Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 70 reviews
on February 16, 2016
This is undoubtedly Yunus’ best and most useful book for it gives detailed advice to the interested reader how to create and run a social business. This doesn’t mean his first two books were simply anecdotic; they are fascinating reading and highly instructive as to how this man himself started out and landed one of the greatest social businesses so far created on the globe: Grameen Bank.

I think that without knowing ‘the story’ one would simply be short of believing that it can be done, that we can really erase poverty by the novel institution of ‘social business.’ In fact, this extraordinary man was facing multiple obstacles, and while some of them were to be expected, the main obstacle was always and repeatedly lack of faith, lack of insight that the poor are trustworthy loan takers, and business partners. He didn’t want to establish a bank, he started out with working with banks, standing as a guarantor, and increasingly the banks were unwilling to cooperate with the argument that the poor ‘do not qualify for loans.’ As there was no real cooperation thus with banks, he simply resorted to the ultimate solution: to start a bank all by himself.

I especially liked the Introduction of the book which is written in a very fluent style, outlining and anticipating the main ideas presented in the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2015
I usually do not take the time to rate and review any book.
I will invest my time in doing this now with this title, because I found it so much interesting and inspiring to people who wish to actively do something to improve the world we live in, to make it a fairer world and to cure poverty and other social diseases.
I have been a witness of the decay of capitalism in modern times. As an economist, I agree with Mr. Yunus that something is not working well in our "systems", there is poverty all around the world and crisis episodes, such as the one we are still getting out, only exacerbate this and other social problems.
Entrepreneurship has been a key element in our world's transformation. It brings together creativity, will, needs and dreamers to find a new way to address new or existing markets in a way actual enterprises do not do it. If you are a person who wish to start out a project, if you are involved right now in the Social Sector or if you just want to help improve the community you live in, this book is just meant to be yours.
In its pages, Mr. Yunus describes in depth his concept of "Social Business", the building brick of a new kind of capitalism, a more social, more human and more environmental friendly type."Social Capitalism" Theory will re-define the "Homo Economicus" person to a new agent which looks out for generating Social Value and not only individual proftis. His concept is a squared and sounding theory and, most amazingly, has proved to be working in the distant country of Bangladesh. More than communicating an economic theory with a new approach, he's trying to open our eyes and show us that poverty can be alleviated and, with it, so much human suffering.
At the end, it is all about Hope, of giving us back Hope that a better world can be created... and Bangadesh is leading the way, for the first time, a Developing Country is leading the race! A New World can be built, a world without poverty. What is needed is sharing new ideas and inspiring examples to move "dreamers" to take a more active role in their society's transformation. This books is those two things.
You will really enjoy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2017
This book was an assigned reading as part of a Social Business Course. An inspiring and Brilliant look on how we as humans can help other humans. Yunus paints a picture on how it can be done, and what has already been done with Social Business, not charity. Applying business world savvy to the solving of the worlds problems. Loved it, I will be also buying other books of Yunus that I am assigning myself to read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2016
Rigid and unforgiving in his views. Yunus is quick to point out what isn't "Social Business" but is less forth-coming with what is "Social Business".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2011
The entire premise is laid out clearly in one chapter, and repeated unmercifully for what seemed an eternity. There is just enough content to publish this as an informative and perhaps intellectual white paper, but no more than that. The rest is nothing more than ambling, rambling anecdotes; not so much to drive home a point, but to increase the page count. This is so far out of integrity that it calls into question the movement itself, which already raises questions that Muhammad never bothers to reconcile. If you have trouble falling asleep, a chapter a night will do the trick.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2012
Well worth the read for understanding the Grameen concept of building Social business and the capacity of social business to impact the world in addressing specific issues. Yunus shows the successes and failures and raises important questions for persons considering using business to address social issues. At the end of the day, the social business still must make a profit as it is a business. The book should be read critically as Yunus interjects European welfare governance as a desirable model not yet able to be developed in many countries, thus the need for social business. His world view some how separates government from the people rather than the American model of government of the people, by the people, for the people. However, Yunus rightly shows how business can be run for the benefit of the people, by the people. Yunus could make the book a better read by eliminating some broad assertions on governance and references to issues caused by [the myth of] global warming and instead write that social issues can be solved by social businesses, regardless of the cause or perceived cause. I highly recommend the book for practitioners as well as for people desiring to better understand how to create sustainability which by itself eliminates poverty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2012
One of the most useful books I have read and referred to on many occasions. As our cohort from the Workforce Development Advocate program of the California State University of Sacramento completes a long journey with this book Building Social Business: The new kind of capitalism that serves humanity's most pressing needs by Muhammad Yunus. Yunus is also the co-founder of Grameen Danone and Veolia. The cohort had shared this book by presenting the information given in each chapter.

This was one of the best ways to actually cover an entire book.
Yunus dreamed of helping others and to end poverty. He created a micro-credit system to help poor woman establish a business in Bangladesh. This system is also known as Social Business. Some of his stories that he shares in the book are from some amazing people that are all trying to make a living. This second chance has made that happen. This book covers all that is needed in order to start-up a small business.

I recommend this book to anyone wanting to start a business. It is also a great book to have in a business and marketing program at the high school level. I also recommend that any student looking for a community service project, entrepreneurship or social business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2010
Muhammad Yunus is perhaps world's best known anti-poverty crusader. His new book, Building Social Business, is a manifesto for those who care deeply about solving the society's "wicked" problems - poverty, illiteracy, malnutrition, global warming. It is a treasure trove of creative ideas, exciting business models, and plans on how to create sustainable solutions for the betterment of the world's poor, and slowly chip away at global poverty.

Listening to Yunus speak, as I recently did in Houston (he gave the commencement speech at Rice), and reading his new book, one gets the sense of being in the presence of a world class social entrepreneur. He has credibility that only comes from years of toiling in the field to perfect these business models. Peter Ducker would have been proud of Muhammad Yunus and his ideas and experiments in managing new businesses to solve the multi-faceted problems of poverty.

The book is a sequel to his earlier books - Banker to the Poor, published in 1998, and, Creating a World Without Poverty, published in 2007. The new book describes his work in the years since he received the Noble Prize in Peace in 2006. His success gives new meaning to what President Kennedy said, "One person can make a difference and every person should try."

The new book is a call for ordinary citizens, organizations, and nations to dream of a better world for all humans, and act proactively to fight poverty, and overcome other big challenges that threaten human progress and prosperity. Is taming global poverty an overly audacious goal? Can this goal be attained in our lifetime? How can we eliminate poverty and related problems that have bedeviled human society for centuries? The author is supremely optimistic that poverty can be overcome, and the book presents a blueprint for a new type of business organization (Social Business or SB) dedicated to improving the conditions of the poor in a profitable and sustainable way.

Munir Quddus

munirtasmina@sbcglobal.net
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2015
I love everything it says! It must be in every library and it's an amazing material for every university or institution teaching development or any course about Entrepreneurship ( it does not matter if the student is social or not social entrepreneur) the contend is from 35 years of experience working at the fields!. It's has the professor's principles which I believe it'll improve and balance the currently economic system if we apply them
It really teach and inspire. I highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2015
Great concepts, and well-explained with real-life examples. It's inspiring, and gives me hope for the future. Could we really eliminate poverty in a couple generations, as Yunus suggests? Yes, although I still doubt that we will.

Yunus' own story is incredible (only bits and pieces in this book, but it inspired me to dig deeper). It is really something for one man to create the means that lift millions of people out of poverty (hi Grameen bank). I hope more people read Yunus' books and more people adopt his ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse