Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Certified Copy (Criterion Collection)
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$22.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on July 27, 2014
The one star is given to Tuscany which makes up the background. Beyond that, skip this one unless you are looking for a complete downer. You'll spend the first 40 minutes thinking the female main character is mentally ill only to discover they are both simply depressed, angry jerks. I ignored the bad reviews because I felt like seeing something that took place in Italy. What a mistake. Don't do it. It's not thought provoking at all unless thinking "wtf?" several times counts. The performances were actually very good. It is the story itself that I found frustrating to watch. It left me with a lingering bad mood. Not my idea of a good movie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2012
I love Binoche but this film tried so hard to be something, to prove a point that it missed it.
I get it, it's a metaphor for "certified copy" but it dragggggged.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2016
I stopped watching after 5 minutes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
If ever you want to dash your hopes for happiness in marriage, watch this movie. I can't imagine why anyone would enjoy lolling in such cynicism, despair and loneliness.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
SPOILERS
Pros
-Its filmed in Tuscany, so its very beautiful in the background

Cons
-The conversations lack depth, but are disguised as witty. I was hoping for deep conversation, but it never really happned. And lots of the conversations were interupted by either one of them getting on the phone, while the other one waits.
-the ending. AWFUL. Its very abrupt and you are left wondering why you watched this movie until the very end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2015
Talk, talk, and more talk. None of it beyond the banal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
I can't believe I spent nearly two hours of my life watching this film. Even if you give it a lot of lattitude (since it's supposedly an "art film") the story line doesn't make sense, dates and times don't add up to a believably fallacy, and Juliette Binoche's character simply comes through as a self-absorbed, ready-to-snap, neurotic female. The characters' emotions seem to change drastically without provocation, making you wonder if you've missed a scene. I found the narrative's time-space continuum to be flawed to such an extent that it strips all enjoyment out of what might have been an acceptable film.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2015
Great movie and Blu-Ray disc I purchased is in good shape but box is in awful condition. Listed as very good condition but case was broken in different places (but "fixed" with tape) and the cover art was purposefully cut down the edge removing almost a third of the front cover. Criterion Collection discs are often bought as collector's items so to purposefully destroy the box art like this is completely unacceptable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2013
Hard to follow. Very slow and sad. Story on a dysfunctional marriage without hope of reconciliation. Unsure of plot. At first of story they seemed to be strangers and then they had a history together. Then I wondered if maybe one spouse had died and really she was reliving their relationship to make sense of it a to deal with her loss. Confusing and in the end not really worth the depressing struggle. On the positive side the acting was good and beautiful scenery.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2013
They try to trick the viewer -- and I was not amused! Don't waste your time -- even with the lovely Juliette Binoche it was
a terrible movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse