Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,855 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,335 reviews
on August 3, 2017
I have enjoyed watching Casino 5 or 6 times, no one would argue it is a masterpiece, however, Pileggi's book discloses so much more, fleshing out the characters, revealing their true natures and interrelationships. Until reading the book, I always felt sympathy for Rothstien (Rosenthal), a perfectionistic genius whose only real crime seemed to be turning a blind eye to the skimming (maybe the investors lost a bit, but everyone "got fat")..........Instead he was quite ruthless and had no problem threatening the Stardust's owner, Glick, with death. Birds of a feather, and all that. Soon, anyone who presents a problem for Glick dies, because of the connection between the Teamsters' loan that financed Glick's purchase of the casinos and the skim. It is an incredible story, and if the movie intrigues you, you may really appreciate the added details provided by the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2017
It is like goodfellas meets Vegas. If you have seen the movie Casino, it tells slot more in depth as to the history of Anthony Spilotro and Lefty Rosenthal
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 6, 2015
Casino has gotten somewhat of a diminished reputation over the years due to superficial similarities to Martin Scorsese's 1990 film, Goodfellas, but is absolutely its own film and a great film at that. Released only five years after Goodfellas, one can't totally blame the public for thinking that Scorsese simply wanted to make a bigger, glitzier version of that film. First of all it is based on research by Nicholas Piaggi just as Goodfellas was. It is filmed in a similar manner to Goodfellas, with narration, extensive use of pop songs, a very mobile camera, and even a violent opening foreshadowing a scene that will happen much later in the film. And most of all it stars Robert De Niro and Joe Pesci in roles remarkably similar to their roles in Goodfellas, with De Niro a relatively level-headed mob associate and Pesci a dangerous loose-cannon.

But Goodfellas was the story of small time hoods, neighborhood crooks, who had connections to the actual Mob but who were minor players at best. Casino is the epic story of how the Mob infiltrated Vegas, basically ran it through the Teamsters Union, and were gradually brought down by the carelessness and violence of the very people they sent to actually run the operation. The meticulous research and preparation for which Scorsese is known is here in abundance. As usual the story was based very closely on true events and characters with names barely changed. (De Niro's Ace Rothstein was based on Lefty Rosenthal; Pesci's Nicky Santoro was based on Tony Spiletro). The actual mobsters portrayed in the film including Mr. Rosenthal, and associates who survived it all were consultants on the film and often on the set. In interiors of the "Tangiers" casino were shot in the Riviera late at night with actual customers in the distance for authenticity.

The acting is of the highest order and Scorsese is at his very best here. It is a long film at three hours, but it's meant to be an epic and it's never boring. There is no one here to really root for, they're all terribly flawed characters, but that's who they were. This is not a film with a hero. It's almost a type of documentary. The ending is as grim as it gets. That's what happens when you screw up.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2017
One of my favorite movies. How Vegas went from being run by corrupt gangsters to being run by corrupt corporations. All of the major players are at the top of their game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2016
Another Scorcesse master piece that no matter where or how far into the movieit is, it's hard not to get engrossed into it. Between Good Fellas and this one the number of times seen is probably in the 40's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2016
I have seen this movie about a dozen times & I always catch something that I missed. So much detail to the time period: music, clothing, cars, bad guys. The plot is riveting & I always hope that the end could change for some. De Niro, Stone & Pesci are characters that will live on in movie history. Course we know Martin directs like nobody else. I had my "Good Fellas"movie fix with Casino & Black Mass with Depp this weekend. Glad for these dramas, always feel lucky to not be involved with crime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2016
As usual beautiful cinematography from Coppola but at three hours at least an hour too long. Great performance by Sharon Stone as the beautiful but very damaged and self-destructive Las Vegas hustler who becomes the wife of the very controlled Jewish casino boss,a kind of Meyer Lansky type. Joe Pesci is all id as the mob guy, childhood buddy of De Niro, who brings heat on all of them, plenty of violence. Good supporting work for Don Rickles and others, good score.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2013
Casino is one of the top bench mark films in the mob genre films. It has an excellent ensemble cast that includes: Robert Deniro, Joe Pesci, Sharon Stone and James Woods. Deniro and Pesci nail their performances in this film. What was surprising was that Sharon Stone did an excellent job of holding her own acting opposite Deniro which is no small accomplishment.
This film covers decades of mob control over a casino in Las Vegas. It also covers some of the local and state corruption that allowed the mob control to reign.
Casino is extremely well done and will be amongst the list of the best American films. I think it's a must see.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
What can I say about Casino? It's a classic!!! I just received this movie yesterday and watched it today. The picture quality and sound is good and for 10 bucks..... It's a no-brainer! When I purchased this Blu-ray, I wasn't sure what UltraViolet was, so I did a little investigating. I found out that I kinda hit the jackpot! lol no pun intended. But anyways if your not familiar with UltraViolet. They give you a code on to activate this movie and then you can stream it anywhere on your computer, tablet or even phone!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2017
What can I say, it's Casino. The quality of the Blu Ray is incredible. The colors are rich, and vibrant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse