BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on June 13, 2015
Casino Royale, the first of four Daniel Craig James Bond films so far is one of the greatest 007 films of the whole history of all 007 films. Craig has a whole lot of his work cut out for him, doing his own stunts, great car stunts, all stunt work incredible, the action amazing, the acting great, way better than the previous film which will be nameless despite on how much damage and insult it did to the name and to everything else in general about James Bond. Here enjoy James Bond with a modern reinvention with an story arc that continues in the unfairly beaten Quantum of Solace and then Skyfall which explore Bond at his knees to trying not give in to a monster for the future of M16 and see Spectre in theatres soon!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
I'm a Bond fan through and through, and have always considered the Sean Connery Bond movies to be the best. But there is just something about Casino Royale, and they way Daniel Craig brought out a side of Bond we'd never seen, that have made this my favorite Bond movie of all time. Many will disagree about calling this the best Bond film ever, but I doubt that anyone who truly understands the Bond franchise would disagree that this is among the best Bond films, and is very worthy of the Bond heritage.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
this'll be short and sweet. i'd list the special features if another reviewer hasnt already. but there are plenty of featurettes ranging between 23min to 27min long. this is what i love about blu-rays, the amount of special features you can get. though, its sad when most companies just dont want to give you what a standard bluray should have in special features. but this casino royale is packed with great featurettes as well as 4 deleted scenes.
the music video to the opening theme to this movie is also included, which isnt all that but its nice that they added it for those who want it. what i didnt see was the trailer for said movie. this is another thing i see happen a lot with the majority of the movies out there. they dont include the trailers. i mean, what a great opportunity to do it, but they don't. its strange. i dont know about you guys, but i love the trailers to movies i enjoy. and i only buy movies that i enjoy. a series like harry potter gets its trailers, but another series like resident evil retribution doesnt always get their trailers on their releases which is annoying. but its only a minor gripe.
if you enjoyed this movie, you'll be happy with the extras. i know i was. so go on and buy it! oh just in case, it comes in spanish and french audio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2017
Excellent movie, perhaps the best in the franchise. It would be followed by one of the worst; so instead of watching the next one, watch this again and then watch the also-excellent James Bond documentary included on this disc. It tells all about Ian Fleming and the history of the Bond franchise. Quite fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I choose this rating because the movie is good. What I like about the movie is that in Casino Royale introduces James Bond before he holds his license to kill. But Bond is no less dangerous, and with two professional assassinations in quick succession, he is elevated to “00” status. “M”, head of the British Secret Service, sends the newly-promoted 007 on his first mission that takes him to Madagascar, the Bahamas and eventually leads him to Montenegro to face Le Chiffre, a ruthless financier under threat from his terrorist clientele, who is attempting to restore his funds in a high-stakes poker game at the Casino Royale. “M” places Bond under the watchful eye of the Treasury official Vesper Lynd. At first skeptical of what value Vesper can provide, Bond's interest in her deepens as they brave danger together. Le Chiffre's cunning and cruelty come to bear on them both in a way Bond could never imagine, and he learns his most important lesson: Trust no one. What I dislike about the movie is that I wanted to see more of it. I would recommend this movie to other people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2016
Fast shipping ,nice product
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
Casino Royale is the Twenty-first James Bond film since Eon released Dr. No all the way back in 1962. In over forty years, the character has been played by just over five actors, including Sean Connery, George Lazenby, Roger Moore, Timothy Dalton, and most recently Pierce Brosnan. Each actor brought their abilities into the role and embodied Bond in a different fashion (for better or worse), but for Casino Royale, Brosnan has been replaced instead by Daniel Craig, who has appeared in action films such as Tomb Raider and dramas such as Road to Peredition. He is a younger Bond with a fiercer look, but a more vulnerable interior... and thankfully, that is precisely what is needed for the film.

Rather than continuing on from previous films in the franchise, Casino Royale opts to reboot the series and bring Bond back to the beginning of his career... to the very moment he becomes Agent 007. With two assassinations in quick succession, Bond comes charging into the world, exercising his newfound license to kill with a raw, murderous candor... but hidden beneath the apathy is a small trace of humanity that has yet to die out. By the end of the film, that will change--he will be changed--and whatever remnants of his soul are left will perish.

But before James Bond can truly become 007, he must first travel to Montenegro, Italy to take part in a high-stakes poker game hosted by the criminal financier Le Chiffre. His mission? To ensure Le Chiffre loses his money--to make him so desperate that he will sell out his clients to MI6 and shed light on a clandestine organization that poses a significant threat to Queen and empire.

It is a dangerous game, since Le Chiffre is fully aware of who Bond is and why he is there (making Bond's usual stupidity of revealing his name to villains part of the plot), and the man tolerates him out of desperate straits and impending need to accept MI6's protection. The cards are dealt, the players stare each other down, and the game begins--but Bond soon realizes that Le Chiffre knows too much of his plays... someone is feeding him information, but the traitor lies just out of reach....

M is once more played by Judi Dench (who took the role in Goldeneye), but new characters also appear, most notably Eva Green as Vesper Lynd and Giancarlo Giannini as Rene Mathis. Mathis is French Secret Service, but Vesper is merely a desk agent representing Her Majesty's Treasury... and despite her snark and spunk, is wholly unfamiliar with the brand of deadly field wet-work that Bond represents. In spite of the armor that he has built over himself, Bond is intrigued by her... he begins to lose himself in her (take the entendre as you will). This is the first time we have seen a woman in his life that means more to him than a fling or a cover. Bond is maturing--the advent of actual substance into "Bond Girls" has been long in the coming.

Also matured is the plot in general--for the first time, characters and motivations actually make sense... you may have to dig for the connections, and some plot holes still linger, but at least these discrepancies are not as ostentatious as previous films. In recent years, the Jason Bourne movies have created different expectations in the spy genre--the romantic fallacy of the spy has worn away, and the relevancy of James Bond along with it. Thankfully, Casino Royale has learned from this development rather than simply ignore the shift in audience expectations.

Bond is still a womanizer, but this time it is less a character flaw that impedes his mission, and more of a sharpened skill that he uses to get what he needs--Bond's sex appeal has been weaponized. Why torture and interrogate a man for information when you can seduce his wife and get the same info over pleasure?

James Bond is no longer a hero--he never was, but this is the first time that the series has openly acknowledged and addressed what he really is: the Queen's hired gun. He is an assassin--a bully of Western imperialism sent out to police the world... and those he cannot coerce, he merely kills. There is no romance in that... and so, Casino Royale becomes self-aware, telling the story of a man losing his soul to a career that is (dare we say) almost inherently evil. Just because 007 has a license from the crown to kill people and get away with it doesn't erase its damning effects on his own humanity.

Casino Royale breaks Bond down and reveals him--it doesn't celebrate in stylized murder and bloodshed like the comically superficial films of yore. Casino Royale isn't dumb, and it doesn't insult your intelligence by glorifying a film about a career-killer. For good or bad, the overplayed antics of Roger Moore are long over--this isn't a brainless action film anymore. The 21st Bond movie injects thematic depth into a formula series that has suffered too long under shallow pageantry.

In short, Casino Royale is more than just a Bond film--it is a genuinely good movie. Pop culture has found substance without losing any of its "pop". Rather than James Bond portrayed as a distant, alienating figure--almost Homeric in his senseless elevation--Casino Royale brings him up close under the microscope and reveals who he really is. It is a character study with bouts of action and explosions lining the periphery. This is still a genre film, and it will never really be a piece of "high art" (no one wants that anyway)... but this film does give James Bond the depth and roundness that he has always deserved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2015
bit pricey if you already have DVD without extras. The extras(title,minutes):
becoming bond 26.17
bond girls 17.54
filmakers profiles 53.06
james bond for real 23.34
art of freerun 13.39
back to the bahamas 24.28
never before deleted scenes 7.50
road to casino royale 26.34
storyboard sequence 10.57
catching a plane storyboard 13.48
death in venice 23.09

The extras should be offered by itself which would be better if price was half-priced.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2012
I have to admit up front that I have a strong bias about the way I think James Bond should be portrayed. I like the old Ian Fleming style of Bond who is true to the books. We are talking a very serious Bond who is macho, resourceful and more than a little bit vengeful when he feels like he has been wronged. At the same time, the classic Bond of the Ian Fleming novels that I look for also sets the ladies on fire and is soo unafraid of his enemies that he literally laughs at them even as they appear to have his life in their hands. This guy never loses his cool and is the epitome of the word. He used to go by Sean Connery when off-camera but I feel very comfortable now saying that he goes by Daniel Craig these days.

In Casino Royale, we have a nice, modernized take on the very first of Flemings' Bond adventures. To summarize without giving away more than just basic plot devices for those who have not yet watched this movie, Bond is on a mission to smoke out a powerful money launderer who takes money and invests it for terrorist groups and other criminal organizations. Basically he demonstrates classic Bond wit by tricking his rival into losing all of his money in a game of chance which makes him a marked man by all the organizations he is a front for, rendering him an easy target for capture and use as an informant. Bond succeeds and in the process he manages to get into quite a few fights on the side. Despite being injured, again in classic-Bond style, he manages to get back to the table in no time flat and even clean up as if he never left his martini. The ladies fall for him and Bond himself, breaking one of his own rules to never fall for a lady, falls hard for his assistant, fellow MI6 agent Vesper Lynd. When she turns out to be a double-agent (not by her own choice), Bond goes on a rampage and is left scarred in the end. I should say more scarred as Bond is always a man who has a chip on his shoulder.

Craig hits the ground running in this his first journey into the BondVerse. He pulls off the character with a nice showing of suave but also with a serious dedication to dark justice right out of the novels, a cross between Connery's smooth demeanor and the more violent Bond of the Timothy Dalton years. The atmosphere, the music, the story and the acting is amazing and all seem to fall into place right where they belong. This is instantly one of my favorite Bond adventures.

The video and sound qualities are quite good, this being a recent hit release. I found no trouble here whatsoever- everything was crystal clear. I have read some reviews elsewhere of people having trouble watching this movie and others on certain players but on the PS3 it was just like at the theater as far as I was concerned.

Conclusion

In short, buy this movie. If you like James Bond at all you will enjoy it. If you are like me and enjoy the more serious Bond of Connery and Dalton over the somewhat more comedic and slap-stick Roger Moore years, you will absolutely love it. I never knock anyone who played James Bond and for good reason- Double-O-7's shoes are very hard to fill. From a long-time fan's point of view though, this movie gets it right and is worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2014
As a reboot of the Bond series, one has to remember that all characters must be developed. This Bond is new at his job and trying to make his bones with his boss. He isn't the suave, sophisticated and genteel seret agent Ian Fleming envisioned; this Bond is a cold, hard, callous operator, a "blunt instrument". He is a missile, fired by M at a target with one mission - destroy. At first I was put off by this - James Bond reduced to a hitman on the payroll of Her Majesty's government? But as I reflected on it, I could see that any soldier must learn their trade and Bond is learning his; one must forget any previous incarnation of the character and take this one at face value. No fantasy gadgets (I use many of the tools Bond has every day at work...except a suppressed P99, but how cool would that be?), just an operator, doing the job assigned to him. The surrounding cast seems too shallow, but if you think of it from Bond's point of view that's the way it has to be. That's why Vesper's betrayal shook him to his core. The more I watch it, the more layers I find!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse