Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning britboxlaunch britboxlaunch britboxlaunch  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 51 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 69 reviews
on August 4, 2014
Good place to start. I was having a hard time finding much information on the Internet for Zigbee introduction/explanation so I went ahead and ordered this book. The version of XCTU is out of date and the interface has completely changed, however the information is detailed enough to find everything you need. I'm sure it saved me a lot of time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2016
This is a fantastic book. It is so clearly written that I couldn't believe that I'd spent so much of my time and money trying to understand XBees before falling to finding this. I recommend this before any other book on building wireless networks. Money well spent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2017
A great book for getting started with using XBee modules for wireless sensor communication.

If you have experience prototyping with circuits and microcontrollers (Arduino), much of the info will be redundant. However, you can do as I did and follow along while replacing the simple projects with your personal, more complex projects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2011
Unlike other books, this book is intended for a user of ZigBee radios, NOT ZigBee protocol stack developers. This book does exactly what it was written to do, it provides a basis for using ZigBee (series 2) radios with a microcontroller. The book covers basic AT command setup (modem like commands used for the simplest of ZigBee communications) as well as API (direct comuter ZigBee commands) usage.

It does not assume any advanced knowledge of ZigBee or wireless communications. As a matter of fact it presents some inforamtion in an over simplified manner. This, however, is done with a great writting style and not all irritating to more advanced users (that is, you can skim the text for what you need).

I would highly recommand this book to anyone just starting out with ZigBee radios. I would also note that this book does not cover the series 1 radios, which are not series 2 compatible, though the same principals apply.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2017
Good basic information, but out of date concerning available hardware.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
This book came highly recommended for series 2 xbee modules. It's a good read and very through in explaining the fine details on these complicated modules. Be aware though, many people complain it is not good for the simpler xbee series 1 modules, this is true, as those modules are not nearly as complicated as series 2! Overall the book was a good reference that i would highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2015
Good for an introduction, but it lacks the good explanation the moment it gets to the chapter of using Processing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2016
Faludi is funny and clear, but doesn't treat the reader like a child. 10/10. Not new to Arduino but new to XBee/ZigBee, learned a lot from this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
This book excels at getting you started from scratch. Just following the first pages as an instruction manual will get you communicating, and better yet, with the way it is explained you actually 'know' what you are doing when it is done. I highly suggest it for beginners and for people who have a little more experience, but just want to be walked through adding ZigBee communication to their project (like me). Great resource.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2012
Building Wireless Sensor Networks: with ZigBee, XBee, Arduino, and ProcessingI have only tried about a half dozen of the setups and codes in this book. BUT they all have worked, and all have a good descriptions of how they work. I bought this book because I am designing and building a data acquisition system that will be spread out over vineyards and orchards for monitoring soil moisture conditions. This book will be essential to my success.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse