Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services animestrike animestrike animestrike  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
56
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 34 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 56 reviews
on May 25, 2002
..., this is a outstanding live recording of Walsh material... it's not going to (supposed to) sound like studio versions of the same material. And remember, this was released in 1976, no digital enhancement devices here (just listen to the amp buzz during Vitale's flute solo on Turn to Stone).

For me this recording is about the soul the musicians put into the performance! Every time I listen I can see Walsh step back from the mic, drop his head and rip it up on Walk Away. And Rocky Mountain Way is given a keyboard treatment that shows the song for the fine, fine blues statement that it is. Put on a pair of headphones and really listen to the organ and piano that drives the underlying rhythm line. You absolutly will be moving every part of your body with a Ray Charles sway and bounce!

As for the personnel, here's the straight poop as read from the original release vinyl album (yes I still own it and play it almost 30 years later, so much for the theory that vinyl [stinks]). Anyway as listed on the back of the inside, cardboard dust jacket, not the back of the album cover, the credits include: Willie Weeks,Bass; Joe Vitale,Drums (he doesn't get credit for the flute solo, but it's him); Andy Newmark,Drums; Don Felder(joined the Eagles in'74), Guitar; Joe Walsh,Guitar; Rocky Dzidzonru,percussion; Jay Ferguson,keyboards; David Mason, keyboards. Vocals on "Help Me Through the Night" by Glenn Frey, Don Henly, Don Felder and Joe Walsh.

Buy this CD, fire it up (as the man said LOUD) and you just may find yourself taping up the door, jammin' a damp towel at it's base, and put'en a fan in the window... blowing out!

Whoever said "You can't go home again", may have been right, but for us 45 year olds, this CD might at least get you back to college...

Whatever you do, Don't "Just turn your pretty head and Walk Away"!
1010 comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2015
Back in the day before mp3s and downloads, there just wasn't any way to get live music other than going to shows, bootlegs, and buying record company produced live efforts. Joe Walsh is a great rock and roll guitar player and song writer who single-handedly rescued the Eagles. These early efforts, with the James Gang and as a solo, surpass anything he's done with the Eagles, tenfold. Although this album is an edited compilation of various live performances, each cut is classic early Joe Walsh and features dazzling riffs that are not heard in studio recordings of these songs. If you like Joe Walsh -- before Life's Been Good, Life of Illusion or the Eagles -- these live cuts will make you love him more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2017
It's Joe Walsh why wouldn't it be a 5 star? ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2017
From the legendary Joe Walsh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
This was a recording from a Don Kirshner Rock Concert just before Joe Walsh joined the Eagles. At this point, Don Felder HAD joined and did this gig to make sure that Joe and band sounded awesome... and boy, they do! The whole band is fantastic and Walsh just kicks it up a notch all the way through the record... The Eagles do appear singing background on this and sound fantastic. This is, for my money, the best of Walsh's recordings. It captures the band and the artist the way I remember seeing him countless times at places like the Long Beach Arena etc... Great guitar interplay and a super tight band... you won't be disappointed...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2008
Look I am 51 yrs. old and I would like Joe playing old Mc donalds farm if he chose to do it.And I bet he would in the art of his All night laundry mat blues style and we all would have a good laugh.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2007
Joe Walsh is much better live than in the studio. (I've seen him live and this album is a testiment to how great he can be - so much so that I got the band to sign the cover for me). Recorded live just before he did the famous Hotel California solo with the (much under-rated Don Felder) members of the Eagles and buddies Joe Vital, etc, from Barnstorming days. Just buy it and listen to it and you won't bother with the studio stuff any more. All good tracks, but of particular note are Rocky Mountain Way and Turn to Stone. The energy is great and this has been a regular feature on my turntable, CD player and now iPod for over 20 years. Up there with Neil Young's "Live Rust" CD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2013
This album is Joe Walsh at his technical & creative peak. His own playing along with that of his all-star band still hold up against the test of time. I'm sure most people that would be checking this out already recognize the song titles, so my only remark about the set list is that it's too short. Although the sound quality of this disc is fine, I do believe it would benefit from remastering. A few more tracks culled from this tour would top the new package off nicely. I guess I'm being kinda greedy for something I only wish would happen.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2013
this is a good Album live but it would have been really good had there been a few more songs on here. Mothers says, Welcome to the Club and i would say one or two more would have made this a great Gem to have for Joe Walsh fans which is why I'm only giving it 4 stars..
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2013
The only problem with this album is it is too short. It is loaded with great songs and I can only imagine the additional material that could have been added. This is Joe at his best, with a great band supporting him.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse