in a jazz song sung to Dawn. His deep voice blends together perfectly with the song. Really amazing!

STANDING - Ah, Anthony Stewart Head. With him portraying Giles, in this song, he sings about how he believes that if Buffy is ever to grow up, he needs to leave. With lines like "I know I said that I'd be standing by your side," and "so you just lie there when you should be standing tall," this song was a tear-jerker (well, for me anyway). Definitely a beautiful song.

UNDER YOUR SPELL/STANDING (REPRISE) - Wow. What can I say about this song? Amber Benson and Anthony Head's deep and beautiful voices blend together absolutely perfectly! At this time in the series, both of their characters are contemplating the fact that they need to leave the ones they love: Willow and Buffy. "Wish I could stay." It starts off with Amber singing new lyrics to the tune of Under your Spell, but then melds into a mix of Standing and Under your Spell. Two thumbs up!

WALK THROUGH THE FIRE - Ah, the amazing and talented Sarah Michelle Gellar. All of the cast has really outdone themselves in this song. Sarah M. Gellar starts off singing softly with a guitar tune, which progresses powerfully. Then James Marsters cuts in, singing individually and then with Sweets. Then the Scooby Gang cuts in, then Buffy/Sarah Michelle, and then everyone together! It is just a mix of pure genius!

SOMETHING TO SING ABOUT - Again, it's the brilliant Sarah Michelle Gellar/Buffy who takes this song, singing her heart out to her friends, her enemies, and her sister. In the series, the Scooby Gang don't know Buffy was in heaven, and so in this song, she confesses that's where she was. Very powerful and sad, but pretty, with a little interruption from James Marsters at the end.

WHAT YOU FEEL (REPRISE) - Although this short song is only 46 seconds, it takes on the tune of What you Feel, with new lyrics of how Sweets promises that even though he lost, the gang will definitely feel like they lost too.

WHERE DO WE GO FROM HERE? - And so, on that note, this song is by the whole Scooby Gang, lamenting about how even though they battle evil together, they really don't know what is going to happen next. "Understand we'll go hand in hand but we'll walk alone in fear." The revelation about Buffy has rather shook them, and this is their last song (well, the Scooby's last song together). Powerful and very enjoyable. One of my favorite songs on the CD.

CODA - A very short snippet with Sarah Michelle Gellar (Buffy), and James Marsters (Spike). With only 41 seconds, Buffy sings to the tune of Walk through the Fire, and Spike sings to Rest in Peace. In the end, they meet up with the Scoobies singing "Where do we go from here?" Rather good, in my opinion.

END CREDITS (BROOM DANCE/GRR ARGH) - Basically, for the end credits, the brilliant Joss Whedon took Where do we go from Here, and but it into a jazzy, '50s, 34 second song. Really funny, and can easily bop your head to!

SOMETHING TO SING ABOUT (DEMO) - Hm, well, this might be the only song on the CD that I do not like. It's not like I hate it with a passion, but it is rather a waste. From what I've heard, it's Joss Whedon's wife singing a demo of Something to Sing About, originally sung by Sarah Michelle Gellar. It's not that she's a bad singer, it just sounds...wrong. That's my two cents.

SACRIFICE (FROM "THE GIFT") - Oh gosh, this song makes me cry every time. Or at least, makes me choke up. It's the suite from the end of Season 5, when Buffy sacrifices herself for Dawn (hence the name "Sacrifice"). It's very powerful and sad. It makes me remember that last few moments of the episode "The Gift." Yep, that episode always made me cry too. Very good addition to the CD!

SUITE FROM "HUSH": SILENT KNIGHT/FIRST KISS/ENTER THE GENTLEMEN/SCHISM - Woo, that's a long title. This is a very long song, I think it's just about 7 minutes. It basically takes all the music from the episode Hush from Season 4, and condenses it into one song. It's very creepy and haunting, but there's a lot of it, because that episode was basically all music. It's ok, but I don't like it as much as I like Sacrifice.

SUITE FROM "RESTLESS": WILLOW'S NIGHTMARE/FIRST RAGE/CHAIN OF ANCIENTS - This song is from the last episode of Season 4: Restless. I really love the first minute of it, but then it goes all congo drumish, and I don't really like it until the 3 minute mark, where Buffy is interacting with the First Slayer in the episode. That part is really haunting, and beautiful. All in all, I like this song better than Suite from Hush, but it's not my favorite.

Ok, I believe that is all the songs on this album. Basically, buy the CD. Amazing songs, and all of them are definitely worth your money!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 10, 2016
Who knew a tv cast untrained in singing could do it so well if forced to by the producer? Gosh the wonder of it all. this amazingly works very well in conveying the story and emotion of the piece- which is a pleasant surprise considering the time they had to practice and that there was dance involved as well. The music still holds up even if you aren't watching the visuals at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here