Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: DK Readers L2: Bugs Bugs Bugs!
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
5 star
75%
4 star
25%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$2.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 13, 2000
My sons enjoyed this book tremendously. I heard the word "cool" come out of thier mouths more than once. The pictures were very detailed. It was easy for my first grader to read.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2002
Predator insects star in the Eyewitness Reader Book, Bugs! Bugs! Bugs! by Jennifer Dussling. Following in the style of other Dorling Kindersley Eyewitness books, Bugs! Bugs! Bugs! overflows with clear, eye-catching, color photographs. The cover photograph may attract reluctant readers with its graphic photograph detailing a preying mantis chomping its teeth into a captured fly. Readers enter a world of extremely magnified, floating insect photographs on white backgrounds. The images depict insects attacking each other or standing alone.
Accompanying text discusses the insect pictured in the stilted, easy language of a level two reader. Plainly labeled as a level two book, Bugs! Bugs! Bugs! fits into the popular genre of Reading Level Books. Although the author has extensive writing experience with leveled readers, the subject of the text jumps from page to page without good transitions and creates a hard-to-follow jumble of words-which potentially creates a difficult reading environment for the intended reading audience of children just beginning to read alone. Informational boxes scattered throughout the pages add additional tidbits on insect behavior-also adding additional confusion. Due to the discordant text, the book would be better used as a picture book where children read a caption here and there.
As a leveled reader, the book includes a note for parents which explains the leveled reader system and recommends the book for children just beginning to read (between ages 3-8). As an eyewitness reader, Bugs! Bugs! Bugs! follows the leveled reader guidelines for level two: approximately 700 words; 70% pictures and 30% text. Sure to be popular due to the graphic cover and leveled reader status, the book would be a satisfactory addition to larger collections but should be skipped for smaller collections since better leveled readers already exist.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2014
I am a person who does not really like bugs and insects but my daughter is a big fan of them. This book is hers but I read it for her.
Great little book with great photos and some interesting new information about bugs. She loves it, I don't :o) but at least it is a small book, so photos are not as big as an elephant.
I would buy it again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2008
They're simply written non-fiction books. Most non-fiction books are written for older kids, or for younger kids only as read-alouds. A series of *factual* books that early readers can read to themselves?

Brilliant.

Not every kid wants fairies and talking dinosaurs all the time. Sometimes, they really just want plain facts.

I really like these books.

I do have one minor problem with them, and that is that the text is really not laid out in the best way for this stage of reader. It can be a little distracting, jumping from section to section, and the text-boxes aren't any help - the information they contain should really be integrated into the main text instead.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2013
I got this for my 6 year old daughter. It is at a good level for her to read, and she loves reading about bugs. Not only is it at a good level of reading for her, it is also very informative about bugs. She likes this book and giggles about the fact that it is about bugs. I like the fact that she can practice her reading while learning about bugs. It is not boring learning, it is really designed to be enjoyed by kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 20, 2008
Gross? Yes. Icky? Yes.

In fact, this is the most vivid collection of bugs I've seen since I was enrolled in a natural science class. I wouldn't recommend reading this before or after dinner.

However, the book is attracts my two young boys like moths to a porch light. They ask me all sorts of questions as to why one bug eats another or why a bug captures prey as a host for their eggs.

Yep, I told you it was gross.

If you have a young boy (or girl) who really like bugs, this is their book. Otherwise, look for some of the animal collections from the DK Readers collection or pick up a Berenstain Bears book. I've got Amazon reviews and Listmania lists of lots of other kids' books.

We also have DK Readers books on snakes, spiders and micro monsters (bacteria and other tiny creatures).

In summary, the DK Readers books are a great way to introduce natural science to young kids. Just be prepared for some vivid pictures if you are afraid of bugs yourself.

Check out my other Amazon.com reviews of kids' books. Here's other DK Readers science books that I recommend:

DK Readers: Slinky, Scaly Snakes (Level 2: Beginning to Read Alone) (Paperback)
DK Readers: Munching, Crunching, Sniffing, and Snooping (Level 2: Beginning to Read Alone) (Paperback)
DK Readers: The Secret Life of Trees (Level 2: Beginning to Read Alone) (Paperback)
DK Readers: Plants Bite Back! (Level 3: Reading Alone) (Paperback)
Micro Monsters: Life Under the Microscope (Paperback)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2010
When buying animal photo books for my 3-year-old son, it's really important that there are varied images, and the images are of good quality. I don't know if this is the best insect book (probably not), but it's a really good one. I would definitely recommend. There are a lot of nice close-ups and a lot of different insects. My son loves this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2011
Like Dussling's snake book "Bugs! Bugs! Bugs!" has outstanding photographs while the text reveals to budding naturalists and their parents the sheer weirdness of the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2013
From the super close-up on the cover right through the rest of this little book the pictures are remarkable. My nature obsessed five year old grandson loves this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2011
If you're an elementary teacher who uses the Teacher's College Workshop Model to teach reading and writing, this is one of the best books for non-fiction units.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse