Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Best Kids Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop STEM Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 12, 2016
My oldest son put this game on his Christmas wish list. Knowing nothing about it I purchased it. I was overjoyed that he was asking for something that didn't require batteries or wasn't a video game.

Now, I realize I'm going to be judged as a bad parent for purchasing this game and for not doing more research before giving it to my teenage son. I accept that. However, this game is so funny.

My Husband and I have played it with our son quite a few times and it made us all sit together and just laugh so hard that we snort and end up having some very interesting conversations.

Yes, the game is politically incorrect and does have some sexual context but so does everything on TV and on the internet these days.

Anything that keeps my teenager talking to me and feeling comfortable speaking with us about odd or uncomfortable things is a win in my parenting handbook.

I purchased this game at full price. I was not offered any discount or future discounts for reviewing this product. All pictures and opinions are my own and offered for anyone considering the purchase of this game.
review imagereview imagereview image
2,331 helpful votes
2,332 helpful votes
|
1717 comments|Report abuse
on October 29, 2014
Ever wondered what a grown-up version of Apples to Apples would look like? Well, Cards Against Humanity is the perfect response to that desire.

If you've never played Apples to Apples or Cards Against Humanity, let me fill you in on how CAH works. There are Black Cards and there are White Cards. At the start of each round, one chosen player (The Judge) will select a Black Card from the stack. On these cards will be a phrase or question that needs to be answered/completed. This is where white cards come in. Players have 10 White Cards, which they use to complete the Black Card's question(s)/blank(s). After each player (besides The Judge) has chosen the best White Card in their hand to go with the Black Card, all players turn their White Cards in to The Judge. From here, The Judge reviews the White Cards and decides his/her favorite pairing of the White and Black Cards. The player who played the Judge's chosen White Card gets a point (if that matters to your group) and the gameplay starts all over.

Let me give you an example with word-for-word examples of what you'll find on the Black and White cards.

1. The Judge plays a Black Card that says: "Life for the Native Americans was forever changed after the white man introduced them to ____________."
2. All players (exc. the Judge) choose a White Card.
3. After everyone has chosen their White Card, the Judge reviews the responses: "Smallpox Blankets", "Drinking Alone", "A Can of Whoop-Ass", and "Take-Backsies"
(Before you read these and think I'm an awful person, these are actual White Cards that I have seen played on the aforementioned Black Card)
4. The Judge chooses "Drinking Alone" and the player who picked this White Card wins the round.

This game is great fun, but keep in mind that there are some edgy/racy/raunchy/explicit/graphic/vulgar White and Black cards. In fact, that's the point.

If you don't have the right sense of humor to laugh at a card combination like "Lifetime presents: __Pretending to Care__, the story of __Not Giving a S*** about the Third World__", then this is not a game that I would recommend for you.

This is not a children's game, and this is not a game to play with Grandma (unless Grandma has a really effed up and awesome sense of humor). But if you and your friends enjoy laughing at the darker side of life, art, and pop culture... This is the perfect game for your next party.
2,462 helpful votes
2,463 helpful votes
|
2424 comments|Report abuse
on October 2, 2016
This game has got to be the funniest game I've played in awhile... Played it with friends at a BBQ and it was a huge hit... Game is played with fairly simple instructions, each round one player picks a black card and shares it with the other players, the other players each get (3) cards from the white deck and answer with their funniest card... the funniest add on to the black card wins that round... WOULD DEFINETLY not recommend playing around children though, the cards are funny, however not intended for little ones... I have attached some examples in my photos below!
* [...]... Have an awesome day!;)
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
338 helpful votes
339 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on January 31, 2012
This is not a review about playing Cards Against Humanity, it's a review of the fallout endured from playing Cards Against Humanity. Take it as a warning, if you will.

If you aren't a horrible person already, you will soon be. You will play Cards Against Humanity, and as others have said, you will be shocked, appalled, and worst of all, you will learn and adapt. You'll reach for your smartphone and search for terms you've drawn such as "The Übermensch", "Heteronormativity", and "The Three-Fifths Compromise". You will commit these and many other newly-learned words to memory.

And that's where it all comes crashing down.

At first, you might allow "front butt" to casually wander its way into a conversation here and there. As more of your subconscious fights to unleash the trauma, you'll find yourself uttering "nipple blades" and "mouth herpes" in the most unacceptable of times. You'll visit the Cards Against Humanity website and bomb them with suggestions for new cards like "Cutting the cheese at a funeral" and "Scissoring".

Soon, you will meet up with new people to inflict Cards Against Humanity upon them and they'll be hooked. You will receive random voicemails and texts, asking for another hit of that "8 oz. of sweet, Mexican black tar heroin", and you will comply, because you're just as hooked as they are. They'll bring new friends in to freshen up the game...you will feel a rush as the look of shame crosses their innocent eyes as they win a round by playing "Amputees" against your "White People Like _____".

"I was just throwing that card away!" they'll proclaim, but you know the sad truth.

You will buy the expansion pack. You will host parties where you play through every card in both boxes. You'll wonder where the time went. Your face will hurt from laughing so much. Your friends will buy their own sets, and the infection will be passed on.

A team of rescue workers will find you you weeks later in your closet, frazzled, emaciated, and stinking from "Soiling Yourself", because you just couldn't stop with playing Cards Against Humanity against yourself. The light of day will strike your eyes and you'll gaze up at your saviors with pensive anticipation...

"Wanna play?"
9,171 helpful votes
9,172 helpful votes
|
5150+ comments|Report abuse
on April 19, 2013
So much fun, this game works so well with the type of humor my social circle enjoys. Also, we are probably going to hell.
1,395 helpful votes
1,396 helpful votes
|
1414 comments|Report abuse
on April 19, 2016
This is one of the most fun games out there. Awesome drinking game. Endless fun. Really the comedy doesn't end when you're playing this one. There is a great variety of cards. Cards Against Humanity is a party game in which players complete fill-in-the-blank statements using mature-content phrases printed on playing cards.

To start the game, each player draws ten White Cards.

The person who most recently pooped begins as the Card Czar and plays a Black Card. The Card Czar reads the question or fill-in-the-blank phrase on the Black Card out loud.

Everyone else answers the question or fills in the blank by passing one White Card, face down, to the Card Czar.

The Card Czar shuffles all of the answers and shares each card combination with the group. For full effect, the Card Czar should usually re-read the Black Card before presenting each answer. The Card Czar then picks the funniest play, and whoever submitted it gets one Awesome Point.

After the round, a new player becomes the Card Czar, and everyone draws back up to ten White Cards.

The rules in Cards Against Humanity are flexible and can be altered with the many house rules (which are listed in the manual and website) that players can incorporate (e.g., winning cards are chosen democratically, ability to trade points for cards, points given by ranks, etc.). The game also incorporates rules for so-called "Pick 2's" and "Pick 3's"; black question cards that are answered with multiple white answer cards. The official rules include additional provisions for gambling previously won "Awesome Points" for the right to play additional white cards during a round.

AGAIN. BEST GAME EVER!
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on February 15, 2017
This game is SO fun and so hilarious the first couple times you play it-- which makes it worth it. But it's one of those things where (because it was so fun the first couple times) you want it to be every time, but it gets old. You've heard all the cards and the shock factor goes away. Even with the expansion packs, same thing... super fun, worth playing; but the humor is limited after you've heard all the cards.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
This game is so funny! Its utterly hysterical when you get a group of 10 people to play it while intoxicated. The more you drink the better it gets. We always put this out at our house parties so guest can gather and let the offensive awesomeness pursue. Its particularly fun to play it with someone who is insanely PC and thinks everything is offensive. Take bets on how many rounds they can last. We did and it was epic. Get this game if you want to laugh like never before.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on September 16, 2015
This is a really fun, adult game! We like to host regular game nights and sometimes they get pretty ugly (even dominoes gets nasty!) but Cards Against Humanity has become a crowd favorite because everyone has fun and no one is a target. It's super fun, dirty, and we like to make up some of our own house rules, such as if the Card Czar has a great card, they can play it for the comedic value to the group, but can't award points to themselves and cards are allowed to be re-upped upon a group decision.

The cards are hysterical and the directions are a riot. If you have a sense of humor and a few like-minded friends, you need this game!
2 helpful votes
3 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on January 15, 2016
Recently, however, a friend of mine obtained Cards Against Humanity, which I immediately ordered. I was not disappointed.

Cards Against Humanity has a similar setup to A2A, in that there are a set of community cards and a set of individual cards. The community cards have a phrase or fill-in-the-blank on them and the individual cards have a noun or action on them (like "Shaquille O'Neil" worse that cannot be printed here
lol). People playing have these white cards in their hands and play what they feel is the funniest/best fit for that question. Then a judge picks the card they feel is the best and the owner of that card wins the round.

iTS NOT ABOUT WINING THE GAME! The fun comes from the ridiculous combinations you can make. And the set does not disappoint. There were very few "duds" in the deck and many of the community cards were so out there that it was impossible to not come up with a good example.

The only real flaws I can think of are with the physical makeup of the deck itself. The weight of the cards is a bit flimsy, though nothing that would make you feel like it is cheap. The cards are also a bit small which may make holding them difficult.

My biggest complain, however, is that the front and back of each card resembles each other too closely. Often I would find myself flipping the cards over trying to find the right side because from afar they look the same. Putting a more discernible logo on the backs to tell the front from back would be a lot more helpful for organizational purposes.

Additionally, the material of this game is intended for adults only. The box clearly states 17+ and it means it. I wouldn't play this game with anyone who isn't in at least high school. Additionally, you'll have to have a strong stomach and an evil sense of humor to enjoy this game. I wouldn't play this with anyone too prudish.

This game is incredibly fun with the right group of people, and the physical card flaws are minor and frankly don't warrant a star taken away. The game is just too damn fun and you will have a great time with the right group of people.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 509 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here