Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Digital Albums GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$12.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,226 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,201 reviews
Enthusiast: James Bondon November 28, 2016
Outside of Goldfinger, Casino Royale is the greatest James Bond movie ever made. It has absolutely EVERYTHING you could possibly ask for in a James Bond movie and even more. Of course the initial controversy was that a blonde actor was going to be portraying 007 for the first time ever, those skepticisms soon died after the release of Casino Royale.

Martin Campbell (director of Goldeneye) returns to helm this multi-layered, action packed, story-driven Bond experience and pulls out all the stops. In something of a soft reboot, we finally get to see what it was like for 007 just starting out. We see an array of emotions and reactions that we are not used to seeing in the other entries that feature a more seasoned agent.

Casino Royale set the new standard of greatness after the series had just come off of it's worst movie of the franchise with "Die Another Day", and laid out a path of what the Bond for a new generation would be like. Craig proved to be worth his weight in gold as an actor of James Bond and someone willing to do many of his own stunts to provide an added element of realism.

Bond Element Ratings:

Intro/Title Sequence/Theme Song: 5/5

Bond Girl: 5/5

Car/Gadgets: 4.5/5

Villain: 5/5

Locales: 5/5
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2014
As a reboot of the Bond series, one has to remember that all characters must be developed. This Bond is new at his job and trying to make his bones with his boss. He isn't the suave, sophisticated and genteel seret agent Ian Fleming envisioned; this Bond is a cold, hard, callous operator, a "blunt instrument". He is a missile, fired by M at a target with one mission - destroy. At first I was put off by this - James Bond reduced to a hitman on the payroll of Her Majesty's government? But as I reflected on it, I could see that any soldier must learn their trade and Bond is learning his; one must forget any previous incarnation of the character and take this one at face value. No fantasy gadgets (I use many of the tools Bond has every day at work...except a suppressed P99, but how cool would that be?), just an operator, doing the job assigned to him. The surrounding cast seems too shallow, but if you think of it from Bond's point of view that's the way it has to be. That's why Vesper's betrayal shook him to his core. The more I watch it, the more layers I find!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2017
I, like many, feared for the future of the 007 franchise. When I saw Daniel Craig cast as the next James Bond I was less than optimistic. None the less I can definitively say that Daniel Craig's performance in this movie may very well be the best Bond ever on the big screen. He hits a much needed reset in the series and the focus departs from the gadgets and the girls and more so on the man and the struggle to adapt to his new "Double Oh" status. Starting off with plenty of action it strikes a perfect balance in the course of the movie. Masterful acting by Mads Mikkelsen, Judi Dench (The best "M" ever), Jesper Christensen, Simon Abkarian, and of course Eva Green, who is arguably the most influential Bond Girl in 007's life, all stack the movie with one great scene after another. Add some perfectly choreographed fight scenes, a record breaking car roll-over scene, and the mental game between he and Mads Mikkelsen over the tables, and there is simply nothing not to love about this film. The closing scene where 007 proffers forth his first utterance of the iconic "Bond. James Bond." line is classic and yet boldly new at the same time. This collectors edition is packaged nicely and includes some nice extras to help one grasp the depth that Ion Productions took to modernize the Bond series and make Daniel Craig the new face of MI6.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2015
Casino Royale, the first of four Daniel Craig James Bond films so far is one of the greatest 007 films of the whole history of all 007 films. Craig has a whole lot of his work cut out for him, doing his own stunts, great car stunts, all stunt work incredible, the action amazing, the acting great, way better than the previous film which will be nameless despite on how much damage and insult it did to the name and to everything else in general about James Bond. Here enjoy James Bond with a modern reinvention with an story arc that continues in the unfairly beaten Quantum of Solace and then Skyfall which explore Bond at his knees to trying not give in to a monster for the future of M16 and see Spectre in theatres soon!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
I'm a Bond fan through and through, and have always considered the Sean Connery Bond movies to be the best. But there is just something about Casino Royale, and they way Daniel Craig brought out a side of Bond we'd never seen, that have made this my favorite Bond movie of all time. Many will disagree about calling this the best Bond film ever, but I doubt that anyone who truly understands the Bond franchise would disagree that this is among the best Bond films, and is very worthy of the Bond heritage.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
this'll be short and sweet. i'd list the special features if another reviewer hasnt already. but there are plenty of featurettes ranging between 23min to 27min long. this is what i love about blu-rays, the amount of special features you can get. though, its sad when most companies just dont want to give you what a standard bluray should have in special features. but this casino royale is packed with great featurettes as well as 4 deleted scenes.
the music video to the opening theme to this movie is also included, which isnt all that but its nice that they added it for those who want it. what i didnt see was the trailer for said movie. this is another thing i see happen a lot with the majority of the movies out there. they dont include the trailers. i mean, what a great opportunity to do it, but they don't. its strange. i dont know about you guys, but i love the trailers to movies i enjoy. and i only buy movies that i enjoy. a series like harry potter gets its trailers, but another series like resident evil retribution doesnt always get their trailers on their releases which is annoying. but its only a minor gripe.
if you enjoyed this movie, you'll be happy with the extras. i know i was. so go on and buy it! oh just in case, it comes in spanish and french audio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2017
Excellent movie, perhaps the best in the franchise. It would be followed by one of the worst; so instead of watching the next one, watch this again and then watch the also-excellent James Bond documentary included on this disc. It tells all about Ian Fleming and the history of the Bond franchise. Quite fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2010
I choose this rating because the movie is good. What I like about the movie is that in Casino Royale introduces James Bond before he holds his license to kill. But Bond is no less dangerous, and with two professional assassinations in quick succession, he is elevated to “00” status. “M”, head of the British Secret Service, sends the newly-promoted 007 on his first mission that takes him to Madagascar, the Bahamas and eventually leads him to Montenegro to face Le Chiffre, a ruthless financier under threat from his terrorist clientele, who is attempting to restore his funds in a high-stakes poker game at the Casino Royale. “M” places Bond under the watchful eye of the Treasury official Vesper Lynd. At first skeptical of what value Vesper can provide, Bond's interest in her deepens as they brave danger together. Le Chiffre's cunning and cruelty come to bear on them both in a way Bond could never imagine, and he learns his most important lesson: Trust no one. What I dislike about the movie is that I wanted to see more of it. I would recommend this movie to other people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2016
Fast shipping ,nice product
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2017
I loved this one more than any of the others. The acting and locations are great. My only criticism would be the torture scene. I think it goes too far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse