Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning billions billions billions  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$13.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 799 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,306 reviews
on March 27, 2017
I choose this rating because the movie is good. What I like about the movie is that you journey inside the world of bugs in this epic of miniature proportions. Crawling with imaginative characters, hilarious laughs and colorful animation, Walt Disney Pictures' Presentation of A Pixar Animation Studios Film, A Bug's Life, will “delight everyone young, old or six-legged.” (People Magazine) In this 2-disc set you'll step behind the scenes for a look at the innovation and teamwork that resulted in this ingenious film. Loaded with bonus features including animation not seen in theaters, abandoned sequences and multiple surprises A Bug's Life Collector's Edition offers something for everyone from families to film lovers! What I dislike about the movie is that I wanted to see more of it. I would recommend this movie to other people.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2017
Got this for my Granddaughter for Christmas, the kids sent me a video of her reaction the first time she watched it which was very funny since her Mom is scared of any bug for no good reason. At first she was hesitant until the bugs did something funny (which they all do) and now she isn't afraid of bugs and looking for them *all* the time and when she sees one, she'll say what she thinks it is from the movie then start watching it. She's 2 1/2 yrs old so this is a good time to learn about all things in life.
Now both my Granddaughter and Daughter in Law are seeing "bugs" in a different way which is a good thing, didn't see that coming!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2011
When people name the Pixar movies, A Bug's Life gets unfairly overlooked all the time. I don't know why because ABL is a great film that further elevates Pixar status as the animation leader nowadays. Being their second feature, is amazing how the Pixar artists didn't repeat themselves and played it safe. No, they took a bold risk and made a completely different movie that turned out great. ABL is an achievement in storytelling with full-fledged characters, engaging story and plot, a spectacular score (second only to Up in my book) and of course breathtaking animation. The colors, the textures, everything is so detailed and crisp and is still impressive even when the film is over 10 years old.

In my opinion, no one should overlook ABL because you'd be missing a great movie (as usual with Pixar) and good quality entertainment for kids and adults.

Video & Audio
ABL is one of the best looking BD out there. Everything is so transluscent, so detailed, so crisp that you'll stare in awe scene after scene. The color of the ants, the leaves, the water, everything is completely clean and immaculate in this transfer. Simply terrific.

The 5.1 DTS-HD MA also is bombastic, clear without any distortions. Amazing.

Bonus Features:

The BD of ABL carries over everything from the 2-disc CE DVD which includes an audio-commenatry, the short Geri's Game (in HD), and making of featurettes such as Production, design, animation, story, and more. Also galleries and publicity material is included. New to this BD is a 'Filmmakers Roundtable' where the director, producer and screenwriter reminicence about the making of the film. Easily this is the best piece from the set that no one should miss. Also there is the first draft of the story which has a different main character and some other different story points. This is really interesting to watch. Last, the Silly Symphony 'The Grasshopper and the Ants' is included in HD.

A DVD copy is also included.

CLosing Thoughts:

ABL is one of Pixar's funniest, heart warming movies and of course being a Pixar film, is one of the best animated features out there. There is no reason you should avoid this film because is wonderful. Ther BD boasts terrific video & audio presentation alongside a healthy amount of bonus features old and new that makes the film even more interesting to watch. ABL on BD is very highly recommended!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2017
A Bug's Life is a great movie. It's fun, full of adventure, it's funny, and sad in some parts. I haven't seen this since I was a kid until now. It certainly brings back good memories. It has great storyline; very captivating. The Blu-ray quality is awesome. Very crisp and clear. You can see a lot more detail in it compared to before on VHS and DVD. I recommend this movie to anyone from childhood to adulthood and just as a family movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I love this movie as much as my grandchildren do. Really cute story with great animation - keeps us all spellbound, and has sparked an interest in real bugs that has blossomed into a hobby! The little ones can't get enough of books about bugs, and love to spot and identify bugs they find in the back yard or on hikes. It all started when they watched A Bug's Life.

There are a number of items that go well with this movie, to make it a truly educational experience that if so fun for kids. The book, The Ant and the Grasshopper by Amy Lowry Poole is fun, The Ant and the Grasshopper, a living ant farm, Fascinations Antworks Illuminated, or Bugopoly Late for the Sky Bug-Opoly. The possibilities are endless - just type the words "bugs and insects" into the Amazon Toys and Games search engine and you will find more goodies than you can imagine.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2011
Even though this movie is "old" - it looks spectacular on Blu-ray. It just goes to show how detailed Pixar is when they make a film.

So much detail is brought out on Blu-ray - you can see Hopper has one glazed over eye, the ants have textured faces, and the scenery just jumps out at you.

The sound is also great in 5.1 you can hear birds chirping in the background and during the underground scenes you can hear the wind & echo.

It is also a very underrated movie - I think it is very funny and not at all dated after all these "years."

It is in wide-screen so be warned. Also the DVD doesn't have a Spanish language track like the Blu-ray disk.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2016
I bought this movie because its a classic from my childhood. I wanted to share this with my nieces and nephews so they could enjoy something I loved growing up. All of my nieces and nephews enjoyed being able to relate to me and really enjoyed this DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2017
Great movie for the kids and not boring so will keep adults entertained as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2016
Must have for Disney Collection ! Wonderful movie one of my favorites and now my daughters as well ! she is 9 .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
Came wrapped in plastic. No scratches. Loved this movie as a kid so it will be good for my son.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.74

Need customer service? Click here