Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Final Fantasy XIV Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 199 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 236 reviews
on April 29, 2011
I have my Powershot A2200 for about two weeks now. I was a little concerned about the mixed reviews but I thought I would take a chance. I have and love my Canon G10 but did not want to carry it everywhere with me. I needed a little camera to carry with me and not worry about. I purchased my Powershot A2200 for 129. and could not complain about that. I liked how you can move through the different modes quickly and I especially liked the live mode. I am an artist and it is very important for me to control color and contrast and I can easily do that in the live mode. I understand the problems some of the other reviews complained about especially the blurriness. I too had blurry photos when I first started using it. This camera has a learning curve - it is a very sensitive camera and you have to become familiar with it and choose the mode ( program, live , auto ) that is best for you. Also there are several options to control in the focus of the camera. I suggest you become familiar with it to improve your results. This is a good camera for someone like myself that is familiar with using cameras and want options for controlling images. If you just want to point and shoot and not think about it - this may not be the best choice. I am really impressed with the photos I have taken. I mainly use the live mode - it is a very flexible mode - shooting well in low museum light and even out of a fast moving car. Given what I received for this cost I am very pleased. I love my little light canon camera.
44 comments| 175 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2011
I bought this camera from Amazon just before we left for vacation to Florida, the Gulf Coast, and New Orleans. I needed something small and light that would be easy to tote around, and this definitely fit the bill. I didn't have enough time before we left for vacation to figure out all of the options and adjust to the learning curve, but I still managed to take some excellent pictures. I had some trouble taking good, clear pictures at night though - I couldn't get the flash to produce the clear images that I needed at times, but I think that is mainly due to my inexperience with the camera itself. It has some cool options (miniature effect, macro mode, fisheye lens) that I played around with and turned out several great pictures. I've posted a couple of these pictures on Amazon that I took with the Canon A2200. Overall, I'm happy with it and would recommend this camera, especially to those who need a good camera that's easy to use while on-the-go.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2012
Ignore all the negative nancy's on here. I feel like they're not realizing that this is JUST a compact camera.. It's not going to take the same pictures as a DSLR. If you want a camera that takes professional looking photos, drop another 700-900 dollars on a nice camera.

This camera is great for the price it's being sold at. First of all, it's a Canon; there's no going wrong with these cameras. I have a Canon Rebel t3i and t2i but wanted a smaller canon to carry around in my purse. This Power Shot is great, the 14 MP *along with* my 32G memory card allows for really great, clear pictures. Obviously if one is moving rapidly and shaking the camera, you can not expect any camera to take a clear picture, but with good lighting or a flash, this Power Shot takes clear pictures. Even when there was low lighting, the camera still takes decent pictures (but not as clear).

I've taken this camera on several rendezvous over the past month since I've gotten it, and have used it at the beach (high light exposure), camping in the mountains (fire and nature), at parties (people moving very quickly), and on rainy days (poor natural lighting). This camera succeeds my expectations for a compact camera, and wherever my pictures are posted of these events, people always complement them and suggest that I "bring my camera next time we all go out".
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2011
I wanted a nice point and shoot camera on black Friday. Now, I am not a professional photographer, I do know the difference between a digital SLR camera and the lenses and technologies which make them such a popular choice amongst consumers, however, I wanted to get back to the basics of point and shoot. The A2200 is a great digital camera, it provides excellent optical zoom, which, to those of you aware of, is the actual camera lenses functioning to focus on an image.

Digital Zoom is a feature I usually shy away from, yes, I am aware that not every single camera out there isn't going to be equiped with some form of digital zoom that relies on the camera processor putting in pixels for the image to 'appear' closer, but, still comes out grainy. So, with the auto focus, auto flash and battery fresh out of the charger, I snapped a few shots around my house. I must admit, I was a little turned off by the grainy film washed look in the LCD screen, but my photos come out gorgeous on my computer. While I don't need to edit them down from the huge 2xxx by 10xxx format I took them in, I am still experimenting with lower resolutions to find my personal 'sweet spot' that fits my needs. All of the features that come with the camera are pretty standard, including anti-blur, various scene modes and a few other options I haven't necessarily envisioned myself using but i will definitely experiment with them throughout the life of this camera.

I have been using my cell phone to take pictures, which holds one major problem that digital camera's all remedy, which is a dedicated button for snapping pictures and above average anti-blur feature along with a better flash. (Honestly, I read reviews on tech websites, i don't see how the reviewers can touch the screen to take the photos without shaking and ruining the picture).

I am using an 8GB memory card, it's great capacity with the max settings, I have some where around 1700 photos I can take before needing to transfer the files over.

A few points I didn't touch on but, might be a selling point:

Does not have a touch screen, I mean, the button layout isn't fancy, but it's made to where you can get around within a few presses.
The video is so-so, but, you don't use digital camera's to record video, it's a feature i will rarely use
Comes with composite out cables for review on a television, cable length is pretty short, but most blu-ray players and televisions have card readers anyway
No view finder is built into this unit, get used to using the LCD screen when taking a photo

I'd buy this camera for those who want a point and shoot, it's a great niche between price and function which I highly recommend coming from a FujiFilm FinePix camera with 6 less MP and 3x optical, it was a sweet deal when I got it (free) but the quality of the photos I took were often grainy, blurry and 3 out of 10 times unusable.

I bought this camera on black Friday with Amazon Prime, shipped last week and due to the weekend, I received it the following Wednesday. Great camera definitely recommend it as a budget choice.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2012
I have to say, this is the disappointment of the year. This camera is horrible quality, every picture I took looked blurred or slightly off focus. The auto function setting was intolerably long between clicking the button and the actual picture taking. After several seconds of auto-focusing, flashing orange lights at the subject, and then finally flashing, the picture was still out of focus and washed out or blurry. The flash is too bright so your subject is bleached with an over abundance of light. Trying to take pictures of pets was impossible because it took several seconds flashing the pet with this orange light that ultimately make the pet look away so all you get is a blurry side of it's head. Let's move on to video. Fuzzy, low quality, bad resolution, poor sound. Everything about this camera was a disappointment, only the shape and size was acceptable. I owned a Canon A20 10 years ago and the picture quality from that 2 megapixel camera was far better than this. I think Canon has really dropped the ball on this one. Do not waste your time and money, your cellphone takes better pictures than this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2014
I bought this camera for two reasons... mostly as a carry-around P&S for occasions where lugging my DSLR wasn't appealing, and also as the main camera for my other family members to use.

It's about what I expected for a camera at this price-point, with the bonus of being able to shoot HD.

Personally, I don't find the lack of Image Stabilization a big deal. If I was looking for a P&S to be my main camera, the A2200 wouldn't be it - it's a bit too slow (perceptible shutter lag! time between photos!) and lack of IS would be the main reasons. I went for a Canon because I like the brand and the colours they capture. The images could be a bit sharper, and in the back of my mind I do find myself wishing for more manual settings (everything is a take on "auto"), but for a cheap everyday camera / entry-level camera this does the job.

It's also really, really light. You have to look at your hands to make sure it's there!

If my review was helpful please let me know by clicking "YES" below. Also, feel free to ask me any questions about the product you may have. Thank You.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2012
My old Canon s400 elph stopped working and I needed something to take pictures with..this was a deal at $69..it is a nice camera,easy to use. The layout is basically the same as my old one so I didn't have much to learn,there is a learning curve with any new device,so take the time to play with it to understand how it works. The pictures are great,there is a difference from what you see on the LCD to uploading to your computer, but have some fun with it. I'm happy with it but all my cameras are Canons as are my printers. :)
Canon PowerShot S400 4MP Digital Camera w/ 3x Optical Zoom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2011
Looked at a lot of different cameras before picking this one. Used it for a vacation trip, and am very satisfied with the results. Battery lasted for several days. Video works great. I also use it for close-ups to post photos for products on eBay, and it is easy to do. Lots of options.

Picture is clear IF you don't just snap - it takes a second for it to focus, so push the button half-way, pause, then all the way. The only downside is that it takes a while to actually get the picture. We were at Seaworld and tried to photo the whales jumping out of the water. By the time the picture actually took, all that was left was a splash of water. So not good for instant shots, or at least I haven't figured that out yet.

Worth the money. And I bought a Case Logic TBC-302, which is perfect for this camera. Less than $6 on Amazon.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2014
I used this camera on a LDS mission in Guatemala. It took a beating. Rain storms, droppings, the battery had to deal with some nasty power surges when charging, but this thing held together. The picture quality is super nice as well. Thanks to the mission experience, I saw a lot of cameras from other missionaries, and this camera beat out a lot of cameras that were double in price, especially in durability. One of the greatest things about this camera is its speed. It's quick to power on. The menus are fast and fluid. With my class 10 SD card from Amazon, pictures loaded up instantly and scrolling was never cumbersome. I'd recommend this camera to anyone who was looking for a durable camera that also happens to take great pictures.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
This compact and lightweight camera is great for traveling. The last thing I want to do on vacation is walk around all day carrying a bulky, heavy camera. This camera can fit in a pocket. It is easy to use. Just point and shoot and many of your pictures will come out great. Like with any camera, there comes a point when you have to learn how to use all the features to capture the beauty that you see around you.

The reason I only gave this little camera 4 stars. It's the screen. It's not very good (and it's quite small) so I can never tell what my pictures will look like until I get them home and put them up on my monitor. And that's a problem when you're traveling. Maybe you can't go back and retake a shot.

My new phone takes pictures as well as this (slightly better as it is 15 MP) and the HD screen on my phone is larger. I can see what I have when I take a photo. If I had this phone two years ago, I wouldn't have purchased this camera.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse