Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
173
The Who By Numbers (Remastered)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$7.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on January 16, 2018
Very fond of How Many Friends. There is no song that I like the least. What can I say except that I'm a dyed-in-the-wool WHO fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 30, 2017
Sounds really nice. PT was suffering through writer's block, so this was everything he had. 'However Much I Booze' seems autobiographical after reading 'Who I am.' Only thing I didn't like was producer connected 'They Are All in Love' to 'Blue, Red and Grey.' Annoying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 3, 2017
Classic Album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 1, 2015
One of the Who's best but then I am a little prejudice as I am a huge Who fan.Great tunes especialy the double entendre Squeeze Box and Slip Kid
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 9, 2017
wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 4, 2014
Vintage Who. Your collection is not complete without it. Cool album cover, too. Roger's vocals are in rare form on this on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 6, 2017
The Who played in South America for the first time in September this year here in São Paulo. After 42 years, the same emotions arise when listening and singing together with them - Long Live The Who!!! - never wishing to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 7, 2008
After the brilliance that was "Tommy", "Who's Next" and "Quadrophenia" there had to come a let down. That let down would be The Who's mid decade album "By Numbers". As a stand alone disc, this one is actually quite good, but compared to the band's previous catalogue it is not really in the same league. The album produced a hit single with "Squeeze Box" which I guess is ok for a novelty song, but pales in comparison to many of the band's other singles. The best songs on the album deal with Pete Townshend's realization that he is no longer a kid and having to deal with mid life events. "However Much I Booze", "Dreaming From The Waist", and "They Are All In Love" are good examples. The often underrated John Entwistle contributes one of the better tracks in "Success Story". Overall this is a good Who album, but it has the unfortunate task of following three all time classics, so in comparison the album is a slight step down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 5, 2014
For how big a Who fan I am, this album had been a "sleeper" that I put off buying for a long time. Worth the wait. First song, "Slip Kid". Great hook, and Pete's guitar riffs, perfect. Another "perfect' riff is from the song "Success Story." Most of you would remember that song from the movie "The Kids Are Aliright", the segment where John Entwhistle shoots up his gold records. Listening to the lyrics, that is the perfect song for that segment. And it never occurred to me Pete is using a 12 string guitar!

Another favorite is "How Many Friends" (have I really got). A good "story lyric" by Pete. And a song I can really relate to.

The extras add to it all. "Squeezebox" live, has Keith doing some funny banter in the beginning of the song. I love it when Keith would do that. Really a good album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 4, 2015
One of The Who's' best! Rates right up there with Who's Next! Very personal lyrics, amazing musicianship by all members. Great Entwistle number!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse