Buy New
$19.99
& FREE Shipping on orders over $25. Details
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
The Cartoonist: Jeff Smit... has been added to your Cart

Ship to:
To see addresses, please
or
Please enter a valid US zip code.
or
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Cartoonist: Jeff Smith, BONE and the Changing Face of Comics

DVD

4.2 out of 5 stars 18 customer reviews

Additional DVD options Edition Discs
Price
New from Used from
DVD
(Jul 21, 2009)
"Please retry"
1
$19.99
$19.99 $4.72

Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream thousands of movies & TV shows included with Prime. Start your free trial
$19.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $25. Details Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently bought together

  • The Cartoonist: Jeff Smith, BONE and the Changing Face of Comics
  • +
  • Art of Bone
Total price: $46.75
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

Review

My son and I bundled under some blankets this rainy weekend to watch the documentary on Jeff Smith, creator of the very popular BONE comics/graphic novel. The documentary is called "The Cartoonist: Jeff Smith, BONE and the Changing Face of Comics" and it is a treat. The video features extensive interviews with Jeff Smith and friends and admirers, and tracks the evolution of BONE in Jeff Smith's fertile mind.

Here are a few things that really jumped out at me:

--Smith notes that he remembers making some of the characters that are in BONE back when he was five or six years old. He says he drew all the time, everywhere, and talks about the evolution of the Bone characters over time. He uses three main characters, who are archetypes for Smith himself, and notes that he got one of the names for Fone-Bone from Mad Magazine via Don Martin s site gag comics. I chuckled over that one.

--Smith was interested in using the comic concept to create a long-form story (a 1,000 page book, as he put it) in the vein of The Odyssey or Moby Dick. From the start, he knew the story arc that would take place over time -- in this case, more than 10 years of comics that told one big story. If you have ever held the collected BONE book in your hand, you ll see that he has succeeded. It s huge and hefty and rich with story.

--Smith got his start in commercial animation -- there are some scenes of he and his partners making "cells" of animation, which are overlays -- and the documentary notes how his experience in moving pictures seeps into his comics, through the use of movement across frames and consistency of characters.

--Smith explains how he uses symbolism, imagery and allusions in his BONE stories and one interesting scene shows Smith hiking through a forest area with waterfalls and streams that are depicted in his BONE book as the epicenter of the story. My son said, "That s just like in the book!" Smith also notes how important the symbol of water is to storytellers and how he uses it himself in his book.

--At one point, Smith notes how much the audience for comics and graphic novels have changed. It is no longer 30-year-old men in comic shops. Now, there are kids (again) interested in comics and graphic novels, and he notes that librarians understand this shift. While book lending is mostly down in libraries, the one stack that shows constant growth is the graphic novel/comic stack. And the film notes that librarians and teachers see the use of graphic novels for engagement of young readers in text and can be a "bridge" to novels and other forms of reading.

All in all, "The Cartoonist" is a wonderful look at the man behind BONE, and the life of a comic book artist. Smith is engaging and open and excited to be where he is, and when you see the lines and lines of people of all ages waiting at conventions and book signing just to shake his hand or get an autograph, you realize just how much effect Smith and others are having on our views of literature when it comes to Sequential Art.

What I wonder is: what impact will these graphic novels have on young writers and what will the results of that influence be when we look at the field in 10 years? I can t wait.

If you are a teacher searching for a movie that explains the creative writing and art process of comics and graphic novels, I suggest you consider "The Cartoonist" for your collection. --Kevin Hodgson (dogtrax.edublogs.org)

Last week, I had the opportunity to see the new documentary, "The Cartoonist: Jeff Smith, BONE and the Changing Face of Comics." I believe it debuted just before Comic Con International this year. My friend and fellow cartoonist Grant Sutherland ordered it off the Internet and we watched it over beers and cigars. I can't recommend this film highly enough. It was such an inspiration to see all the details behind the creation of BONE, Smith's amazing graphic novel. The film itself is well made and interesting and has lot's of great interviews, convention footage and information on Smith's early career. As soon as it was over I just wanted to get back to my desk and keep drawing. --Nate Bramble (hermithillcomic.com)

"The Cartoonist" simultaneously illustrates the power of comics and the genius of Jeff Smith. This is essential viewing for comics fans, as it provides a well-rounded picture of what it takes to create an enduring classic. For teachers of BONE, it may spark supplemental lesson plan ideas such as research into Smith's influences, as well as provide insight to the symbols present this masterful work. Highly recommended. --Out from the Comic Shop (outfromthecomicshop.com)

About the Actor

Jeff Smith learned about cartooning from comic strips, comic books, and watching animation on TV while growing up in the Midwest. In 1991, he launched a company called Cartoon Books to publish his comic book, BONE, a comedy/adventure about three lost cousins from Boneville. Against all odds, the small company flourished, building a reputation for quality stories and artwork. Word of mouth, critical acclaim, and a string of major awards helped propel Cartoon Books and BONE to the forefront of the comic book industry. In 2005, Harry Potter s U.S. publisher, Scholastic, entered the graphic novel market with a full-color version of BONE: Out from Boneville. Since then, the nine-volume series has sold millions of copies as it brought the underground comic to a new audience and a new generation. BONE has won ten Eisner awards during its publication, has been translated into 15 languages and has been adopted as an important literacy tool by teachers, librarians and parents. TIME magazine selected BONE as one of the ten greatest graphic novels of all time. Between projects, Smith spends much of his time on the international guest circuit promoting comics and the art of graphic novels.

Scott McCloud is a cartoonist and theorist on comics, best known for his 1993 Understanding Comics, a wide-ranging exploration of the definition, history, vocabulary, and methods of the medium of comics, itself in comics form. He followed in 2000 with Reinventing Comics (also in comics form), and released Making Comics in 2006. His latest work is a comic book that formed the 2008 press release introducing Google's new Web browser, Google Chrome.

Colleen Doran is an illustrator, film conceptual artist, cartoonist, and writer whose clients include The Walt Disney Company, Lucasfilm, Sony, Time/Warner, Harper Collins, Reader's Digest, Marvel Entertainment and DC Comics. Her credits include: Amazing Spiderman, Captain America, Wonder Woman, and Walt Disney's Beauty and the Beast. Colleen has spent most of her life devoted to her epic science fiction/fantasy tale A Distant Soil, the first graphic novel solely produced by a female creator. She began writing the tale when she was 12 years old, and has now produced four graphic novel collections and nearly 40 comics.

Harvey Pekar is a true American original. This Cleveland native is the creator of American Splendor, the popular comic book series that also inspired a critically acclaimed film of the same name. American Splendor is the autobiographical story of Harvey, a working-class everyman and comic book writer who chronicles the ordinary and mundane in stories both funny and touching. In the 2004 film, Harvey is played by actor Paul Giamatti as a frustrated V.A. hospital file clerk who is inspired to create comic books based on his own life. Harvey continues to write graphic novels with a wide variety of cultural and historical themes.

Paul Pope is an alternative comic book artist best known for his well-paced, deftly-shaded combinations of science fiction, hardboiled crime stories and lost romance. Pope introduced THB in 1995, the same year he began work for Kodansha, Japan's best-known manga publisher. In 2006, he received an Eisner Award for Best Short Story for Teenage Sidekick, and in 2007, won two Eisners as Best Writer/Artist and Best Limited Series for his Batman mini-series, Batman: Year 100. Born in Philadelphia, Paul grew up in Bowling Green, Ohio, with stops in Columbus, San Francisco, and Toronto. He now lives and works in New York. Paul's first art book, Pulphope: The Art of Paul Pope, came out as a 224-page hardcover in June 2007.

See all Editorial Reviews

Special Features

None.

Product details

  • Actors: Jeff Smith, Scott McCloud, Colleen Doran, Harvey Pekar, Paul Pope
  • Directors: Ken Mills
  • Format: Multiple Formats, Color, Dolby, NTSC, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Region: All Regions
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated:
    NR
    Not Rated
  • Studio: Mills James Productions
  • DVD Release Date: July 21, 2009
  • Run Time: 76 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18 customer reviews)
  • ASIN: B002MFF1UU
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #165,268 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?


Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on October 27, 2015
Format: Amazon Video|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2014
Format: Amazon Video|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2016
Format: Amazon Video|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2015
Format: Amazon Video|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2014
Format: DVD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2015
Format: Amazon Video|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2016
Format: DVD|Verified Purchase
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2012
Format: Amazon Video|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Cartoonist: Jeff Smith, BONE and the Changing Face of Comics
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Cartoonist: Jeff Smith, BONE and the Changing Face of Comics


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?


Pages with related products. See and discover other items: comic book movies