Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Cello Favorites

4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, February 17, 1998
"Please retry"

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Goyescas: Intermezzo
  2. Sicilienne
  3. Andante
  4. Allegro spiritoso
  5. Apres un reve
  6. Chanson Villageoise
  7. Songs My Mother Taught Me
  8. El Amor Brujo: Ritual Fire Dance
  9. The Swan
  10. Papillon
  11. Melodie
  12. Nocturne
  13. Granadina
  14. Elegie
  15. Piece en forme de Habanera
  16. Flight Of The Bumblebee

Product Details

  • Performer: Antonio Janigro, Antonio Beltrami
  • Audio CD (February 17, 1998)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Vanguard Classics
  • ASIN: B00000628Z
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #121,926 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Discophage TOP 1000 REVIEWER on April 4, 2014
Antonio Janigro was one of the stalwarts of the Vanguard label in the 1960s, probably better remembered as the music director of the chamber ensemble I Solisti di Zagreb, with whom he made countless recordings, from Gabrieli, Biber, Bach, Telemann, Vivaldi, Handel, Pergolesi, Mozart, Haydn, Boyce and Rossini to Respighi, Vaughan Williams, Castelnuovo-Tedesco and Barber. But before being a conductor, Janigro was a cellist (he's the soloist on Reiner's recording of Strauss' Don Quixote, Don Quixote / Don Juan / Dance of the Seven Veils), although he left to Vanguard way fewer recordings in this capacity (he made much more earlier, for Westminster, very few reissued on CD): only the Beethoven sonatas (Beethoven: Sonatas for Cello & Piano, Nos. 1-5), and this one, a program of Encores, have been reissued to CD (incidentally, I Solisti di Zagreb have maintained the tradition: it is another cellist who is again today their music director, the French Marc Coppey).

Well, the recital shows what a fine cellist Janigro was. It has the usual alternation of the virtuosic (the Allegro Spirituoso here credited to Christian Schale, but to Jean-Baptiste Sénaillé on the original LP, Falla's Fire Dance, Popper's Chanson Villageoise and Papillon, Rimsky's Flight of the Bumble Bee), the Spanish-boisterous and evocative (Granados' Intermezzo, Nin's Granadina, Ravel's Pièce en forme de Habanera) and the sentimental (Paradies' Sicilienne, Bach's Andante from Sonata No. 2, Fauré's Après un rêve and Elégie, Dvorak's Songs my mother taught me, St.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on August 15, 2002
Verified Purchase
...CD or LP recordings by Antonio Janigro! Someone should start a mass mailing to release additional recordings! This one was beautiful and makes you wish for more! For more unreleased recordings, visit
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse