Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,112 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,407 reviews
on February 21, 2015
The complete teachings, beliefs, and doctrines of the catholic church all in one book. The OED defines “catechism” as “An elementary treatise for instruction in the principles of the Christian religion, in the form of question and answer; such a book accepted and issued by a church as an authoritative exposition of its teaching….” This is a useful definition for understanding what kind of information can be found in the catechism.

The Catechism of the Catholic Church was approved by Pope John Paul II in 1992. Obviously, the information contained in it was not new—it is based on the Bible, documents from church councils, encyclicals, previous versions of the catechism, and other Church documents that predate it by hundreds of years.

The Catechism is meant to be used as a reference work. It’s organized clearly with an extensive table of contents and a glossary. I wouldn’t recommend trying to read it from cover to cover, though you certainly can if you’re of such a mind to do so.

The Catechism is easy to find. It’s available for free on the Vatican website, though since I hate reading on the computer, I don’t find it more beneficial for anything save the search function. Printed copies are easily available used, new, paperback, hardcover, trade paperback, mass market paperback, e-reader, and any form you could want. As long as it says “Catechism of the Catholic Church,” it’s the right book. Be aware that the
United States Catholic Catechism for Adults is a study supplement and does not contain the full text of the Catechism.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2016
This book brings clarity to what is actually believed by the Catholic Church. If Protestants read this book they would realize that what they disagree with is not the Catholic Church but ther perceptions of what they think the Catholic Church believes or teaches. Very clear and concise! Very biblical in its presentation and gives clarity on the real role sacred scripture plays in doctrine and practice. Clarifies what Tradition actually is and how it provides a more accurate understanding of Sacred Scripture. Not a quick read but thorough treatment of essential truths of the Gospel and Christian faith.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2015
A must read for the Catholic and the non Catholic. Reading the book will help the Catholic explain the faith and help the cradle Catholic understand it like never before. For non Catholics it will answer all questions about what Catholics believe and why they do the things they do. I have read it through twice and have significantly improved my understanding of the Catholic faith. It is not the Bible but it is certainly Bible based and referenced with God the Father, Jesus and the Holy Spirit at the very center of it all.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2013
This is a pearl beyond price - a treasure - a companion for life. Not your 'Baltimore Catechism' type of Catechism with the old style question/answer format (although the Compendium, also listed here has that style for those who wish to use it). The Catechism of the Catholic Church (CCC) is the masterpiece produced while John Paul II was Pope and with the loving guidance of then Cardinal Ratzinger. It is a reference and guide, so don't try to read it as a novel, which it is not. But a slow, meditative reading of a few pages at a time can be richly rewarding, especially in the first part which is about God and Faith - these chapters could be prayed, they are so inspiring. I am working through the CCC a few pages a day and I recommend this approach instead of just using it as a reference work.
Also interesting is the Introduction to the Catechism of the Catholic Church by Cardinal Ratzinger and Christoph Schonborn, which contains introductory presentations by the authors since the publication of the CCC.
Finally, The Companion to the Catechism of the Catholic Church contains all the relevant texts from the sources footnoted in CCC - almost 3000 pages of material reproduced verbatim.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
This book is an invaluable resource for individuals who thirst learning or reinforcing the fundamentals of their faith. It reveals the answers to the questions that lead Christians and Catholics to fall astray or abandon their faith for other religious or spiritual beliefs. These questions include but are not limited to the importance of Mary in God's plan of salvation, the significance of the Lord's prayer, and the meaning of the sacraments. While the book is fairly lengthy, there is no shortcuts for the one who wants to live his faith and life according to God's will.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2015
If you are serious about your studies, This is your resource. I am fortunate enough to be meeting with a Priest on a regular basis for Q&A as we go through the sacraments, towards Confirmation. Though you could get through it on your own. I highly encourage you to seek a higher power, to help clarify things. It's been an amazing journey. A must for any Catholic book shelf or those interested in the Catholic faith, to better understand why and how we believe what we do.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2012
I feel bad to rate the Catechism a one, but this Kindle Edition of the Catechism has no index, and the table of contents is only by Article and paragraph numbers and doesn't include the CC 1534 (etc) numbers that are generally used for reference in the catechism. Since these numbers are what the church uses and is the common way to reference the catechism, this makes this edition practically useless unless you want to read the whole thing from beginning to end. I was really wanting a good edition of this that would work well on the Kindle, but this one is like the early Kindle versions of the Bible, where you couldn't look up chapter and verse. Ugh...come on Amazon, you need a Catholic editor checking the content of the religious books you are publishing. I returned this for a refund and will wait until it is fixed, which hopefully someone will do soon.
33 comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2016
Enjoyed the book, especially the section on prayer. It's major flaw is in its formatting, in order to look like the hardback, the Kindle version retained the paragraph numbers off to the side making the actual content use half the screen forcing me to read in landscape mode and making text to speech a problem.

Now that I have read it all the way through, I have downloaded a file with the Catholic Bible and Catechism divided into 365 parts to read them both in a year.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2015
My review is about the Kindle edition of this book, not about the book itself: The Catechism is invaluable and always useful. However, not much effort was put into its Kindle edition: One of the things that I expected to have in an e-book edition of the Catechism was good links to the references and back to the text, but you can only see a reference you are interested in when you reach the end of a section, and sometimes that takes many pages... And in the Catechism it is always very useful to see where the quotes come from. Besides, there is a section where the formatting is wrong for some pages...
The upshot is that the editors of this book should work a little bit more!
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2017
I ordered two of these - one for my husband and one for me. We were both terribly disappointed when the glue holding the binding in place broke open the very first time we opened the book. I'm going to try ordering a different paperback version. Perhaps that will have a more satisfactory binding and we'll be able to use the Catechism for many years. This is why I gave this product a two star review.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse