Digital List Price: $25.99
Kindle Price: $9.36

Save $16.63 (64%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Carnegie's Maid: A Novel by [Benedict, Marie]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Carnegie's Maid: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 108 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.36

Length: 288 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Feels like Downton Abbey in the United States...Benedict demonstrates the relevance of history to the present day in this impeccably researched novel of the early immigrant experience. Deeply human, and brimming with complex, vulnerable characters, CARNEGIE'S MAID shows the power of ambition tempered by altruism, and the true realization of the American Dream." - Erika Robuck, national bestselling author of Hemingway's Girl

"In CARNEGIE'S MAID, Marie Benedict skillfully introduces us to Clara, a young woman who immigrates to American in the 1860s and unexpectedly becomes the maid to Andrew Carnegie's mother. Clara becomes close to Andrew Carnegie and helps to make him America's first philanthropist. Downton Abbey fans should flock to this charming tale of fateful turns and unexpected romance, and the often unsung role of women in history." - Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan's Tale

"With its well-drawn characters, good pacing, and excellent sense of time and place, this volume should charm lovers of historicals, romance, and the Civil War period. Neither saccharine nor overly dramatized, it's a very satisfying read. " - Library Journal

"Marie Benedict has penned a sensational novel that turns the conventional Cinderella story into an all-American triumph. Young Clara Kelley steps off the boat from Ireland into Andrew Carnegie's affluent world, where invention can transform men and women into whatever they dare to dream." - Sarah McCoy, New York Times and international bestselling author of The Mapmaker's Children and The Baker's Daughter

"[an] excellent historical novel." - Publishers Weekly

"...engaging. The chaste romance will draw readers of inspirational fiction, while the novel is constructed to appeal to those seeking a tale with an upstairs-downstairs dynamic and all-but-invisible female characters who are either the impetus for or the actual originators of great men's great ideas. For Fans of Liz Trenow, Erika Robuck, and Nancy Horan. " - Booklist

"In spare prose, Wilson ratchets up the horror spawned by obsession to a bloody end. For those who tolerate intense, sometimes graphic fiction, this is mesmerizing." - Booklist

"A special addition to the Downton Abbey canon...an absorbing exploration of the influence one plucky young woman might have had on this pioneering philanthropist. " - Toronto Star

"Fascinating story..." - Bustle

About the Author

Marie Benedict is a lawyer with more than ten years' experience as a litigator at two of the country's premier law firms and for Fortune 500 companies.

Product details

  • File Size: 1531 KB
  • Print Length: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark (January 16, 2018)
  • Publication Date: January 16, 2018
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B071W7C2CG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,682 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Literary Fiction
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Romance Novels
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Religion & Spirituality Books
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

February 20, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
February 12, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
March 16, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
March 17, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
March 5, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
February 3, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
March 7, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
March 6, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Carnegie's Maid: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Carnegie's Maid: A Novel