Your Garage World Book Day STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Shop Popular Services Bosch Bosch Bosch  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 30 reviews
on September 4, 2012
HI,
I've read the book with a lot of expectation due to the work of Saul Kaplan and the BIF but I've the sensation that he repeat to much the exact sentences in different parts of the book, like copy paste. It is really ennnoying and give the sensation to be back in the book.
Also he present some ideas on cities as Innovation Hubs like something extraordinary (10 pages) and it is not. I was looking more for information about how it works and some successful case.

I have the feeling that the same content in half book could be enough.
Thanks.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2012
So, Saul Kaplan wrote this book about innovation. And I'm thinking, if we are so inclined to take it in, act on it, we could have the cities, the communities, the world, our souls crave.
Saul's book is a story of humanity, of being alive, of mindfulness, of spaces of permission.
As I read his words, a resonating repetition made the story incredibly alluring. It made me want to live it out.
Saul encourages us to play in the grey spaces between the silos, to notice and connect with unlikely suspects, to create spaces of freedom where people have nothing to prove. He tells us it is there we will see brilliance, ongoing innovation, aliveness.

He writes of when he first thought of innovation through the lens of a community:
"We must create a wholly new vision and experiment our way to its emergence. Tweaks won't do it.
The system change we need must be directly relevant to real people in real neighborhoods.
It is essential to get out more.
Cities should be living labs."

He writes of the freedom needed to experiment and presents connected adjacencies as just that type of platform:
"Serial entrepreneurs will tell you it's a waste of time writing a fancy business plan that details all of the components of a proposed new business model. What is contained within the initial plan will have little to no bearing on what business model will ultimately gain traction and work under real market conditions.
So agency leads are stuck continuing to do work they know isn't the most important or relevant work they could be doing.
Those working in the adjacencies must be empowered to borrow and flexibly deploy capabilities and technologies from inside and outside the organization in novel ways."

He encourages us to disrupt ourselves:
"Intrinsic motivation is what counts today and most companies are still focused on managing external motivation factors.
We must find a way to move beyond our cynicism.
We must play offense.
What are we waiting for?
If we don't learn how to reinvent ourselves we are at risk of being disrupted."

Saul Kaplan ..gracing us with a work of love. Imagine if we dared to take his lead, to act on it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2012
Business model design and innovation is a hugely important subject.

Business model talk is not new, but it's no longer focused mostly on analysis, but increasingly on the task of creating new business models or innovating existing ones.

Saul Kaplan's book joins the company of Alex Osterwalder's Business Model Generation and Steve Blank's The Startup Owner's Manual in an emerging literature that is laying the groundwork for the literacy of business designers.

Osterwalder's book did the very important work of establishing the business model as an object of design. Blank's new book is an overhaul and extension of his Four Steps to the Ephinany, and addresses the very practical concerns of startup entrepreneurs who are trying to find a business model.

Saul sets the stage by explaining how disruption is becoming a commonplace, innovation a necessity and the inadequacy of product and service innovation to drive the system level transformative change that industrial crises require. At the same time, the book respects bot the need for context and plain speaking.

Saul makes a hugely important contribution to the need for literacy about business models, their design and their role in transformative innovation. His chapter on Business Models 101 makes a vital contribution to how we understand what business models are for and why thinking about them and learning to collaborate on their design is so crucial.

What I admire most about this book, and about Saul, is its pushiness. We all know that incremental innovation works, but Saul challenges us to want more, expect more, demand more from our aspirations to innovate. Saul wants to see innovation become a contact sport and I hope that after reading this book more people will want to suit up!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
I run a $1.6 million non-profit that is currently reviewing our business model. This book's sections on non-profit uses of whatever model here are too vague to be of any use. This was a waste of my time and money.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2012
Saul Kaplan's book is a great read for anyone who is thinking about new ways of creating value and positive transformation through organizations, companies, agencies, networks-- or any entity that has a business model. And as he describes it, the definition of "business model" shouldn't be limited to a for-profit corporation's means of making money. Instead, a business model is "a story about how an organization creates, delivers and captures value." The simplicity and accessibility of this definition informs the whole book, making it a useful resource on how you can design your own business model, learn how to "be a disrupter instead of getting disrupted," and remain afloat while innovating your value proposition. By shifting the discussion to one of "value" rather than viability, profit, or financial investment, Saul gives us a roadmap to tackle large-scale societal challenges through business model design and innovation. And even while challenging us to innovate from within and push the boundaries of incremental innovation in favor of big thinking, he makes it all seem achievable and fun.

He does this through an emphasis on storytelling, which is a key successful element of this book, both in his framing of a business model as a story itself, and in his use of storytelling to make his argument clear to his reader. As our old systems disintegrate, and as we move forward through our increasingly connected world, storytelling is a crucial driver in how we reform and reintegrate our systems. Saul recognizes how the power of a good story helps to make innovation and experimentation with our livelihoods and societies feel like it's within our reach. And in allowing his readers to dig deep through storytelling on questions of "experimentation," "innovation," and disruption, he lets us understand how we can reach across silos to innovate our own models, and create better value, and live to tell the story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2013
The book has an interesting message - that Business models no longer last forever and hence should be redeveloped continuously. However, this message is not really new. What annoyed me is that the book is extremely repetitive - you could have conveyed the same content in a short booklet of 50 pages or so. Given the lack of real content, the price is a rip-off, and it is absurd that the kindle edition costs more than the hardcover edition. So better spend your money elsewhere, for example on "The Lean Startup" by Eric Ries (which does not cover exactly the same topic, but with a little bit of thinking you will get the picture).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2014
great book - definitely inspiring through a blend of stories and facts. Challenged to not only continue in the natural innovation of myself...but to work to include those around me, to discover fellow innovators everywhere, and to see how we might collaborate to make a difference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2013
Just not well written and the author adds a lot of useless language that doesn't help you generate ideas as you read (there's a lot of clutter language).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
This is an extraordinary read. I have not been this jazzed in a very long time. It is as if that annoying itch has finally been scratched. Now I can point at all the pieces of creativity joined with innovation and say “I am not alone”.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
Tweaking is not enough

Struggling with innovation
At the moment we are working with a number of clients that are struggling with innovation. The programmes they introduced don't work, the idea box stays barren and the cynics have taken over the asylum.

Lessons
The Business Model Innovation Factory (BMIF) is currently the book we use to explain and show why innovation does not work. Why this book and what can you learn from it?

Fundamental innovation
First of all it takes a fundamental approach to innovation, using the business model at its core. The story of how value is created, delivered and captured. The problem your client is trying to solve, the network of capabilities in your company and how you capture that value.

You will be Netflixed
The premise of the book is that every business model can and will be "Netflixed". Blockbuster, HMV, Sony, Kodak have all seen their business model been destroyed. All business models are vulnerable. Your business model will be destroyed too.

Tweaking is not enough
Tweaking is not enough. Incremental change is not enough. Innovation in the context of your current business model is not enough. You have to go radical. Straight from "The innovators dilemma". You need to "Netflix" (as a verb) your own business model.

Why does innovation not work for most companies?
BMIF gives a few reasons why innovation does not work. Starting with the word "innovation" itself. The word is polluted and means to many things to too may people.
* It is the death by 1000 initiatives.
* It is because the CEO is not really behind it.
* It is because the IT legacy systems.
* It is because cannibalisation is not allowed (which is what being "Netflixed is all about).
* It is about shooting the mavericks and renegades.
* It is because the ROI on innovation is assesses based on the current business model.
* It is because design thinking is not part of the approach.
* It is because experimenting in the real world is not allowed.

Refurbishing your house
The analogy used is the one of builders refurbishing your house. People who have done that and decided to stay in the house with the builders, know it is near impossible. You are camping in the kitchen, the heat does not work, the internet is down, and it is full disruption. The same goes for innovation.

Making innovation work in your organisation
To make innovation work it needs the full and unequivocal support from the CEO and the senior management team. It needs to be kept independent from line managers. It needs to be a separate business unit (the Amazon Kindle as a shining example on how that can work), reporting directly into the CEO. The unit will need to ignore the current business model, ignore the legacy systems and hang out and collaborate on the edges of the silo's, disciplines and sectors.

Staffed by designers, external people as well as internal staff. With passion and with a narrative that is compelling. Willing to experiment and learn in the real world. Operating as a lean start up.

Be like Tarzan
In between this very solid advice the book has a pop at the education system, business planning and the need to look at the your own individual business model. The same way business life cycles are speeding up, so are career life cycles. During your career, you will need to reinvent yourself regularly. Jumping as a Tarzan from learning curve to learning curve.

All loin cloth jokes welcome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse