Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Business Valuation For Dummies
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 23, 2013
There's no exact value that you can put on a business. Instead of explicitly stating that, this book dances around real valuation techniques and instead suggests enlisting professional help at just about every turn.

Warren Buffet says, "Price is what you pay, value is what you get." Owners will try to overvalue their business, buyers will try to under pay for it.

The book would have been better off as a collection of valuation examples. The two examples in the book are anecdotal and lament the lack of a professional valuation expert. There's not a lot of math in the book, and the math that is in it isn't served by any hard examples.

Seriously, I learned more in five minutes on YouTube than I did reading this entire book.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2009
I am an M&A professional so valuations are key in my business. As of recently (August 09), I now have a decent book that I can hand out to my interns as an introduction. I've read many Valuation books over the years and this is the best intro I've seen to date. Not that some of the others were bad, rather, this one is really really good. Good show! Five well deserved stars!!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2013
This book seems over obsessed with Divorce. While divorce is a reason one would want to do a business evaluation, it does not merit more than a paragraph or two. I certainly don't expect a detailed discussion of prenuptial and post nuptial agreements in a book on Business Valuation. Also, the advice to seek expert counsel was rampant through the book, we get it already. There were only two chapters worth reading which contained information on financial ratios. The rest was garbage.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2012
Nice quick start for subject. Wish there had been a template or sample valuation, model, or discounted cash flow to follow.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2010
It's well written for both beginners and professionals, and let's you have a good understanding on the steps needed for a comprehensive business valuation, whether you are a seller, a buyer or an advisor.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2014
The dummy book gives more information that the more expensive hard bound valuation books.
It is written in language the even my clients can understand. It should be required reading
for all business majors, since nothing practical is being taught in today's Marxist curriculum.
It has more rule of thumbs than I have fingers and toes. It has valuation formulas for all the common
business classifications.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2015
Ok as very general introduction into the subject matter. I realize it's a for dummies book, and I've read several of them before, but I feel a little more in depth information would have been vary helpful. Maybe super dummies would like this, but regular dummies like myself could've used more useful info.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2014
The book Business Valuation for Dummies is a very basic introduction to the world of business valuation. It feels like more of an overview of what to look out for or situations that cause a need for valuation. A few data ratios are given on what to look out for but the rest just recommends to hire a professional.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2016
Easy to read and understand book that provided the basics and helped clarify questions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2015
have not finished it yet so can't make an official rating at this time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse