Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 309 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 372 reviews
on June 4, 2013
I am by no means an expert star gazer but when I came across this Reflector Telescope for the price Amazon was selling, I couldn't pass it up. I had purchased a telescope a few years ago for my granddaughter (also a Celestron) and while it did make the moon "bigger" it wasn't much more impressive than looking through a pair of binoculars. This telescope (Celestron 31045 AstroMaster 130 EQ) is significantly different. To begin with, set up is a snap. I've seen other reviews indicating it took close to an hour, not sure how. There are zero tools involved and one person can easily put this together. Now, as for the magnification....very impressed. The moon comes through in amazing detail even with the basic lenses that are supplied. The lower magnification is great for targeting and then the higher powered one brings out the detail. I am very excited now to order the upgrade eyepieces to get an even better experience. For the money, this is a great little telescope. The tripod seems adequate, not sure what other reviewers are looking for. It doesn't appear to sag, bend or stress under the weight of the telescope. Any heavier and this thing would be a huge pain in the butt to move. As it is, it is just sturdy enough that I don't fear the telescope will collapse and still light enough to move from room to room (our outside) as needed. I would definitely recommend this for all of you new to star gazing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2010
This is a nicely built telescope overall, with included dual-axis motor drive and a pretty steady EQ mount. Its optics are pretty sharp too. For the price on Amazon, it's really a great deal.

However, my biggest problem with this is its red dot finder. I've used a large dobsonian for a long time, and it's crucial to have a good finderscope so you can navigate the night sky easily. Sometimes it's crucial for star hopping to a deep-sky object. However, the red dot finder does not have any magnification, making it useless for star hopping under urban sky. What's even more annoying is the battery powered red dot finder sometimes is so bright that it makes it harder to find objects. The two dark circles that are supposed to help locate the object in the center of the finder can't be easily seen at night. Celestron should seriously consider using an ordinary 7x50 finderscope on this otherwise great telescope.
11 comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2017
Once the learning curve was over, this telescope is a lot of fun to use. Read how to set it up and your good to go. Planets are very easy to see. The eye pieces are more than enough for you to gaze into the night. Being new to this hobby, I am more than happy to say it works great and really enjoy this telescope. Very happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2016
so far this has been a great telescope, able to see much more than with my other. However, unless you are familiar with an equatorial mount you will be completely LOST... there needs to be MUCH better instructions with this type of mount on HOW to use it not just setting up the telescope. and I thought the motor would be great but does not track well and causes major vibrations in the scope. Celestron is replacing the motor and will see if that helps, but another problem with that motor attached is no matter which way you move the scope it is in the way for certain objects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2013
This review is coming from someone whom has never touched a telescope. My first telescope--since i was young i've wanted one and almost twenty years later i have now.
Some of the plastics on the telescope are on the cheap side. The motion control nobs--make the telescope move up/down, left/right--are the worst of all and don't seem to be secured enough for me to feel comfortable with them, given that they're gonna be the most used piece on this telescope. The tripod feels sturdy, solid and of good quality. The mount, telescope, counterweights, and everything they're made of feels of good quality material.

I cannot comment on the eye pieces or the viewing quality of the telescope as i have not had enough time or knowledge with them. I will update in the future
For the price ($160; December, 2013) this is worth the value. Anything above $200 is asking for too much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2016
NICE. Exactly what I expected and well made BUT you must treat it like a baby. balance it and you will find the motor very handy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2015
Got it for my son to find stars....it is hard to look for the stars, as it has to be small and slight movement to find any stars. But for amateurs, finding the moon and seeing it close up like in the books was pretty cool. But the base is stable and sturdy....just can't touch the telescope too hard, any movement can throw your view off. Need to read up on the constellation to find other planets but the price is right for learning some star glazing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2017
I had this for a month and every thing works but I just can't use the motor the moon is very clear and with the 10 mm lens you can see every detail
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2011
I researched telescopes quite a bit before purchasing this product. It was packaged well with no broken pieces upon arrival. Easy to set-up and the CD-ROM included is a wonderful guide to the skies since this telescope does not have a computerized tracking device. It does take a little bit to 'hunt 'n' peck' at the sky to find what you're looking for, but once you zero in using the 20mm, it's easy to switch to the 10mm for a closer look. I have since ordered a 2x Barlow to optimize my viewing pleasure.

Eventually, I'll be upgrading to a bigger lens' scope, but if you're looking for a decent telescope with a lower price tag than what a 4" lens will give, this is a very good option.
review image
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2015
What could have been an incredible telescope turned out to just be mediocre due to some very poor construction some very poor choices such as the lateral adjustment. On top of all that Amazon sent me one that was already open put together and then disassembled and put back for return. The telescope had such promise but it just failed in a few very simple areas where it could have thrived. I'll give it three stars for being a very nice looking telescope and for being able to see the night sky pretty good that being said it just wasn't constructed with ease of use in mind this is sometimes what I think separates Orion from Celestron they have a tendency to focus more on those details.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse