Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 20 reviews
on September 23, 2004
Pages 17 to 24 are a so called "Illustrated Glossary" and are worth buying the book for. The classic rules of space and depth and planes are explained in most of their complexity. Then he discusses many many examples of Cezanne's work and how they use the principles of space, planes, and depth. A masterpiece and extensive in its scope. If you really want this type of abstract picture understanding you will not be disappointed. Very highly recommended.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2015
Very descriptive, I can see what Cezzanne did. This book shows the how and why of numerous works. You will learn how he used perspective and reversed perspective. His paintings are shown along with pictures of the actual subjects, so you can see how he rearranged them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2011
This book is for anyone wanting/needing to know how Cezanne came up with his unique compositions. His methods are examined. His thoughts that were conducted to others throught letters and recall are examined. There is a lot of controversy over Cezanne's use of perspective. The author has photographed the exact locations of Cezanne's paintings and made diagrams with explanations for the reader to know exactly how the artist worked. I found this book to be very interesting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2015
A great study and a way to understand dynamic composition
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2002
This book is a must read not only for students of Cezanne and Cubism, but for anyone who would like to understand how a composition is put together. By comparing photographs of subjects painted by Cezanne, to the paintings created, one can see what interested the master in his own work. Cezanne's classic remark about Monet ("He is only an eye. But what an eye!")is clearly relevant here: Cezanne is not only an eye function, but a meditation on the process of visual construction per se. A stimulating and important book.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2015
Classic text on composition. Excellent examples of Cezanne's work. Highly useful for me as I try to develop ideas for my own still-lifes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2016
reat nice book, quality is very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2014
This is a thorough analysis of how Cezanne approached his subjects. Lucidly written with step by step illustrations and insights that were not obvious viewing the finished product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
Good book with reasonable price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
I have indicated the degree to which I have appreciated this purchase and how it his been of value to me. Hope you have the same experience that I did and that it will be beneficial to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse