Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 470 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 619 reviews
on November 18, 2016
I read this leading up to the 2016 election. I'm not looking to get into a political argument with anyone, but my motivation in reading this book was to see how a demagogue could take power in the United States. After finishing the book, I would best describe my mood as sullen. The story was good, and Lewis did a nice job of putting me into the moment. I would recommend this book to others.
99 comments| 401 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
Since it was written in a time when the English was somewhat different in America, the reader must adjust
to the way Lewis wrote the book. However, old-timey sayings aside, this is an incredible piece of fiction.
It Can't Happen Here parallels what an American regime, like that of Adolph Hitler's in Germany would
be like as it unfolded. The main character is a small town newspaper editor, who enjoys his life and the
way things have gone in his town and state, for much of his life. Doremus Jessup, the main character, is
even able to convince himself to stay out of the way of an administration that becomes more and more
authoritative and dictatorial. Unfortunately, things develop rapidly around the country and the regime's
bad deeds end up in Doremus' town and he's no longer able to ignore it.

The ease at which this turns from a cozy and sleepy small town to outright war on any critical voice is
quite drastic. There is tension and unease sprinkled here and there, but the reality hits Doremus and
when it does, he starts to act in any way he can. The country is virtually a loss and men like Doremus,
who just wanted to enjoy what they had accomplished in life and not become overly political, became
the ones that begin the resistance. I'll say no more, so nothing is given away.

I read this book over two days time and could not put it down. This is quite simply one of the most remarkable
and prescient books I have read in years. I highly recommend this as a Political Science expert and policy
analyst. Thanks to my view of the world, this book was both chilling and thought provoking.
11 comment| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2016
Uncanny parallels to the current state of politics in the US, especially in its depiction of the seemingly cartoonish (yet always deadly serious) Presidential candidate "Buzz" Windrip who, once elected, establishes an authoritarian regime. As a novel, it is not written with the same qualities as Lewis's other major works, but the central premise is highly timely: that, indeed, it CAN happen here--and in some ways already has.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2016
It's not surprising that Sinclair Lewis' book about the rise of Fascism in the US is enjoying a revival during the present political campaign. The parallels between a certain presidential candidate's speeches on the campaign trail and those of Lewis' Berzelius Windrip are sometimes frighteningly close. Although it is somewhat dated (it was written in the 1930's) and many readers will miss the significance of some of the events and people referred to, it still offers a cautionary tale to those who still blithely declare that "it can't happen here." The context of the times leads Lewis to focus on antisemitism and pre-civil rights era racism while today's America channels hostility into islamophobia and covert racism, but the dynamics remain the same. It's well worth the read, and might impel the reader to ponder where he and she might stand if it did, truly, happen here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2017
Especially frightening when read in late 2016. Couldn't help imagining ourselves in a similar situation.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2016
I'll let you know after the election...seriously folks, of course this novel isn't as good as Main Street, but it's surprisingly readable many years later, which makes one optimistic for this experiment in democracy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
Although written in the 1930's, this novel has much to say to us in the 21st century. Some characters are highly romanticized, and some rants border on being pure propaganda. Lewis' scenario is much too close to some our current demagogic presidential candidates. One of Lewis's lesser novels but well worth the reading.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 21, 2017
Really scary and could very well be happening here, and now. Very prescient.

Written by Lewis after returning from spending much time Germany witnessing the rise of Hitler.

Typical Sinclair Lewis style, a bit dated but very readable.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2016
A story (sadly) highly relevant to America today. This is an engaging story of freedom for critical minds versus enforced group-think conformity.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2017
I really enjoyed reading his book as I had never heard of it until someone told me it had predicted the election of Trump! Which isn't really true as the book was written in the 1930's! I had read other things by Sinclair Lewis and found them light reading. This novel is quite different it is definitely not light reading. Reading this made me think and it can almost qualify as a what if novel as the situation portrayed in the book could have happened I believe.
So while I don't see this book as a prediction of the election of Trump it is still an enjoyable read that will make you think and was well worth what I paid for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse