Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  All-new Echo Save $10 on Fire 7. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on May 29, 2011
Empezaré este review comentando sobre el formato kindle. Está muy bueno, tiene sus errores estilo cuando escaneamos un documento, pero en comparación con Crimen y Castigo, no tiene tantos errores. Creo que Amazon debería tener mejor control de calidad en estos productos ya que el segmento hispano está creciendo más y más cada día.

Con respecto a la obra debo decir que al principio le encontré parecido a Cien Años de Soledad, pero eso fue porque ya me habían advertido de eso, tiene ciertas similitudes, sin embargo la autora es tan natural y suelta en su escritura que mantienen al lector entretenido. Tiene sus momentos de humor y la verdad es muy bonito. Creo que al final ella pierde la persepectiva de estar escribiendo un libro de realismo mágico, no se siente eso al final, hay dos historias repetidas, una en el marco de lo fantástico y la otra en la realidad histórica de Chile.

Por cultura general lo recomiendo, el libro es bueno y la historia es muy bonita.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 1, 2017
La Casa de los Espíritus se trata de la experiencia chilena que dio lugar a la dictadura de Pinochet narrada a través de la familia de Esteban Trueba. El patriarca hace florecer su hacienda Las Tres Marías con esfuerzo propio, trabajando de sol a sol y luego se convierte en el senador más conocido del partido conservador. Pero su éxito se pagó con las vidas de sus queridos, su esposa, sus hijos y su nieta. Estos tuvieron que sufrir por la conducta y rabietas de Trueba que también tuvo que pagar por sus propios excesos. Su familia naturalmente se alineó con las añoranzas del pueblo, trabajó con la gente necesitada y se enamoraron con líderes socialistas. Asi la historia de los Trueba es un microcosmos del pueblo Chileno que lucha consigo mismo para superarse pero termina hiriéndose sin poder refenar las corrientes de la vida.

Toda la familia sufre durante el transcurso de la novela por la terquedad de Esteba Trueba. Pero al final su humanidad le permite perdonar y ayudar a sus enemigos por el amor que siente por su esposa, hija y nieta. En fin, Trueba no " murió como perro, como el temía, sino apaciblemente en mis brazos...." concluye su nieta Alba en el epílogo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 4, 2017
Para empezar, antes de comprar este libro en formato Kindle ví muchas críticas sobre el formato Kindle, diciendo que tenía muchos errores ortográficos y demás. Deben haberlo corregido, porque no encontré ni un solo error en todo el libro. Así que puede comprar la edición Kindle sin miedo.

En cuanto al contenido del libro, es un libro muy bien escrito, pero no es una lectura agradable. Si Ud. es sensible a la violencia, tal vez no lo disfrute mucho. La violencia del libro no es por gusto, de hecho hay un mensaje importante aquí, pero puede ser chocante y desagradable al momento de leer. Desde mi punto de vista, es un libro importante para leer, interesante para debatir, pero no es una lectura agradable, a pesar de que uno se encariña con varios personajes y quiere seguir leyendo para saber qué les va a pasar.
--------------------
First of all, before I bought this in Kindle format I saw many, many reviews criticizing the Kindle version. It must have been corrected since then, because it's absolutely fine. I don't remember seeing any "typos" or spelling mistakes (and I'm very sensitive to that). So if you're wondering about the Kindle version, don't worry about it anymore.

As for the book... It's hard for me to rate because it's very well-written, but it's a very tough read. If you're sensitive to violence, you might not be up for it. The violence is not gratuitous - there is an important message here - but it means it's not a pleasant read, even if you quickly become attached to some of the characters and keep wanting to read on. It's an important read, and great to discuss as part of a book group or otherwise, but definitely not a light read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 17, 2017
Las historias entretejidas, los personajes, las situaciones pero, sobre todo, las detalladas descripciones trasladan al lector a un mundo mágico que, a la vez, forma parte de la historia latinoamericana. Me encantó!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 4, 2017
Exente novela

Te mantiene alerta y no puedes parar de leer . Te transporta a la época en que sufrieron muchas personas en ese país hermano
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 18, 2013
My first Allende book was Eva Luna which started my love for this passionate and thoughtful writer. I love reading her books both in Spanish and in English as a way to kind of get back on the saddle when it comes to my language skills. While I read Eva Luna in the translated English, I've read Paula in the original Spanish and loved each of those books but I'm not sure about this edition. Before picking up the books I was subject to rave reviews from friends and acquaintances telling me that if I loved Allende's books in the past, I would absolutely love this book. Now, I'm not sure if it was the Spanish translation, as I found it very hard to get into at first but it definitely was a challenge for me and I would say to read it in the language you feel most comfortable with. The important part is to feel and understand the story not to refresh your skills!
Other than the rocky start the book really starts to pick up around the middle and especially towards the end. The last few chapters were so absorbing it was a shame that the book ended and there wasn't more to go on! I love the way that Allende gets you inside each of the character's head and I found myself second guessing my sympathies and allegiances.As another commenter noted, the strong female roles in the book really showcase Allende's signature style and, like always you can really see a lot of the author in this book about Chile, family, politics, and history.
I wholeheartedly recommend this book although the digital version has some annoying typos which are a little distracting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 23, 2015
I really enjoyed this novel. It gave me some insight into the political upheaval in Chile in the last century and made me want to further read into the issue. The mythical elements were great and they were a bit of a comedic relief in an otherwise serious novel with some very harsh and disconcerting realities. I recommend it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 7, 2017
One of my favorite books, and definitely Allende's best.
Multidimensional characters, and a wonderful narrative of a very dark period of the Chilean story, treated with humor and respect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 28, 2014
Isabel Allende and her book was recommended to my by a spanish girl that heard that o loved Garcia Marquez(a must read for everyone bty) and she said that her writing is of the same type as his but that she was bit more delicate, and that is exactely it. By saying that i'm not saying the book is delicate which is not, it is funny, sad, and worrying and so so so interesting, you just get glued to the pages until you finish it and even then you still feel you are in her word. What i'm saying is that in close reading you can see that everything is woven in a really complex and tight net that you get to discover in second (third, fourth, fifth) readings. really cooooll, very well written and incredible story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 13, 2017
Muy buen libro. Me recordó un poco a Cien Años de Soledad, porque narra la historia de varias generaciones. Atrapó mi atención de principio a fin, los diferentes personajes se entrelazan perfectamente entre sí y me permitió conocer un poco de la historia política de Chile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse