Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Def Leppard All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon harrypotter harrypotter harrypotter  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now

Canon EOS Rebel SL1 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only)
Color: Black|Style: Body Only|Configuration: Base|Change
Price:$499.95+ Free shipping


on January 12, 2014
Its been a few years since I owned a Rebel. In 2004 I purchased the original Rebel 300D, it was my first digital SLR. I purchased it leaving my well loved film Minolta Maxxum 8000i behind. Since that first original Rebel which I later gave to a friend, I have purchased three (3) additional Canon camera bodies in the last 3 years. A Canon 40D, a Canon 7D, and my current pro body and first full-frame, the 5D Mark III. Unfortunately magnesium alloy bodies can get very heavy and too big and noticeable for just casual shooting. I wanted a smaller camera that I can have with me all the time but it seems like Sony has the best mirror-less camera as of the date of this writing (1/11/2014. The Sony 7r would mean not only buying an expensive new body, but new lenses. I'm to heavily invested in Canon L and prime lenses today.

Along comes this little gem, the SL1 or 100D. It is not mirror-less, and if you connect a large lens it loses its size advantage quickly but with a smaller lens, you essentially have a mini t5i that you can fit into a small backpack and have with you all the time with very little or no compromises. Amazon's pricing during the 2013 Christmas holiday season made it even more irresistible -- a downright steal. It has most of the features its bigger siblings in the Canon EOS lineup has with wonderful full-time hybrid CMOS autofocus during video mode shooting. It has Multi-frame noise reduction, high resolution rear touch screen, shoots full HD 1080p at 30 fps, most of its intelligent and creative modes allow shooting in RAW, which If I remember correctly was not the case with earlier Rebel cameras; perfect for handing the camera off to friends and relatives to take a picture of you but yet still have some control over the exposure when you do, and have a high quality CR2 raw file for further editing in Photoshop later. It has amazing low light capability, up to ISO 25600, 14-bit per channel with highlight controls. This little camera can also serve as a second camera because its compatible with all Canon's EOS lenses. It has some creative filters, although the miniature effect is the only one I like, especially in video mode. Some of the special effects can be added later after the photograph has been taken and it will allow you to apply the effect on a copy, rather than the original photograph so you will have both the original photo and one with the special effect. This little camera has built-in lens aberration correction and in camera cropping just like its bigger brothers do and a programmable auto focus system like other Canon's do too. You can also program the asterisk button on the rear to detach auto focus from shutter release if you like this. I have this setup on my Canon 5D Mark 3 and after getting use to it, find it more useful than having AF and Shutter on a single button. It has a mirror lockup to reduce vibration with larger telephoto lenses. It has four metering modes, evaluative, partial, spot and center-weight metering modes. Full data display with RGB or combined histograms, Auto Lighting Optimizer, in camera HDR (3 frames) , touch screen LCD display that let you skip, zoom in or out with your fingers with familiar finger gestures like those used for iPhone and Android.

What it does lack is a headphone jack for monitoring audio levels, the battery is small, so video recording time will not be as good as other Canon cameras, so have a charged up spare battery for recording video. Lenses with IS switched on and using the built-in flash will kill the battery quickly. But if you use a fast 50mm 1.8 or 1.4 or even the Canon 40mm f/2.8 STM lens, you should get the most battery life you can per charge. I think this is probably the best camera deal for dSLR photography, especially if you can get it with instant cashback or rebates so shop around.

Update 1/18/2014:

Just thought I pass on this tip to other photographers. The Opteka LP-E12 batteries make good additional batteries for the SL1. They give you slightly more life and 1/4th the price of the original Canon battery. Opteka LP-E12 2000mAh Ultra High Capacity Li-ion Battery Pack for Canon EOS-M & EOS Rebel SL1 DSLR Cameras So if you shoot plenty of video, the Opteka battery seems to be a good choice, and at one fourth the price of the original Canon part, you can have four times the battery life.
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 215 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 14, 2014
This is an upgrade to my decade old EOS Digital Rebel (the first dslr camera from Canon). Awesome look and feel, very compact compared to their other models and is full featured. I bought only the body and paired it with the Tamron 18-270mm zoom lens - seems to be a perfect combination.

Love the features, except that fact that it doest have the feature where the touch screen can be popped out, rotated and closed like the T5i. Other than that, all the features are almost similar in a smaller frame. @ 350$, this is a steal..!! (the price has been fluctuating between 360 and 450 for some reason..)

Love it!! Love it!! Love it!! Will recommend it highly if you are upgrading from an older dslr. Otherwise too, if you are looking to get a good dslr, give this a fair chance..!! The small form factor is the best feature of this camera.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 3, 2014
For 6 months now, I can still say I love this camera. It is my first digital single lens reflex camera that I’ve ever owned, and it is perfect.

I like that it is small, lightweight, and takes beautiful high quality images.

If you want to see the high quality of images it can take, you can view the 7,000+ photos on the Canon EOS 100D/EOS Rebel SL1 - Official Group right here on Flickr [...]

Lots of other Amazon reviewers have listed the differences between this camera and the T5i or more high end cameras. Let’s face it. You are looking at this camera because you don’t want to haul around a big, heavy, clunky camera just to take nice photos. Your ego does not need to be defined by the size of your lens.

In fact, I suggest that you just purchase the camera body alone, and buy smaller lenses as you can afford them. Using a Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Lens keeps your SL1 lightweight and modest.

I tend to take pictures of my kids, vacation trips, and family events such as birthdays. My goal is not to look like the paparazzi when photographing. This camera is as simple as taking pictures with your phone, but provides the professional look that no camera phone can accomplish.

The helpful menu features on the camera explain what each mode does which is perfect for the novice. It is easy to make quick adjustments and the creative modes are fun. I particularly enjoy the touch screen display for more intuitive selections.

Remember, you want a high quality camera, that’s compact so you can take it everywhere. If you have hands the size of Shaquille O'Neal than perhaps you might want something bigger. Nearly everyone should be able to take beautiful pictures with this camera comfortably though.

Try it! Buy it! You'll love it!

Other suggested purchases:
Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Lens - Awesomely small compact lens great for low lighting, blurred backgrounds, and landscapes.
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM Lens - Great for a zoom lens that's compact
Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM - 18mm is good for wide angles and the 135mm is a nicer zoom than the kit lens.

Canon LP-E12 Battery Pack - Always good to have a 2nd battery
Lightscoop Deluxe - Great when using the on camera flash. Allows you to bounce flash off the ceiling, wall or other directions to create softer lighting.

Now go take some pictures!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 10, 2015
I really liked the combo. The addition of long focal length gives extra room to capture objects which are far. I have tried to capture full moon and to be honest, i am surprised with what this camera is capable of. I am still a beginner and so far i have i am very impressed with the ease of usage and self instructed short explanations of different settings. The camera itself is not heavy and easily carried around the neck with the strap which comes with this package. Also, the storage bag is really handy and you can easily store both the kit lenses in it without any issue. As a matter of fact, i have bought few accessories and it fits in the same bag as well. The whole package was itself packed very well and reached before the scheduled time. I am quite happy with the camera and highly recommend to anyone who has been thinking of going into more sophisticated photography.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2014
I bought this as a second to my 7D and I really enjoy using it. The 7D is still better with RAW files at high ISO somehow (maybe due to having two processors), but I like having the better focusing for video, in-camera HDR and the brilliant implementation of the touch screen interface on the SL1/100D. However if small and light are your highest priority you might want a micro four thirds system due to smaller, lighter lenses. Too bad MFT is no less expensive. Reviewers seem to rate the comparable Nikon/Sony APS-C sensor a little higher, but overall I like the Canon camera better. Paired with the 40mm f2.8 you have a small, light rig that takes very sharp images. I'm not at all disappointed with my purchase.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 5, 2015
Needed something to back up my EOS 6D that would provide great image quality and performance in a smaller package. This camera fits the bill. Pleasantly surprised at how intuitive the touchscreen is for adjusting settings and reviewing images. Especially appreciate the auto switch between optical viewfinder and LCD--it is virtually instant when the camera is raised to my eye. Autofocus is swift, and with settings tweaked the camera delivers crisp, detailed images with very good dynamic range and natural colors. Images are quite usable through ISO 6400.

Coupled with 18-135mm STM, the SL1 is a great walk-around camera with good video ability. Coupled with EF 40mm 2.8 STM, I have a package not much larger than the EOS M (and most other mirrorless cameras) but with nimble SLR performance and truly excellent image quality. This little gem very ably handles my "B-string" tasks with far less bulk and weight than my full-frame camera.

It's a great little camera!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 26, 2013
This new adquisition from Canon once again meet all my expectations as a photography lover. I have several Canon lens and all fit perfect in it without any problems. I get nice natural color pictures, razor sharp and it is so easy to use ! Very handy to travel for its weight and size. The new touch screen is a good addition. It would have been nice to have the stereo sound and not just the mono in the recordings. The battery is OK but I always need a spare one, so I will have to order one soon. thank you Canon for this new product ! I recommend this little digital camera to anybody for the light weight and quality of the images. Go for it and you will not regret it!!!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 30, 2015
The Canon Rebel SL1 (aka 100D) is a solid little camera that launched alongside the Rebel T5i. Despite its size, the Rebel SL1 does quite a bit to overshadow its physically larger and more expensive sibling.

The Rebel SL1 features the same 18MP sensor we’ve grown accustomed to in recent Canon DSLRs. By all standards, it is a good sensor capable of providing solid image quality, and it holds up just fine in this compact Rebel.

With the Rebel SL1, Canon appears to be reaching toward consumers interested in the more compact mirrorless cameras. It gets close in size and weight with the SL1. Of course, the SL1 is paired with the 18-55mm IS lens as its standard kit lens; however, the perfect lens for this camera is the new EF 40mm f/2.8 STM pancake lens.

Despite its small stature, Canon managed to put a full size 3″ screen on the back of the camera – the same as the Rebel T5i; however, the SL1’s display does not swivel like the T5i. The fixed LCD happens to keep the size down though.

Autofocus is fast and accurate with nine AF points available for use. In everyday use, there’s no real difference between the SL1 and the new T5i even though the SL1 only has a single cross-type sensor at the center AF point (all nine in the T5i are cross-type).

Image quality is no concern for the Rebel SL1. Whether you are a complete beginner looking for your first DSLR, or you are an experienced pro looking for a camera to carry on casual outings, the SL1 does not disappoint.

As with other recent Canon DSLRs featuring the standard 18MP sensor, the Canon Rebel SL1 is a solid performer with the ability to produce usable images in most lighting situations. Obviously, if you take advantage of fast prime lenses, you’ll get more bang for your buck. However, even if you stray into the ISO 1600+ territory, the images are more than usable for most casual shooters.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 12, 2017
Excellent service from the seller. My family has a lot of Canon cameras (shoot professionally for about %20 of our income) - an S110 Powershot, a 7D, and a 5D mkII. The SL1 is a fantastic addition. My lady loves not having to take her 7D out for fun anymore, the SL1 is an awesome way to utilize all of our lighter weight EF-S lenses without feeling like you have a brick in your hand. For me, it was between this and a mirrorless (probably a 4/3 as I own an Olympus PEN as well) but due to how many EF lenses we have, it was a no brainer. I'm really pleased with this camera and hope that Canon comes out with an SL2 at some point.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 20, 2013
Amazingly small compared to prior bodies, even the "rebels". Almost as small as the m 4/3 cameras. Also amazed at the features included; but best of all; can fit my Canon glass; some of which dwarf the body. Would have been very nice to have a swivel screen but workable. The clarity is excellent and the focusing is great. Short video clips also work well. So why not 5 stars? The biggest issue is the (yet another) new proprietary battery and charger. Makes carrying multiple bodies a challange and cumbersome. Why??? It's almost like the cassetts for printers as fleecing vehicles!! Oh if someone were only to standardize batteries and chargers
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse