Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 12 reviews
on February 9, 2016
Every board, committee, or council should have at least a basic understanding of these concepts. While this isn't an 'end all' to board governance it can provide insights to better understanding and practices toward efficient governance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2013
Carver is an acquired taste for non profit Boards. Most Boards will find the develoment of means and ends a challenge.
However, his governance principles are superb and necessary for intelligent and productive Board governance. Many non profit Boards flounder as a result of their inability to separate their governance responsibilties from management's adminsitrative responsibilities. Boards govern and managers manage. There is a difference. Carver makes this clear and to my mind an essential tool for Board Presidents and non profit CEOs. This process requires a good consultant and time to introduce it to a Board. I am a Carver believer and should I find a willing Board, I will order this guide for each Board member.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2014
We were using the Carver Policy Governance Model on the non-profit Board to which I was elected to serve. It can be a bit cumbersome to figure out how this model works unless you have some help with the navigation. We were looking for a book which would serve as the orientation, and this book is a decent primer on the model.

There are other books on the model, but they are really quite lengthy and you have to ask if your Board members really want to read all the case studies, etc.

We found this book to be a good orientation tool for new Board members.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2016
These were purchased for our board members (the new ones) to help them understand how our board is governed. We have the whole set but had to purchase a few singles to replenish some that were missing. Very happy with the product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2011
I felt that Carver set forth a compelling case in a practical readable style. The Carvers place their thesis right out front, saying that there are fundamental differences between governance and management and that governance is not management one level higher. There is a simple compelling logic to the entire book. I highly recommend this book to any board or upper management who interface with a board.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2015
Explains how corporate Boards work. Good book but very Expensive, $18 for 42 pages is ridiculous! If they reduce the price to two or three dollars, it will be worth to buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
A cultural shift for my board room. A clearly defined and outlined blueprint. Practical and workable guidance in how to start up and move forward.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2013
This is excellent source of information for my research project. Book was promptly sent to me when I purchased it through Amazon. Good job and thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2014
Although the subject matter is enormously dull, the book is valuable for streamlining the often clogged and ineffective work of boards and committees. The time of board meetings at the church I pastor have reduced from 1 1/2 -2 hours to barely an hour after implementing these principles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2017
Good information and content Too expensive. It is way overvalued for the quality of the content. Similar content is available for much more fair and reasonable pricing. Don't waste your money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse