Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$11.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 50 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 59 reviews
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon June 28, 2014
The introduction in poem form says it all. Is this book true?
And is it True? It is not True.
And if it were it wouldn't do,
For people such as me and you
Who pretty nearly all day long
Are doing something rather wrong.
Because if things were really so,
You would have perished long ago.

These poems are "not the nicest things you ever saw." And mostly parents will think they're not right for children to read. But the children may enjoy them and laugh along, for they know that life isn't all peaches and cream.I mean, a disobedient boy named Jim being eaten by a lion at the zoo, beginning at the boy's feet and working upward! Let that be a lesson to you, young reader, not to be disobedient. Stick with your parents when they tell you to do so.

How about Henry King who chewed and swallowed string? Why, he became all tied up in knots inside and the physicians couldn't do anything about it. So the poor boy died.Then there's Matilda who cried FIRE and brought the firetrucks to her house. And the time she again cried FIRE when there was a fire--well, guess the rest.

So if you and your kids can stand to face reality, this book has it in singing cadence, clever rhymes and spades (what you use to dig graves with.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
Read these as a child and now reading them to my child. A bit dark and full of humor these poems and tales cleverly impart morality and common sense for children.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2017
I've been able to recite "Rebecca" since second grade. This is a collection of accessible verse the whole family will love, that may teach the kiddies a thing or two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2014
This is one of those books that should be required reading for all parents. The humor is pure
British...i.e very droll.

I first encountred it over 30 years ago when my own children were young and I have forgotten the times I ws asked to read it to them at their bedsides.

I won't say more because I do not wish to spoil your fun when you do read the book.
I will say that if you like Dr. Suess, you will love Hillaire Belloc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2017
Fun poems. My kids loved them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2016
Same objection here as to "European War". The Kindle edition makes no attempt to reproduce the drawings, which are very much a part of the book's charm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
Hilariously funny tales of woeful things happening to children because they were not behaving. I got a real kick out of these tales. Can't wait to share them with my grandchildren.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2002
Edward Gorey's first major posthumous publication is like a newly forged work, with freshness and originality. Published several times since 1907, Harcourt's reprint of "Cautionary Tales for Children" contains sixty-one new illustrations enfolding the 95-year old verse, and the result is very satisfying.
Gorey created these illustrations several years ago, but for some reason, chose not publish them while he was alive. Gorey's Victorian style is a delightful fit for Belloc's verse. In fact, those already familiar with Belloc's Cautionary Tales or Cautionary Verses series may very well conclude that they were strong influences for Gorey's "The Beastly Baby", "The Gashlycrumb Tines", "The Epipleptic Bicycle" and others. Certainly, many of the verses in Cautionary Tales feel like they could have been written by Gorey: "Jim, Who ran away from his Nurse, and was eaten by a Lion", "Henry King, Who chewed on bits of String, and was early cut off in Dreadful Agonies", "Matilda, Who told Lies, and was Burned to Death", and so on. Unlike the original cartoonish illustrations by Blackwood, Gorey's illustrations simply set the stage - the big moment is then played out in the imagination. It is Edward Gorey's delightful magic, at work.
Glen Emil...
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2016
It has a very very very very very very very very very very very very very very very good moral p
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2016
First time mother and I chose to purchase this as my second book for my child. It was a book I looked forward to owning and reading with my child
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse