Your Garage World Book Day STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Shop Popular Services Bosch Bosch Bosch  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Platform: PC Download|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:$39.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 390 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 670 reviews
on January 14, 2017
Infinite Warfare just came out, and while that game is great, it lacks what COD had before Ghosts came around. Ghosts started a bland era of COD games- still great shooters but lack the initial passion that we had from COD1 up until BO2. I'm not saying the studios don't work hard on them (their work shows in the fantastic control, great production values and good plots) but they feel soulless now- "get the next one out! Make it futuristic again!". Again, they're still great games but you get my point. Going back to Black Ops, it holds up extremely well almost 7 years (holy shoot...) later. Three game modes- Campagin, MP and Zombies, and each is executed in what feels like flawless execution, though this review is going to go over the campaign.

BO's campaign is still the most interesting thing about the game. You play as a Black Ops assassin named Alex Mason through a series of flashbacks during a torture-interrogation by Unknown indivuals. The interrogators are seeking out Mason's apparent knowledge of "The Numbers", which Mason cannot remember. You experience the interrogations from Mason's POV, as he's reminded of events leading up to where he is now, and these flashbacks are where the gameplay takes place.

BO has the second best story of the series, after BO2- all of the main characters stand out from each other and are all wicked likable, thanks to the great writing and superb performances by the cast, including Sam Worthington as Mason, Gary Oldman as Reznov(reprising his role from WAW) and James C. Burns as Woods. Even Ice Cube does a good job as Bowman.

As with every COD, the missions are loaded with cinematic explosive set pieces. The series has been called the Micheal Bay of video games and that's not wrong- explosions at every corner, constant gunfire and the most impossible narrow escapes. The action is balanced and well paced thanks to the cutscenes and a few quieter stealthy sections. There are some gameplay variations as you get two helicopter sections, a boat section and a short RTS style section in one mission, but most of the the time will be spent on the ground with guns in hand. Plus it's a globe trotting adventure- you'll be going from Cube to a Russian labor camp to Vietnam to the rooftops of Kowloon to Soviet Missle silos etc. Each location looks amazing and the level design stays interesting throughout. The shooting action can get mind numbing a few times but thankfully the many cutscenes, above mentioned stealth and vehicle sections as well as the varied and great level design keeps the game from getting boring.

You have a large variety of weapons from the usual AK47 and M16 to the lesser used FAL and PM63. Each gun looks and sounds fantastic plus the shooting action itself is very satisfying. The gore and violence isn't as brutal as WAW but it's still a really violent game, especially during the Vietnam missions. The soundtrack also adds a lot to the game, including a few hit songs of the time as well as good original soundtrack as the background to your gameplay.

My complaints are basically the same I have with all COD games- unskippable in game cutscenes. The interrogation scenes were done with the game engine, and sometimes skipping them doesn't work. You can always skip the pre rendered video cutscenes but before and after a mission starts, you'll get first person dialogue and actions to start off the level before you get control. Sure when you first play you'll want to see them, but when you're replaying the missions for fun or on different difficulties it's annoying having to sit there and watch. They're super well motion captured and choreographed but being forced to view them even after beating the game is annoying. My other complaint is, as mentioned above, it can get mind numbing at times. I mean that may have been the intent, but it can take you out of the game for a sec. My last complaint is the main villain, who is pretty bland and underdeveloped. He's a stereotypical rogue Russian general from countless 80s action thrillers. He's said to be a horrible person, and is said to have powerful influence but when he's on screen he doesn't really do anything memorable to live up to his title as main villain. He does horrible stuff but he seems more evil off screen. Thankfully this was fixed in BO2, which definitely has the best villain of the series.

Overall, this is still one of the best of the series after all these years. Zombies is wicked fun and the multiplayer is great, giving the game what feels like endless replay value, but the single player is what the game is most well known for. Great gameplay, graphics, performances, story, level design and variety. BO2 did improve and is the better single player experience, but BO1 still set the groundwork for it. If you just want a great single player FPS experience, get this game. If you want great multiplayer and a game full of varied game modes and tons of replayability, et this game.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2017
DO NOT BUY USED COPY. Requires internet connection to be activated. I bought a use COPY and when time to punch cdkey in. The game key is already in use on steam. Which is fine because I wanted to play single player anyways. Guess what? It won't install at all. This is the worse experience of buying a Call of Duty disc for PC. If all future COD is this way will never buy from the creators. Not worth the coasters. Render useless!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
Excellent !
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2017
O.K. do not like it you play people on line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2017
is a good game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2010
I wish, oh boy do I wish, that there was a way to flag this review with 0 stars. Yes. It sucks that much.

As a computer programmer, I know how important it is to make a first impression with your project. Whoever approved this game for launch should be fire immediately. I mean that.

The lagging. The pausing. The crashing. The . . everything technical about this game just sucks. I'm at a complete loss at how this game was approved for release. Maybe after one or two patches have been released it may be playable, but now, no way.

Save your money and wait. If you don't believe me, Google "call of duty black ops PC issues" and be prepared to read a lot.
1010 comments| 229 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2010
Dont waste your money!!!
Modern Warfare 2 was a win, but this is NOT.

If you are fortunate enough to get on a server,
you might be able to play...seriously!!

When you try to connect to a server the game freezes,
and may even crash your computer!!

If it does start, there is a lot of lag, and
you will not be able to control the mouse or your keyboard.

You are guaranteed to stop playing from frustration!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The maps and the models are beautiful, but the game play is a pure DISASTER!

Look for patch after patch to fix this expensive OVER-RATED GAME.
With all the hype, you would think it would have been better tested before its release.

1 star, and I am being generous
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2010
Simple review folks. This game & the dedicated servers were released way too soon.

It simply isn't ready to play. They lied.

Save your money and WAIT for better reports. Yes, it will get fixed in the future, maybe, but this week, it is laggy, the dedicated servers are crashing & there are numerous features not working.

Everyone is unhappy with it, communication from support are inadequate.

For those of you who feel the need to defend this product, I say "Really? Why?" Give me the upside!
33 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2010
Call of Duty: Black Ops is a poor attempt to keep up with Modern Warfare 2. While the graphics are quite nice they far from make up from the massive amount of problems with the rest of the game. If you're looking to buy this for PC I would highly recommend not wasting your money until Treyarch learns how to properly make a good game.

For starters the multiplayer system is very very poorly designed. It is far from a polished product like MW2 or other games of this caliber. The menu system is extremely clunky and has far to many steps for simple things such as joining a game, adding friends, choosing game types, etc. All of which MW2 made extremely simple. The server browser is a nice option but shouldn't be the only option. There is an option to join a Ranked game but it randomly chucks you into whatever if feels like. The wager match option is the same way, it gives you zero control as to what wager game type you play. As a result you have to deal with the server browser and search for a specific game type.

The friends systems is a huge flop as well. Not only are there too many steps for something that should be extremely simple, but there is no way to create a party. So you have to individually invite all of your friends onto the server.

Gameplay itself in multiplayer is extremely laggy, even with their latest patch which was supposed to sort the lag issues. I can't even properly review the multiplayer experience as every game has lagged so hard I've spent more time staring at a stalled screen than fighting.

Even on the art side there is plenty to complain about. While the models and environments are nice, the UI and menus look like garbage. As an artist I can safely say I would be embarrassed to have my name on a product like this.

Simply put, the multiplayer experience was a huge waste of time. Considering Black Ops is a $60.00 game, with a 6 hour single player the multiplayer is what you're paying for. With that in mind, after TRYING to play the multiplayer, you leave the game feeling as though Treyarch stole your money for an exceptionally crappy game. You might as well spend your money elsewhere as this game is a not worth $20.00.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2011
This game is not worth its current price. Far less, in fact.

Beware its fatal flaw - it will lag painfully on computers and despite many patches from Treyarch and plenty of optimizing methods to increase FPS in multiplayer, the game will still freeze frequently.

The single player is palatable for a first time runthrough, but it's far from something you'll keep in your long-term memory. And although the game has been coming out with more map packs and whatnot, it really doesn't mean anything if you lag too much to play it.

Even the weapons weren't enough to interest me. I got this game thinking that the loadout selection and customization would be varied enough to keep me playing for ages, without the addition of cumulative killstreaking a la MW2. Well, I may as well be playing airsoft than Black Ops. The guns sound like they run on electric batteries and lack that power that fuels our testosterone-driven, primal manliness. Or estrogen-driven primal womanliness if you're female. Hmm, what am I saying?

Anyway, don't get this game, especially not now. You have much better FPSes to look forward to in the near future. Don't believe me? Google for them. They will blow your mind. Black Ops will not blow your mind.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 51 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here