Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$3.99
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Minor shelf and reading wear. Fast shipping from Amazon!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

A Bus Of My Own Hardcover – September 16, 1992

4.3 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$1.08 $0.01

Popular & highly-rated in Biographies & Memoirs
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

When Lehrer was 12 years old, his family's inter-city bus company in Kansas went bankrupt, so as an adult the TV commentator and novelist has become an ardent collector of bus memorabilia, and he recently bought a 1946 bus. In this warm, unaffected autobiography tinged with the same irreverent humor that marks his One-Eyed Mack novels, Lehrer writes of life in the Marine Corps ("a ritual to manhood") and of his 10 years as a reporter in Dallas, which taught him that murderers, sexual deviants and embezzlers have faces and families. Assigned to investigate the assassination of John F. Kennedy for two years, he deems both the lone-assassin theory and current conspiracy theories full of holes. Lehrer tells of his slow recovery from a heart attack and bypass operation in 1983, which prompted him to give up smoking. He defends the MacNeil/ Lehrer NewsHour against critics who fault its "rabid evenhandedness" and nonjudgmental approach. Peppered with anecdotes, this self-portrait limns a likable fellow who takes a daily nap, devours Georges Simenon novels and enjoys "aimless driving" through America's small towns. Photos. First serial to Reader's Digest; BOMC alternate; Reader's Digest Condensed Books selection.
Copyright 1992 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From Library Journal

This is more a memoir than a formal autobiography, and its principal thrust is Lehrer's obsession with collecting artifacts of the nation's bus transportation systems, including a 1946 Flxible Clipper . Lehrer also deals with his near-fatal heart attack, and he offers anecdotal coverage of his journalistic career. Of prime interest, of course, is The MacNeil/Lehrer News Hour on PBS. However, it seems that the drama of the growth and survival of the program is never fully told, and coanchor Robert MacNeil comes off as one-dimensional. The book is salted throughout with mental asides, a technique that soon becomes annoying. A publisher's blurb says this volume is "in the tradition of Russell Baker and Charles Kuralt." That's hyperbole. Previewed in Prepub Alert, LJ 6/15/92.
- Chet Hagan, Berks Cty. P.L. System, Pa.
Copyright 1992 Reed Business Information, Inc.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 270 pages
  • Publisher: G. P. Putnam's Sons; 1st edition (September 16, 1992)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0399137653
  • ISBN-13: 978-0399137655
  • Product Dimensions: 0.8 x 6.2 x 9.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,419,398 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
This warm-hearted 1992 narrative by journalist Jim Lehrer (born 1934) is both personal and informative. Lehrer describes his upbringing in Kansas and then Texas, where his father ran a small bus company and when it failed switched to managing a bus terminal. Lehrer spent time in both college and the U.S. Marines, and seems more attached to the latter. Soon, he was working as a newspaperman for the Dallas Morning News and Times Herald. Later, Lehrer joined PBS, eventually teaming with Robin McNeil on the News Hour. Lehrer provides excellent insights into that program, plus electronic and print journalism, and he's unafraid to criticize bad reporting, journalistic arrogance, and his own shortcomings. Lehrer also reflects on his 1983 heart attack, which he blames on poor lifestyle (cigarettes, bad diet and lack of exercise). Throughout the narrative Lehrer describes his passion for intercity bus signs and memorabilia, particularly the 1946 Flexible Clipper bus (with air scoop) he pleasure drives on weekends.

This nicely readable book is hardly the pinnacle of journalistic memoirs. Still, it is a warm, humane, informative book by a very capable journalist.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Thank you for the fast delivery of my purchase. My wife has really enjoy reading "A Bus of My Own." She read it in 2 days.
tHANK YOU.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Jim Lehrer, a reporter who was in Dallas on 11/22/63, maintains that Secret Service SAIC of the Dallas office Forrest V. Sorrels ordered the bubbletop off JFK's limo and had regrets about it. Regrets aside, that decision was actually made by Secret Service agent Samuel A. Kinney (I spoke to both Sorrels and Kinney). That said, a decent book; worth a look.

Vince Palamara

Secret Service expert, History Channel, author of 2 books, in over 32 other author's books, etc.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse