Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 20 reviews
on December 30, 2014
Nice book - lovely pictures - only thing is that you have to 'blow' up the patterns, haven't felt like doing that yet - so I haven't made anything yet - have had the book for a while
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
Such fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2012
I ordered both of the books whose titles are "Canine Couture" at the same time (the other one is by Gillum and at the moment costs $2 more than this one), and I'm glad to have them both for different reasons. If you're looking primarily for dog coats though, the other one will suit your needs better. It also is more geared for sewers will less experience; this book, in my opinion, is intended for quite experienced sewers, at least for the dog coats. They have tailored touches--collars, pockets, hats, and fitted designs that are fairly tricky to sew. The easiest of the dog coats is probably the raincoat, which is very nice. I have the impression that many of the other projects were added in order to give beginning sewers something that they can make--dog toys, an easy mat that folds for travel, a leash, and several appliqued items such as a Christmas stocking and a place mat. There is also one lovely sweater for knitters--really nice for either a male or female dog, and not a difficult pattern either.

My reason for giving it only 3 stars is that I think the designs and patterns are too difficult for average sewers, and even if you're more advanced, you need to be willing to spend lots of time on them. Also, the claim that there are 25 projects may be true, but there are relatively few dog coats; most of the projects are other items like toys, a tote bag, etc. I think the other book called "Canine Couture" (by Gillum) is in fact a better buy, if you want only one of them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
Great ideas and very cute. Diverse projects for lots of different types of dogs and skill levels. Great pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2014
Iexpected more from this book for the price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2015
Not what I thought there would be but did give me ideas to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2014
Great patterns for my dogs. Looking forward to making a houndstooth cap for my bassets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2015
Good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2011
I was rather disappointed with this book. I was looking for a book with patterns and directions for making dog coats and dresses. This book has six coats that come from one pattern, a bath robe and a t-shirt. The rest of the book is acessories such as toys, bandanas, etc. The biggest disappointment was that the patterns are at the back of the book and are on five pages. They have to be greatly enlarged to be useful. With a computer printer, this can be done, but will take some time to get them to fit your dog. For the price of the book, I was quite disappointed. It has some cute ideas, but would not be my first choice for "fashion" patterns and instructions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2015
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse