Buying Options

Kindle Price: $7.99

Save $2.00 (20%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Candymakers by [Wendy Mass]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Candymakers Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 977 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$7.99

Help their budget go farther
Next 2 for you in this series See full series
Total Price: $15.98
By clicking on the above button, you agree to Amazon's Kindle Store Terms of Use


From the Publisher

The Candymakers and the Great Chocolate Chase Space Taxi: Archie Takes Flight Pi in the Sky Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life Every Soul a Star A Mango-Shaped Space
The Candymakers and the Great Chocolate Chase Space Taxi: Archie Takes Flight Pi in the Sky Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life Every Soul a Star A Mango-Shaped Space
Check out more fascinating stories from Wendy Mass! The action-packed sequel to the bestselling novel The Candymakers embarks on a journey full of treasures, secret worlds, and candy. Archie's dad drives a taxi through space! With the help of a cat named Pockets, Archie and his dad fight crime across the universe. From the author of The Candymakers comes a world-hopping tale that takes readers deep into the mysteries of time and space. In one month Jeremy Fink will turn thirteen. But does he have what it takes to be a teenager? Three distinct voices tell a story about strangers coming together, unlikely friendships, and finding one's place in the universe. An award-winning book for fans of Wonder and Counting by Sevens about a girl with synesthesia who must try to appreciate her gift.

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Wendy Mass is the award-winning author of several novels, including A Mango-Shaped Place, Leap Day, Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life, Heaven Looks a Lot like a Mall, Every Soul a Star, The Candymakers, 11 Birthdays, Finally, and the Twice upon a Time series. She lives with her family in New Jersey.

--This text refers to the audioCD edition.

From School Library Journal

Gr 4-8–Children running amok in a candy factory, immortalized by Roald Dahl, is one story line that bears repeating. At the Life Is Sweet factory, four 12-year-olds gather to create new goodies for the annual Confectionery Association Conference. Logan, the Candymaker's son, dreams of winning his family's respect. Miles's parents hope the experience will help him forget a tragic accident he couldn't prevent. Daisy is fascinated by the factory, but for what reason? And Philip scribbles in his secret notebook, determined to win at all costs. When the factory's secret ingredient is stolen, the children find a common purpose: to foil the plot by creating the best candy ever. The tidy conclusion has a few contrivances, but none that will bother children. Mass has crafted a solid mystery dipped in sweet candy-making details. Character development moves a lengthy story forward in smooth increments. As each child's story emerges, the mystery becomes one bit clearer, making this a real page-turner. The characters are intricate, flawed heroes with whom readers will identify. The book's subtle message of teamwork over greed and growth through friendship will resonate with readers and educators alike. A magical setting filled with conveyor belts, chocolate jungles, and beehives makes it clear what the youngsters are attempting to save. Give this mouthwatering confection to children who like Trenton Stewart's The Mysterious Benedict Society (Little, Brown, 2007) and other quirky mysteries.–Caitlin Augusta, Stratford Library Association, CTα(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0043D2ETU
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (October 5, 2010)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ October 5, 2010
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1710 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 446 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 977 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Wendy Mass is the author of 29 books for young readers including A Mango-Shaped Space; Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life; the Willow Falls and Space Taxi series; and "Bob" co-written with Rebecca Stead (author of When you Reach Me).

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
977 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 13, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on May 11, 2011
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on January 11, 2013
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on April 25, 2013
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

sandra flanagan
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on February 17, 2019
J. Obee
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting approach to a story
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on December 25, 2019
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars A great family read full of surprises.
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on March 15, 2013
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
KESARI
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading 15 times
Reviewed in India 🇮🇳 on May 30, 2020
Pamela
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Reviewed in Australia 🇦🇺 on September 4, 2014
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?