Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 18 reviews
on November 9, 2016
Poor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2003
Leading off in this well produced documentary of the war in Iraq, the issues of military force and the legalities of such are examined first. The subject of weapons of mass destruction are touched upon with added debate over reservations of U.S. action by the United Nations security council and foreign nations. This basically sets the tone for what is to come.
Moving forward, preparations for war itself and use of military strategies and technology demonstrate the planning and resolve that the United States employed to achieve its mission.
CNN and its front line correspondents then place you directly in the action as they report from the virtual center of the conflict traveling with ground forces. Many scenes of battle and conflict are shown to include skirmishes with Iraqi paramilitary forces, encounters with unconventional warfare, military operations in urban terrain (M.O.U.T.), and the effects of the elements on military operations.
Following the war itself and the occupation of Baghdad, issues are analyzed as to the uncertainties of U.S. forces remaining in Iraq for an extended period and complications that may result from this. Interviews with analysts, reporters, military personnel, and others offer intriguing points of views and speculation on the often debated subject of American intervention in Iraq.
War in Iraq - The Road to Baghdad is no doubt a comprehensive, interesting, and compelling production in and of itself. At just 90 minutes long, it is not all-encompassing but it does stand well on its own in examining the early, middle, and end stages of the entire affair.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2003
However, if you are looking for a factual documentary try the National Geographics "21 Days to Baghdad" or wait for a Foxnews release. I was very disappointed with this CNN one. Totally politically motivated rather than reporting the real story. At least the National Geographics one provides a balanced view - plus it has better material. This one went in my garbage can. I should have listened to the other reviews. I'm serious, don't buy it or you will be disappointed. Don't say I didn't warn you!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2003
I bought this as a keepsake for my son who served in the USMC during the War for Iraqi Liberation, Oorah! We watched it together tonight, and neither of us can believe it was even the same war. This "documentary" focuses on the damage done to innocent Iraqi civilians by the evil American aggressors, and the inept "go it alone" cowboy mentality of the Bush administation. This account will give you the impression that the war was a colossal failure, not the new standard for 21st century combat that will be studied by military historians for years to come.
Save your money and wait for the "fair and balanced" version of this war. Unless you preferred the Al-Jazeera version of events during the war, you will be disappointed and a bit angry with this.
33 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2004
This review is just as much response to the one-star reviews as it is my own personal review.
First of all, I would consider this to be a very neutral look at the war. Since the two main reasons for going to war (WMD & Al Qaeda) have been disproven, this release can only be seen as a neutral look strictly at the military aspects of the war. I'm not sure what the right-wingers and fox viewers were expecting, but the DVD shows that the U.S. military had a more or less easy go of it in Iraq. If all the release is supposed to do is look at the military aspect of the war, then this dvd does that. It is one-sided and comes from only an American perspective, but it covered what it was supposed to.
For those of you who think CNN is "liberal," I would say that just because CNN would seem to favor Democrats (in a less extreme version of how fox favors Republicans) does not make them "liberal." Democrats have been a lot of things the last 25 years...cowardly, accomodating, and spineless...but "liberal" is certainly not a label the Democrats can wear these days.
And for my friend that complained about all the footage of injured or dead Iraqis: Just because you'd rather not hear about them (for whatever reason) does not mean they cease to exist.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2011
This will only give you a picture of what happened the first 5 months or so. I think its a great piece to have in you collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2011
Being a big Desertstorm 'fan', I also bought this video, because although this war can't compare to Desertstorm, I was expecting some nice images. That was true, but the whole war and the way it is presented was, in hindsight, a bit too much propaganda style and not really what I was hoping for. If you think the 2003 Iraq war was 'cool', this is great I guess. But as a Desertstorm 'fan', it was dissappointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2003
If you are looking for anti-American propaganda, you found it. If you are looking for an accurate documentary, look elsewhere. National Geographic has a good one or wait for one from Foxnews. If you love America, don't buy this. You will be sorry!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2003
This is the definitive account of the removal of an dictator and the struggles of the coalition of the willing to free the people of Iraq.An outstanding piece with one of the highest production values I have seen, A must own DVD.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here