Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by The Lone Bellow PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 62 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 261 reviews
on July 5, 2016
Yep, hilarious, through and through. Example : New invention ! Tele-vision! For highbrows who are sick of all that mindless drivel on the radio!.
Just a fun and quick read that may have you looking up a couple of things on-line if the humor falls flat.The very tiny print is a bit of an issue, be fore-warned.
I bought mine used to read in an afternoon, like a magazine, and give away.
This is from pre 2000, so a lot of the stuff is very old. That's probably why it is so inexpensive, folks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
Even though this book is nearly twenty years old, it still delivers hilarious satire for events of the 20th century. I find myself looking up the actual events that the book covers and learning a lot. Would absolutely recommend for anyone who loves history/politics/satire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2017
hilarious book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2013
This book has provided many hours of entertainment. It's a good book just to turn to a random page and start reading. This book is good for when you only intend to read for a few minutes. Each page is a different fictitious front page of a newspaper. The Onion mixes historical fact with their own wit and humor that we have all come to love. Be warned though, there is profanity and strong subject matter in some of the stories. Sensitive people should steer clear of publications from The Onion. To see if the humor of The Onion is right for you check out the stories on their website. Those stories are a good representation of the type of humor in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2001
This book cracks me up! I have Our Dumb Century and Dispatches from the Tenth Circle, and both are wet-your-pants funny. First of all, none of it is true, but yet it is. The Onion is a publication that makes fun of every race, class, culture, and creed. It makes fun of humanity. It is offensive, it is tasteless, it is nasty, it is sadistic and crazy. So if things of this nature truly offend you, then you might as well go back to your God-fearing home and sit and watch Pat Buchanan on the 700 Club. Yes, you heard me. You see, the Onion makes fun of God, Jesus, Mohammed, and any other religious figure. It makes fun of Bill Clinton, George W. Bush, Al Gore, Ross Perot, and every other politician. It makes fun of the soccer Mom, the Corporate executive, and the Truck Driver. And it makes fun of gays, lesbians, heterosexuals, bisexuals, and every other "sexual" that you could come up with. It makes fun of Michael Jordan, Tiger Woods, the NFL, MLB, PGA, and NBA. It makes fun of EVERYONE, it is truly the only entity that non-discriminates by discriminating. It is great. Buy it. Read it. Laugh you're arse off.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 7, 2003
From the straight-faced introduction and through approximately 150 mock newspaper front pages dated from 01/01/1900 through 01/01/2000, the Onion's comic geniuses demystify, debunk and demythologize real and surreal events and people. This is a book that can be browsed through many times; you'll always find some new detail to make you laugh or an insight that takes your breath away. Every detail, from headlines to advertisements, is hilarious:

04/13/1916 -- Cubist Regiment Decimated -- skewed perspective, lack of depth prove liability as non-linear soldiers are mercilessly cut down
07/20/1925 -- Scopes Monkey Trial Raises Troubling Question: Is Science Being Taught in Our Schools?
01/22/1990 -- Berlin Wall Destroyed in Doritos-Sponsored Super Bowl Halftime Spectacular
01/10/1998 -- Educators Praised As U.S. Kids Lead World in Schoolyard Shooting Accuracy

Many items are inspired one-liners, but a number enjoy lengthy front page stories that sustain the mood and the level of comedy. Ads, announcements, tv and radio schedules, cartoons and graphics are equally enjoyable. Count how many times Lady Liberty is ravaged by heathen outsiders!

A minor complaint: The only thing that would have made this book more enjoyable is an index so you could find your favorite targets more easily, but the writers have brought me so much laughter I could forgive them anything. A gentle warning: Don't leave this in the loo or you will never get in there!

Splendid. Righteous. Brilliant.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2016
The amount of work that went into this is mind-boggling: front page after front page full of stories and stories. None of that "Lorem Ipsum" nonsense, they went and figured out multiple stories and punchlines for each day in history.

There is no finer way to learn history wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 22, 2002
This book is a classic and hilarious.
My favorite parts were the early 1900's and up to about WWII. With the benefit of knowing how it all ends, the Onion is able create headlines about Hitler and the British and French which are totally false but are probably what the thinking was at the time.
I love the part where Charlie McCarthy and his puppet urged American kids to committ suicide and 75,000 did so.
The Onion rips the racist mentality of the early 1900's by overtly promoting the racist attitudes of the country. Of course back then you weren't considered a racist if you held some of those beliefs, but times have changed. The Onion has a hold on what public consensus was during the past and uses that knowledge to create hilarious stories.
I recommend this book for anyone with a knowledge of history or for anyone wanting to learn.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
If you're a fan of the Onion's brand of satirical humor you'll have a great time going through this surprisingly content-rich book. Not all of the stories within are laugh out loud funny, but there's enough gold in here for it to be worth the asking price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2000
It should be known that this book is more appealing to those with at least a moderate interest in contemporary American history. In other words, it's for "Jeopardy" fans, not "Millionaire" fans.
This book doesn't just lampoon American, it rips it apart and spits it back at you, all the while leaving smiling and shaking your head. The writers leave no item from the past 100 years untouched -- it's remarkably broad and thorough.
After 40-50 years, the actual columns under the precious headlines (which are really the point of the book) get a bit formulaic, and I found my self skimming some of them. However, I cannot think a humor book that has more 'meat' in, making it well worth the price.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse