Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Assassins Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 364 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 809 reviews
on July 18, 2015
It is hard to do a product review in a way because this is fairly old camera. However, the Canon Digital Rebel XTi is a superb beginner's DSLR and is sophisticated enough for one to become versed in more advanced camera use. I purchased this to replace the body of an older XT that had a damaged memory card release button. I thought I had killed the XT as, without the ability to insert and take out the memory card, you are pretty much dead in the water. I figured a repair would cost about the same as this replacement body. (Wound up fixing the thing myself, anyway.) The XTi is a little step up from the XT having 10.1 MP instead of the 8 on my older camera. It has a sensor that cleans the mirror a bit and I think, more focal points. Obviously, the newer Canon cameras have many more features, but if you are just wanting to take good pictures, and have an introduction to DSLR over point and shoot, this is a good start. As I purchased this used, I was somewhat hesitant about the quality I might receive....I need not have worried. The seller, J. Fowler, was very honest, sent this very quickly and the camera is in wonderful condition. Looks almost new to me. This has been a great experience all around.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2007
Review of Canon Digital Rebel XTi 10.1MP Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Lens (Black)

Pros:

Small size great for vacation and car / motorcycle trip photos smaller hands etc!
1,800 photos taken on 1 battery charge when not using flash!!! Who even comes close to that??
839 photos taken on 1 battery charge using built in flash for 60 of the shots.
Fast accurate focus even in low light even with a long zoom lens
High Image Quality even with kit lens when set at F8 / 28mm
Accurate outdoor sunlight metering slightly biased towards dark which I like (easily over ridden).
Absolute reliability so far even after carrying on motorcycle thousands of miles!
Love the rear viewing screen for setting exposure.

Cons:

Slightly small to hold and control buttons on back are a little small. Could be a plus for small hands but I have really large hands.
Built in flash is very slow to recycle after a couple of shots (buy the Speedlite if you do much indoor flash)
Inconsistent metering using flash indoors (most of this was caused by the kit lens, more below on this)
Soft photos on standard setting (a lot of this was from the kit lens, you can over ride see comments below from 9-3-2007)
Kits lens is really bad: its very soft at all settings, has high levels of chromatic aberration especially when using indoor flash, consistent under exposure by a 1/3 of a stop in sunlight, inconsistent exosure with flash, bad vignetting at 18mm, perspective distortion at 18mm. Want to get ride of most of those problems? I just borrowed a great lens that blows this one and most L lens into the weeds. If you can get a good copy it's much much sharper and very low chromatic aberration. It's the Sigma AF 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC macro. Sigma seems to have some QC issues.

Thoughts:

I can not begin to tell you how many shots I missed at weddings with my old Konica Minolta Maxuum 5D camera because the auto focus would hunt, especially with a zoom lens indoors.

I borrowed a friends 70 - 200 Canon lens and was amazed how fast this camera responds and is capable of focusing from minimum focus to infinity in what appeared to be less then 1 second!

Speed:

Using a Transcend 266X 8 GB card this new Rebel XTi ROCKS!! My Rebel XTi would in sports mode consistently shoot 30 rapid frames in 10 seconds flat at Large High Quality JPEG before slowing down to store the buffer.

Conclusion:

This is an amazing camera for the price. If you value fast focusing and shooting a lot of photos between battery charges this is the camera for you! I went to the zoo this weekend and kept thinking the battery was going to run dry, it didn't run down until I had taken 1,800 photos!!! I woudl have had to have 3 batteries with me to do that with my old camera.

-------------------------------------------------------------

Update:

7-8-2007

I have taken over 5,000 photos (5,934 to be exact) with this camera now and can tell you the following:

Pros:

Amazing battery life as much as 1,800 photos JPEG no review at ISO 100
Amazing photos outside in daylight even using the kit lens at F8 or above.
Amazing auto-focus anywhere anytime, day / night inside our out.

Cons:

Terrible Flash photography: (Update 929-2007 most of this was caused by the kit lens) The flash exposure is consistently poor. It changes from shot to shot even shooting the same subject with the same lens in the same light. It can very from shot-to-shot of the same subject, it doesn't seem to know if the subject is too light or too dark. And that's even using the Canon Speedlite 430EX flash!! To top if off when I review the shots on the cameras screen the exposure ususally looks fine, then when I get back to my computer it looks under exposed. The best settings I have found for flash is either to use the full program mode, or use Manual Mode at 1/200th F8 with one third stop + flash compensation.

If you are trying to use the built in flash the camera locks up and displays a busy light so the flash can recharge and it has even worse results then using the Speedlite.

No auto ISO: I love this feature but the Canon Rebel XTi only has it in the full automatic mode.

Conclusion: If you are an outdoor action photographer you can't go wrong, this camera is amazing. However if you require indoor shots using flash you may want to look elsewhere.

For this reason if I could I would change my rating to 4 stars.

---------------------------------------------------------
Update:

7-9-2007

Called Canon tech support about the Flash photography settings and they were very helpfull.

After several trial and error settings we came up with the following settings that seem to be consistent and work well when using the Speedlite 430EX flash and kit lens

People photography use Manual Mode at 1/320th F5.6 with one third stop + flash compensation ISO 400 H Speed Flash Sync Mode 24mm zoom manually set.

Macro photography use Manual Mode at 1/320th F11+ with one third stop + flash compensation ISO 400 H Speed Flash Sync Mode 24mm zoom manually set.

Update:

7-24-2007

Flash Photography fix:

Well at least it works better it's not perfect but it helps.

1. Set the Canon Speedlite 430EX Flash to High Speed Sync.
2. Go to manual mode and set the shutter speed to 1/250 or higher at F8.
3. Try different speeds with the shutter to get the effect you want and watch the meter if you are using fill flash in daylight as you will have to compensate manually. I have found 1/500th at F8 or higher to work really good for close-up photos and Macro work at ISO 100. Just watch your distance because this setting takes a lot of flash power.

9-1-2007

Still love this camera I'm at 10,867 shots now.

Have found this camera is great for taking on a trip as it's so small you can put it into a car center console and reach for it to take quick shots on the road.

Plus my wife loves the small size which she says fits her hands perfectly.

9-3-2007

Have fallen in love with the Picture Styles.

I'm using a modified settings for Standard mode and have set it for sharpness of +7 Saturaton +2. This givess me JPEG photos that are sharp and full of color right out of the camera.

9-20-2007

How to take rich super sharp photos with the Canon Rebel XTi.

These are the types of photos I thought the camera should be taking in the first place.

This worked for me your results may vary. Test these settings out before you shoot anything important. Set the camera for both large JPEG and Raw if you are in doubt as the settings below only effect the JPEG and not Raw files.

From trial and error I found the following steps really work to make rich super sharp photos.

1. Go into Picture Styles and select the style you will be using.

2. Change the Sharpness to maximum.

3. Change the color saturation to +2.

4. Set the camera to produce Large JPEGs.

5. Put on a lens known to be sharp. I found through trial and error testing of many Canon L lens and after market lens the sharpest lens I have ever used

is a Sigma Zoom Super Wide Angle AF 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro Autofocus Lens. My Canon 50mm F1.8 stopped down to 5.6 is sharp as well but not as sharp as that Sigma.

6. Put your camera on Program mode and an ISO between 100 - 400 go outside and have fun.

For inside flash photos

1. Set settings as above.

2. Put on a good quality lens like Sigma Zoom Super Wide Angle AF 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro Autofocus Lens or Canon 17-40L etc.

3. Attach and turn on Canon 430EX Speedlite.

4. If that's not sharp enough set the camera for high speed flash sync and put camera in manual mode with shutter to 1/320 second and F5.6.

9-29-2007 11,900 photos taken

I just bought a new lens for my Rebel since the kit lens is so bad (See new comments above in Cons) It's much much sharper and has very low chromatic aberration. And as a bonus it opens up a little wider 17 vs 18mm and zooms out further 70mm vs 55. It's the Sigma AF 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC macro. It's my new walk around lens stays on my camera at least 60% of the time now.

11-16-2007 13,112 photos taken.

Have been busy doing other things but I'm sure will be taking lot's of photos during the holidays. One thing I have noticed is if the battery strength is down to 2 bars or less (I.E. not full strength) some of my lens will not auto focus accurately. The worst lens about this is my Canon 135mm F/2 and the next worst is my Canon 70-200 F/2.8 L zoom. The 135 will miss focus and the 70-200 will hunt more often. A simple swap out with a fresh battery always solves this.

3-28-2008

I recently purchased a new Canon 40D. I haven't touched my Canon Rebel XTi since. The 40D is THAT much better. I keep the Rebel now as a backup. The Rebel now has just over 20,000 photos taken.

4-7-2008 Focus test update. As a test of auto focus power I tried the Canon 85mm F/1.2 L II Lens (this lens will push your auto focus to the limit even with the USM) with the Canon Rebel XTi and Canon 40D back to back. Talk about over taxing the system! I thought this lens was slow to focus on the 40D. The 40D will focus from minimum distance to infinity in a second or so with this lens (all other USM lens faster then I can even time or think). The Rebel takes what seems like an eternity to focus through the limits with the 85mm F/1.2 L II or well over 2 seconds. The funny part is how unbalanced this combo feels the Rebel XTi is this little camera body hanging off the back of the lens. Still in the end the Rebel does focus and you can use it even though you have less shots in focus then with the 40D. So I'm thinking most people that can afford this lens will be buying at least a 40D or higher but you can go for it if you get the chance.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2016
The camera and the extra things were in excellent condition. Also, after purchase the combo, the seller added extra things without any extra cost, so I was very surprised for that. This is my first experience in Amazon and I am so glad with it. This completely exceeded my expectations. Now I am really happy with my camera taking pictures wherever I go :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2007
I did my homework, here it is. After comparing the Rebel XTI with the Powershot G7 I decided to buy the Rebel XTI becuase I wanted a camera, which had great reviews in terms of battery life, compactness, picture quality and durability.

All in All the Rebel XTI is the best digital camera i've ever owned. It has all the above qualities to suit my novice camera needs, offering a professional image, except I will purchase the new Sigma 28mm-200mm lens featuring the optical stabilizer becuase its an all around lens--for close up shots and those farther away. At $899. for the camera and $550 for the Sigma lens this is not a poor man's camera. I saved for it. I figured the amount of money i'll save in film will pay for itself.

Additionally, the G7 is not so bad. In comparance with the Rebel XTI (both Canon digital cameras) at $450 it features good battery life, a lens comparable with the 28mm-200mm all around lens, and a built in stabilizer. Its bulkier than the average digital camera but it picture quality parallels the Rebel XTI.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
I got the camera I expected and it's in good condition except for the fact that it almost never actually takes pictures. It just says "busy" or the flash spazzes out and acts like a strobe whenever I try to use it. I've had a photo class and have some experience using cameras but never have I had these issues and I'm not sure if it's user error with this particular model or the camera actually has issues but I'm not entirely happy with spending as much as I did on a device that does not do what it's made to do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2016
Love this camera.
I have used it for a while now and have never had any issues.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2015
Takes great pictures. Easy menu to follow. Fits great in the hands. Not to heavy. Great quality. I would probably buy the body only. I bought the kit lens, but I don't really use. I bought another lens that I use on it more.
review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
Great camera for the hobbyist and semi pro who needs more than the point and shoot can deliver.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2008
After taking thousands of pics of my two year old and my new born with my HP point and shoot, I finally gave up. None of the pictures were of the 'moment' or 'expression' I was trying to capture. I was always taking pictures of their backs or their looking away or xxx. Anything but what I wanted. Then the quality of the pictures were never quite right unless I took the picture in full blown day light.

Finally decided to splurge. After extensive research on the Canon XTi vs the Nikon, I ultimately opted for the Canon. I bought it along with the portrait EF 50mm that seems to be highly rated by many. I later purchased the EF 28-105mm. Upon receiving the camera, I went to town taking pics of my little ones. What I found:

Pros:
- Fast. Very fast. Wow. I've yet to miss a shot.
- Outstanding pics. Pics with the EF28-105 good. Pics with the EF 50mm, outstanding. Many look like they were taken by a pro. Trust me. I am no pro. I'm a working mom looking for some good pics to put on their website and send to Grandma and Grandpa. On average, with my point and shoot, I'd get 1 out 20 that were worthy of that. Now, I average 5-6 out of 10 at a higher bar of course.
- Versitile. I can play around with different settings and Canon lenses. Fun but expensive.
- Battery charges fast. Battery life outstanding. I honestly don't think I've had to charge the batteries but 2-3 times since I bought it five months ago and have taken thousands of pics.
- The 4GB SD card keeps more pics than I could ever want.

Cons.
If you are a working kind of mom like I am and just want an awesome camera to take awesome pics, you've found it. However, there is one big downside: it's bigger...way bigger than a point and shoot. It's not as easy to throw in your purse and go out for a splash day. I have found myself leaving it behind because I just didn't want to lug it along with the diaper bag, a toddler and an infant...car seat, snacks, toys, bottles, wipes...etc. The bag is heavy enough. But, those pics are priceless as far as I am concerned and will sacrifice more often than not and find myself glad for having done so.

LENSES. This took me longer to figure out than which camera to buy. I searched for a month before I committed. Given the affordability of the 50mm and its reviews, I opted to do without the kit lens.

Admittedly, I regretted it at first. What!? No zoom. As you can tell, I'm a serious amatuer and didn't know what I was getting into. But, despite the one time I wanted to take a group pic that required me to step clear to the other side of the house to get them in, 99% of the time, I'm trying to get a good close up of my kids...many pics by default at this age tend to be close ups. Then, there is a subtle difference between the pictures I have taken with this lens and the 28-105--crisper, cleaner and outright beautiful color.

The 28-105 is actually not bad especially if you use it with the hood. The zoom is about what I figure I will need at ball games and ballerina recitals when I don't have to worry about lugging a diaper bag and keeping after a climbing/crawling baby. For the price, I figure it's doable.

There you have it, Amazon shopping Moms. I hope this Review was helpful. I found many of the reviews targeting semi-pros so it took a while to sift through it all!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2007
I'm probably an advanced amateur in skill level. We transitioned from film to digital around 2004 with two Nikon Coolpix cameras and one Canon Elph, all 3-5-megapixel machines, all nice enough but I wanted to get back to an SLR (I have several old Nikon F, Ftn, and F2 film SLRs that I still love), in digital. The technology has improved since our first digitals only a few years ago, now having little or no time lag on start-up, between shots, etc. We have a friend who is a pro who has shot for National Geographic and done some splendid photo books and he recommended the Canon Rebel XT, but by the time I got around to purchasing, the XTi was available and looked better. It is full-featured, takes quality shots, and is ridiculously easy and intuitive to use, a really nice job by Canon. It's bigger than our older, compact digital cameras but a bit smaller and a lot lighter than my venerable Nikon F film SLR's, and the power of the XTi - - range of "film" speeds, frames-per-minute in action mode, scenes settings, battery life, etc., are all very competitive. Auto-focusing is very fast and accurate. I think that digital SLR technology has evolved to a wonderful degree and it's probably tough to find a "bad" camera, but the Canon XTi is certainly an excellent choice. The comprehensive anti-sensor-dust approach is also a nice feature, although the wide zoom ranges on many of the lenses reduces the need and frequency for lens changing, which is fine with me, changing lenses is, at best, a bit awkward under most field conditons.

The built-in flash is, predictably, very limited in application and output, and the neckstrap rings could be better designed and perhaps better located on the body, but other than those minor caveats, I have no complaints and I absolutely love using it, which is as it should be.

I'm sure that there are several other excellent digital SLR's out there, but I'm very happy with the XTi and recommend it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse